We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We was put in this hotel after getting a phone call saying that the hotel we had booked (back in march) was full and we were staying here instead. Got the call 30 minutes before leaving home to go to hotel! Well what can I say........ very rude reception staff, unfriendly staff in bar, food was terrible room was tiny, dirty and we didn't even have a window! Was like sleeping in a broom cupboard. Probably one of the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The shuttle bus to airport was £5 but if we just paid when we got on it would have been just £1. Wont be staying here again!
Parking was terrible. Not marked out, all gravel or muddy areas for parking on. Partner had his windscreen chipped by gravel flying up on to it.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've stayed at this venue a few times in the past as part of a car parking deal and feel that it won't be happening again.
It has been under a refurbishment programme for at least three years in our experience and doesn't seem to be getting any closer to completion; car parking surface is very poor.
Food and dining experience leaves a lot to be desired and I feel really sorry for people who are placed here by coach tour operators who can't do a lot of research in my opinion. If this is the standard of accommodation operated by one particular national coach company I would give them a very wide berth and advise people to do their own very detailed research before booking. Don't trust the brochure photographs of this establishment in anyway,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebblesWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

There are thieves operating in this hotel. Do not leave ANYTHING unattended. I had my wallet and cash stolen from my room, and police advise I was not the first and have not been the last. Guests are not warned, so take note of my loss and leave nothing in your room.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a chance to stay in an old manor country house and experience a bit of what a hotel was like about 40-50 years ago.

The good: Stately old manor house with impressive entranceway straight out of the 19th century. Nice spacious lounges. On-site pub with reasonable prices for drinks and limited pub menu.

The bad: This place is really completely given over to one or two night stop-overs for Gatwick. Rooms are very small. Mattresses are not good quality.

They offer only one type of breakfast: a buffet for 9.50. Who wants to pay 9.50 for breakfast, even if it is a buffet?

The other problem is that this place is mostly occupied by people who are off for a mass-market holiday somewhere.

The hotel's website claims you will receive a warm welcome. Don't count on it. There are 130 rooms here, so you can imagine.

They offer a parking service for people leaving for one or two weeks and it's fairly inexpensive to leave your car, but the result is that there are hundreds of cars parked in front of the place which gives a rather unsettlling impression.

This place will not be everyone's cup of tea. Judging by many of the reviews it seems like many people want to pay a rock-bottom price but expect the place to be fully rennovated with premium rooms and service. For the low price I paid, it met our expectations and in some ways even exceeded them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterPiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were really pleased with the bus service to Gatwick from the hotel. The hotel was good, nice bar & food available. We had a bar meal, but you can book a carvery. Bedroom & beds were comfortable, but didn't sleep too well as I could hear the planes going in to Gatwick (I think they passed over approx every two minutes). Could have also been anxious about getting flight next day. Arrived back 10 days later & our car was still there - no damage (you take car keys with you). Would use if we fly from Gatwick again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for about three weeks in Sep/Oct 2013. I had to shift to another hotel due fully booked for thwo nights. The hotel was fine. Price good and the rooms i was in were clean and tidy with good water pressure. CAUTION keep the bathroom door closed when having a shower as the steam sets off the fire alarms. These were activated three times in my second stay (once by me). TV was an old one which needed to be manually switched on in the second room, but the room I was initially in, had a new modern one with remote control. Plenty of channels.
The hotel has an awkward room numbering system that makes no sense and you can spend some time wandering the corridors.
The buffet meals were generally the same but you can eat all you want. The bar area also provides dining and a nice menu which is cheaper than the buffet. Bar staff are excellent.
There is a bus provided from the airport and to from the airport it is no charge. To the airport is 5 pounds.
In general terms I think they are gradually trying to modernise the place.
I have no complaints with the hotel, staff were helpful and cheerful, rooms were clean and tidy and the price was worth it.

Room Tip: If you have luggage the ground floor is a better option. But the outer rooms have a clear perspex do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zero001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The entrance looks grand but just to the left is the smoking zone - with tatty chairs ash trays and mess Ugh!!
We had a one night stop before an early flight out of Gatwick & this hotel was sufficient for that. We had a ground floor room which took some finding, past the bar, reastaurant, left, right up down, right, left? Tiny room at far end of building, dated CRT Tv next to bed, hard to watch, very few channels. Ventured to bar for a meal - and was pleasantly surprised. It was basic pub fare but not bad at all. Young staff were friendly and jovial. The screens between the central tables really need to be frosted because strangers end up trying not to stare at each other through the glass whilst eating.
Despite being very small the room was clean and comfortable enough and quiet too.
It is fine for a one night stop but nothing more unless you request a proper sized room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,307 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
476 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing