We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old manor house with mass-market tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Old manor house with mass-market tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a chance to stay in an old manor country house and experience a bit of what a hotel was like about 40-50 years ago.

The good: Stately old manor house with impressive entranceway straight out of the 19th century. Nice spacious lounges. On-site pub with reasonable prices for drinks and limited pub menu.

The bad: This place is really completely given over to one or two night stop-overs for Gatwick. Rooms are very small. Mattresses are not good quality.

They offer only one type of breakfast: a buffet for 9.50. Who wants to pay 9.50 for breakfast, even if it is a buffet?

The other problem is that this place is mostly occupied by people who are off for a mass-market holiday somewhere.

The hotel's website claims you will receive a warm welcome. Don't count on it. There are 130 rooms here, so you can imagine.

They offer a parking service for people leaving for one or two weeks and it's fairly inexpensive to leave your car, but the result is that there are hundreds of cars parked in front of the place which gives a rather unsettlling impression.

This place will not be everyone's cup of tea. Judging by many of the reviews it seems like many people want to pay a rock-bottom price but expect the place to be fully rennovated with premium rooms and service. For the low price I paid, it met our expectations and in some ways even exceeded them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    259
    489
    343
    1,007
See reviews for
413
1,038
106
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with the bus service to Gatwick from the hotel. The hotel was good, nice bar & food available. We had a bar meal, but you can book a carvery. Bedroom & beds were comfortable, but didn't sleep too well as I could hear the planes going in to Gatwick (I think they passed over approx every two minutes). Could have also been anxious about getting flight next day. Arrived back 10 days later & our car was still there - no damage (you take car keys with you). Would use if we fly from Gatwick again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for about three weeks in Sep/Oct 2013. I had to shift to another hotel due fully booked for thwo nights. The hotel was fine. Price good and the rooms i was in were clean and tidy with good water pressure. CAUTION keep the bathroom door closed when having a shower as the steam sets off the fire alarms. These were activated three times in my second stay (once by me). TV was an old one which needed to be manually switched on in the second room, but the room I was initially in, had a new modern one with remote control. Plenty of channels.
The hotel has an awkward room numbering system that makes no sense and you can spend some time wandering the corridors.
The buffet meals were generally the same but you can eat all you want. The bar area also provides dining and a nice menu which is cheaper than the buffet. Bar staff are excellent.
There is a bus provided from the airport and to from the airport it is no charge. To the airport is 5 pounds.
In general terms I think they are gradually trying to modernise the place.
I have no complaints with the hotel, staff were helpful and cheerful, rooms were clean and tidy and the price was worth it.

Room Tip: If you have luggage the ground floor is a better option. But the outer rooms have a clear perspex do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zero001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cley Next the Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The entrance looks grand but just to the left is the smoking zone - with tatty chairs ash trays and mess Ugh!!
We had a one night stop before an early flight out of Gatwick & this hotel was sufficient for that. We had a ground floor room which took some finding, past the bar, reastaurant, left, right up down, right, left? Tiny room at far end of building, dated CRT Tv next to bed, hard to watch, very few channels. Ventured to bar for a meal - and was pleasantly surprised. It was basic pub fare but not bad at all. Young staff were friendly and jovial. The screens between the central tables really need to be frosted because strangers end up trying not to stare at each other through the glass whilst eating.
Despite being very small the room was clean and comfortable enough and quiet too.
It is fine for a one night stop but nothing more unless you request a proper sized room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this for a Gatwick long parking. The parking is very hap hazard on gravel and the front lawn. The room was adequate but very stuffy could not open windows. The evening carvery was terrible with the chef spending more time out the back than carving. The meat was more pieces than slices. Would not use again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

stayed here from kent 1 night in june 2012 (summer holiday)and again 1 night in novemeber 2012 (honeymoon) to take advantage again of the great parking facilities.
room was nice dated but with in keeping of the grand old building, the option of a smoking room is always a bonus ( law states nothing about smoking in a hotel room it states that it is the descretion of the hotel) so smokers book this ideal hotel .
food in the carvery was lovely and bar meals previously were lovely. staff were very polite room was very comfortable .
you wouldnt 2 weeks parking and a 1 nights hotel any cheaper than this. lovely rest before our adventures .

Room Tip: must stay for smokers and airport travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel before holiday with an early start, the room was ok think we were lucky when reading other reviews. Parking is difficult very haphazard, and very few signs telling you which way to go, cars just seemed to be jammed in.
We booked the carvery at booking in with £2 off, not worth it food very poor burned potatoes cold veg, meat was just over cooked bits. The staff were very rude no help, not sure if they even had any English. The man in charge was extra rude.
The bus was ok in the morning after getting the £5 ticket from machine, but coming back the buses are every 1hr so having just missed one we had a long wait.
Would not book this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Property: Russ Hill Hotel
Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing