We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not secure car parking”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not secure car parking”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cheap and cheerful, looks like a nice place for a meal out but not so good if you want to have a good nights sleep. It is used as a Gatwick airport airport parking Hotel. Our room was on the main corridor into the hotel which was very noisy due to the wooden floor, we heard every bump and clattering suitcase as it trundled down the corridor. The wooden floorboards thud with every footstep; we had to sleep with earplug to dull the noise; the bed still vibrated with every footstep. We were due to get up at 3:00am so went to bed at 9:00pm to try and get some sleep. Big mistake; we were on the main highway into the hotel.

On the plus side the desk staff were very pleasant.

The car parking was not secure and our car was just left in a vast non- surfaced dirt car park. I have an old car and was not too worried; I would have been concerned if I had left a better quality car in the car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a very quiet room as far away from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawson-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    270
    499
    354
    1,023
See reviews for
428
1,058
110
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The owners of this hotel need to stay here. Can I suggest room 104? Can honestly say this is the worst hotel in UK we have ever stayed. And quite possibly the emptiest.
Lobby and grounds look impressive but don't be fooled. Our room 104 was small. (Ok, can live with small) dirty, bare, mouldy, paint flaking off the ceiling and bathroom mirror had black runs in where age had taken over. People in next room might as well have stayed in with us because their early departure (4am) woke us up with baths being run, toilets flushing and everything they talked about was heard by us.
Paid 20 pounds for dinner which was a carvery. Only gain or Turkey. Had Turkey very dry and chewy. Veg and potatoes all bought in and cooked from frozen. Puds bought in.
Suspect staff on Mon wage so absolutely no pride what so ever. Can't imagine any of them being put on any customer service course so they did bare min and it shows. I emailed this hotel to tell them I had read reviews after booking and wanted reassurance that they did opiate a good hotel but the didn't respond. Breakfast was as disappointing as eve meal. Frequent flyer and often stay in and around Gatwick but we'll give Russ hill a very wide berth.
Don't book you will be disappointed. We expected y to get what we paid for but in this case it didn't deliver.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I read the reviews the night before we headed for our night in the hotel and was a bit worried. However, bearing in mind the budget cost of the hotel it would be unrealistic to expect a 5* hotel. It was basic - but that was obvious from its website and their prices. The rooms we had were as expected and adequate and likewise the bar and the buffet supper. The cost of £99 for four of us (in 2 rooms ) inc 3 course meal -was good vlue. Our only gripe would be the cost of the drinks which are expensive and not in line with a budge hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs end of corridor room might diffuse any noise from people getting up for early flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubyspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not sure why all the negative reviews, we spent a lovely night there recently
- simple room, good shower, everything needed provided, warm enough...

We didn't take the breakfast as we were passing through after a long weekend of house hunting, all we really wanted was a good bed, coffee in the room, tv and well ... that is all we got.

We paid less than £30 for a night, so I was expecting a lot worse!!!

Room Tip: Probably wouldn't take the breakfast unless you can expense it ...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

On a seriously tight budget, we took the risk of booking this place for 1 night to catch an early flight despite having read the damning reviews - I'm so happy we did! The reviews had been so doom laden we were expecting he sky to fall in at every turn - but the shuttle ran fine, the staff were helpful, the room was great, very clean and had comfy, firm bed. They had put a cot in the room for our 6 month old baby which I had requested on the form through laterooms but was not necessarily expecting to happen at no extra cost given the horror stories, but it was all fine. We even chose to eat there - the bar food is roughly a tenner and you get a really decent pub style meal - typical bar meals but nicely prepared and good portions. The only black mark would be that their website still states that the bus ride is £5 but actually it is now £7 - so you do need to factor in the £7 per adult (£3.50 children) as part of the room price really (you only pay the way to the airport - the way from the airport to the hotel is free) - but even the extra £14 still gave us a really nice night at Gatwick for well under £50. I would go here again. My advice for anyone booking would be to ring the hotel and check that the shuttle times correspond conveniently with their travel plans before booking, as this seems to be the cause of many people's woes - though they run 24 hours, they are not as frequent overnight as people are expecting them to be I think. Also check what time the restaurant and bar are open if you are hoping to eat there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Reading other, resent reviews for this hotel makes me wonder, if there's a parallel reality locked in space-time at the coordinates of this hotel and some mysterious hand of fortune decides whether you're cast into some horrid hotel-related dystopia or whether you just have a really nice time in a sweet and cosy budget place. Which we did, really nice, no complaints if you don't count the fact that the shuttle bus service had changed from the five pounds stated on the website to 7 pounds. But other than that, everything was just as or slightly better than promised.

We called the staff several times before arrival to check out various details and our questions were always promptly and courteously. We asked for a cot bed for our baby and it was waiting in the room at arrival, along with a larger extra bed in case we fell out with each other or needed a change. Our room was spacious and nice with a comfortable double bed, on the firm side but that's how I like it. Everything was clean and tidy and there was an actual bath in the bathroom, a definite bonus! The room was freakishly quiet, with only birdsong outside our window in the morning.

We ate at the bar and were served nice traditional bar food with very reasonable prices. To top it all off there was free wifi in the bar and the lounge area.

For this price, I really couldn't ask for anything better! Will definitely come back and chance it with the hairy hand of fate!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Used this "hotel" if you can call it that for a overnight stay before flying out and used the car park for this reason, we also booked to stay the night of our return, if I had known what it was like I would not have bothered. The room and corridors were icy cold and the whole hotel smelt musty and the decor left a lot to be desired. There was no customer service whatsoever on the first night or the return. On the return they didn't even know what room to put us in and we arrived back at 11pm to again a very cold unwelcoming hotel and again very bad customer care. We were put in a room not big enough to swing a cat with no window in and both times it was freezing. This hotel needs shutting down for refurbishment or something drastic , will never darken their doors again.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Property: Russ Hill Hotel
Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing