We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gatwick Airport Hotel mainly and therefore transient”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Gatwick Airport Hotel mainly and therefore transient”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for one night only for social reasons. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was adequate. The price of a single or double was the same but only one bath towel and hand towel. WiFi does not work in the rooms which was annoying. Finding my room was too! I stayed in 252 so find it! It is a rabbit warren with no apparent order. The first rooms start at 600 and something then go into 2 hundreds. Upstairs they become 1 hundreds.. Leads to a lot of exercise playing "Hunt the room" The bar, restaurant and breakfast looked busy but I tried none of them. I ate out.

Although this is a nice hotel in a country setting the car parks go on for ever with all the Gatwick parking. The room gives the impression of battery hens yet is clean and comfortable and well serviced so there are no complaints. It is what it is, a transient hotel which I suppose all of them are. But I like a holiday experience........some hotels do that!

Oh, you had better like aeroplanes flying overhead! They are not intrusive but present.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    265
    493
    347
    1,010
See reviews for
417
1,046
109
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel when on a short break with National Holidays, it's a bit out of the way and with no pubs or shops within 2 miles you really have no choice but to stay in the hotel during the evening. The staff were all really lovely and helpful, rooms cleaned every day, towels a bit rough to the touch and so was the toilet roll. The tomato soup had never seen a tomato but all the other food at the evening carvery and breakfast was great. We did get a bonus of 99p drinks due to staying on the coach trip but be warned the bar closes at 10.15 each night. Planes do fly over but not after 10pm and the hotel is really quiet at night as no passing traffic or people around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FENTONS161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Do not worry.... Stay here and you really will be transported directly back to the 70s.

OK... perhaps you wont witness time travel, but the facilities and room décor most certainly date from that period. My stay was not awful, but it was certainly not something that I would be wanting to repeat again in a hurry.

I was looking for a cheapish hotel around Gatwick to stay for work for one night and then... if good, book again for a couple of weeks after... needless to say, today, I am currently looking at other hotels to book as I am not keen on returning here.

Its not all bad though, I had a cheap curry in the bar (around 10 pounds), it was presented well and was really quite nice. This was helped by the friendly and pleasant bar staff, however the fact I was not able to open a tab I found a little bizarre, as I often don't carry cash - so I "pre paid" a couple of pints.

However this is where the good points start to die out.

The outside of the hotel is extremely tired and the road and car park need to be ripped up and replaced as there is pot holes everywhere, I was then greeted by a small dog barking at me and trying to get into the car (he was a nice little chap though). The reception area has a new carpet and the staff are well presented and pleasant - its just all very dated and needs a good lick of paint.

The bar (which is through somewhat a maze of corridors) again its a flash back to the 70s, but clean all the same.

My room was the worst part however. On the first floor, it was a small double (which I have no problem with) however the wallpaper was peeling off and the paintwork was stained and chipped. Then the bizarre light switching process - each light was independent. When you first entrance the room through the door the only light switch either side of you or close to the door randomly turns on the en-suite. The only other switch you then see if after the en-suit door and that just switches on the small light over the tea making area; Every light in the room had a an independent switch under it to turn on and off. Its therefore extremely difficult to navigate into the room if you arrive (like I did) in the dark. The furnishings are very dated, some of it falling off the wall and the bed was like sleeping on a floor with random springs on it (from what I can imagine that to feel like).
The shower did not work, the bath was the only option and then you got a choice of boiling hot or freezing water and nothing in the middle - all it needed was a new mixer tap!

WiFi.... Well its advertised as having it, but that's just in the communal areas.. The rooms don't and don't expect 3G either, as the hotel is out in the sticks a little you get very poor signal (if at all).

All in all, its very cheap out of season... don't expect anything other than a very basic bed for the night... I would not really recommend it for business users, for the lack of WiFi and phone reception renders it pretty much useless...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willagej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Bedroom & bathroom small but clean & comfortable.Good nights sleep, no noise. Large bar with reasonably priced food & all you can eat buffet. Good selection for buffet breakfast from 7.00am. Regular shuttle buses. Less than 15 minutes to South termiinal. Our deal included breakfast, 8 days parking & transfers

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

One night stop over and 2weeks parking £59 brilliant stopped here last year to ok for a couple of nights bar and food was nice to , bed was a hard but ok because it was only a stop of , would stop here again if we travel the same time next year , we did not use the bus you can get from here just got a taxi instead

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claireobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay before going to Gatwick early next morning. After the bad reviews for this hotel were a bit concerned but were pleasantly surprised. A huge car park but quite difficult to find a space but when we did only a short walk to the hotel. Room very large, clean and quiet on the ground floor. Tea and coffee provided. En suite modern and very clean. Have no qualms in recommending this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bosswomanWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a deal for this hotel lovely large room with comfy beds on ground floor no noise easy to sleep! Well worth the money left out car for a week massive car parks at hotel!! Shuttle bus took us to airport! Perfect! It was a bit long on the way back off holiday as we had to wait 1hr15 mins for the bus back to our car! Other than that breakfast was yummy too even if the breakfast lady didn't crack a smile!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaykiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Property: Russ Hill Hotel
Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing