We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cried”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a wonderful European vacation and then our last hotel was Russ Hill. The outside wasn't bad but you walk in and it smells old not cool old but dirty old. The male @ check in was scary (later described by my husband as The Shining) the room was bad 70's 80's decor and the kind that you were afraid to put your bare feet on the floor and you feel as if something is crawling on you all night. So glad it was our last hotel of the trip and not the first. My husband did laugh about the brochure stating it was newly remodeled since we saw no evidence of such.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dgravess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Basic function appears to be as a Gatwick hotel stopover/car park.
We were referred to it as part of a Thomas Cook package.

Found it difficult and arduous to get to inspite of the GPS as it is well out in the country, dark and winding lanes.

Not so good for the less mobile as there were long corridors and steps up to and within the bedroom.
Family room was 'stuffy' but we were having an unprecedented heatwave.
Whole place could do with a revamp.

There is a machine at hotel reception where you have to input the correct coins to purchase the trips to and from the airport. Please note : The amount you pay covers both trips!!! Reception staff were able to change notes.

The hotel provides an ‘all you can eat’ carvery for £10.50 which you have to book, sight unseen’ on arrival to save £2. We did not do that so unable to comment on anything other than the menu and appearance of the food – limited and sad looking.
The fish and chips we had in the bar area were just OK
The bar dining area is exceptionally noisy with a loud TV and slot machines.

Be aware of the schedule for your return bus.
Unfortunately, our return flight was delayed and we just missed the scheduled hotel bus. We had to wait almost an hour in the freezing cold.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyntesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked a couple of rooms at the Russ Hill Hotel prior to flying from Gatwick the following morning. WE had a triple room for 3 adults which resembled more of a Nursing home feel & smell ! NO plugs to charge phones etc. Two of the three beds were placed in front of the wardrobes - good job we were only staying one nigh and my single bed had a shelf with the coffee making facilities right above my head. The TV was of the flat screen variety but was about three foot deep !! Room was not very clean, very dated and the bathroom had a rat I think jammed in the extractor every time you turned it on it squealed !!
The other room was for our friends - a double. This I think was in the belly of the hotel as they couldn't get any tv reception at all. Again dated and a funny smell.
I think we will give this hotel a miss next time.
Also on th website it says that there is a carvery until 10Pm everynight - well we arrived just after 9.30 to be told that it was closed and they do the clearing up between 9.30 & 10pm.
Travelled from Cornwall that day so was mighty hungry when we got there - although we did have a bar meal and that was ok.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel - you do get what you pay for !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room was uncomfortably stuffy. When the window is open you hear the noise of the air traffic from 5.40am to 11.10pm. The bathroom was old and in need or refurbishment. The shower was dangerous as it would suddenly become burning hot as the cold water ceased to function. The hairdryer didn't work and on requesting another they refused to bring it up to the room as they did not have porters. There was little choice in the food and none for vegetarians. No lifts. Would never go to this hotel again by choice. Be warned!

Room Tip: Do not think there were any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We understood that the proximity of this hotel to the airport makes it more expensive than the hotels you would find around our own area and it was convenient for us having to go to gatwick. However, for the price of £38 for a double room we got a thin, lumpy, uncomfortable mattress, a very warm, stuffy room and a bathroom that had seen better days (whilst having a shower the water was going hot and cold). We also decided to buy breakfast for £7.50 per person, which was not worth the money, let a alone £9.50 which they charge if you just turn up without booking. All the food was cold, and selection was poor (although they had chips???).

As a place to rest our heads it was adequate but when you can go to a Greene King Old English Inn for £49 including a full english breakfast and continental buffet, plus comfy beds with 5* linen there is no comparison.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadiepride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Noisy, terrible bathroom, noisy, dirty public bathrooms, noisy and did i mention noisy? Really dont bother! I wish i had spent the extra fiver to stay somewhere that didn't remind me of fawlty towers. No lunch on offer, taxi recommendations were rubbish - they had not heard of the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were given a room in the optimistically named Charlwood Suites. Whilst of a decent size and appearing clean, the room carried an overwhelming aroma of damp. Had we arrived any earlier I'd have insisted on changing but for a quick kip before an early morning flight it wasn't worth it. I won't be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
467 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range: £34 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing