We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Tea”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We met last Sunday with friends to celebrate a Birthday. The day was sunny and warm and the setting by the Frensham Ponds was perfect. We enjoyed champagne ,a fine selection of fresh sandwiches , scones and jam , tea, and cakes ..in a very pleasant room overlooking the lake....The service was excellent , friendly and caring and my wife was well catered for non dairy products .We finished with a gentle walk around the Ponds ..Perfect day out.. Andrew L

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Andrew L

We were delighted to have you attend a Mothers Day afternoon Tea.

Thank you so much for your Five Star feedback and to making use of the hotel again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks for another family celebration.

Hosting guests as yourself really heps publicise our excellnet facilities.

If we did not look after you, you would not return.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and motivating for teh team.

Regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    286
    121
    60
    62
See reviews for
210
379
45
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I attended a surprise afternoon tea for my friends birthday last weekend and what a treat this was. The sun was shining, the pond was glistening, it was the perfect setting for a Sunday afternoon treat.

Our champagne tea was beautifully presented and as usual the service was attentive yet discreet. Being Devon born and bred I consider myself an expert on afternoon tea and consider myself fortunate to have experienced this traditional English delight at many wonderful establishments including The Ritz. I can honestly say that the food we were served on Sunday was amazing and would definitely give The Ritz a run for it's money. Warm homemade scones (fruit, plain and cheese), fresh clotted cream, jams, sandwiches and an array of delicious cakes. A selection fit for royalty! The highlight for me were the parmesan cheese scones fresh from the oven. They literally melted in my mouth.

Afternoon tea at Frensham Pond Hotel is an experience not to be missed. Book it up now and treat yourself - You know you want too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingsammyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Smiling Sammy Jane

Its been quite some time since you have vsiited us here at Frensham Pond Hotel.

Your feedback is very encouraging for all the team especially from a girl who knows her Cream Tea's.

We look forward to welcoming you again here on some future occasion.

Thanks for your feedback.

Regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I was at the hotel for a fabulous birthday treat. As usual the staff were impeccable and the service sublime.

Nothing is ever too much trouble and being a beautiful day the setting was idyllic. The atmosphere was engaging and the venue is something to behold.

The food was amazing from the perfect scones to the little sandwiches. There was more than enough to warrant it a dinner. The scones were delicious and the cakes dainty and light.

It made the day a special one and ultimately I wouldn't hesitate to return there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TPHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear TP Hants

Thank you for taking the time to leave Five Star Feedback following your aftrenoon tea on Mother's Day.

Great to learn that you enjoyed teh perfect scones, the little sandwiches and teh dainty cakes.

We look forward to welcomimng you and your friends here on some future occasion.

Kind regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We enjoyed a delicious cream tea with champagne overlooking the pond complete with swans and horseriders going by. The staff were very friendly without being too familiar or intrusive and the whole event was very relaxed and unhurried, despite the fact that it was also a busy Mother's Day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndreaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Andrea H

Thank you for your Five Star feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your afternoon tea.

Sunday's at frensham are particularly enjoyable in good weather.

There are not too many cars around, lots of walkers, horse riders and it is so nice just to sit out on the terrace and relax.

Best wishes
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

In a lovely location, although a little bit out in the sticks for business purposes, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and all in working order. Breakfast was very good, as was dinner on the one night I ate in the restaurant (although being the only diner can be a little strange!). Would I go back if I needed to stay in this area again? Most certainly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Steve H

Many thanks for your terrific review.

We appreciate we are a little distance away from the buisness towns of Guildford, Aldershot and Farnborough but now with the lighter evenings and lets hope for improved weather business people do make the effort to travel out and stay with us.

Many seem to stay closer to the town in the Winter and drive a little further to us in the Summer.

I am sure that you can see how nice it would be to sit on the terrace on a warm evening enjoing the ducks and swans with a cold beer.

Most refreshing.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stunning location by a beautiful pond around 5 miles from Farnham and close to the A3

We stayed two nights yet found the rooms tired and in need of an update. Even I had to crouch to get my head under the shower head in the dated bathroom.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the food wasn't bad either just the rooms, such as shame as this could be a beautiful hotel inside and out.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brightonsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Brighton Summer

Thank you for your recent feedback.

We appreciate that the bedrooms are somewhat tired and dated or at least they are in the main hotel.We are fingers crossed hoping to undertake a refurbishment in early 2015.

However, are you aware that we have a block of twelve bedrooms set a short distance away from teh main entrance. These are our executive bedrooms and for only a small supplement charge you get lots of added benefits including as we hopefully enjoy warmer weather their own private terrace.

So happy to learn that the staff were helpful and friendly and that teh food wasn't bad either.

Hope to welcome you back on some future occasion and please ask if our executive bedrooms are available.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Best Westerns are normally a bit dull, but this was quite a nice hotel

We stayed in one of the revamped rooms so probably not a fair reflection of normal room but it was excellent.

Only ate for breakfast, but it was ok, nothing out the ordinary

Lovely location too

Biggest plus was staff, incredibly friendly and helpful

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear The GP.

Thanks so much for your positive feedback following your recent stay.

It is greatly appreciated.

Especially pleaesd to note your feedback regarding the staff.

They are a friendly bunch of boys and girls and do try their hardest to ensure gusets are happy.

Would appreciate knowing what we could do to improve our breakfast offering though.

Thanks again for your fab feedback.

We hope you come back soon.

Best wishes

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
146 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
282 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel

Property: Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Address: Churt, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridge. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Complimentary mineral water is provided in all bedrooms. Superior bedrooms also have bathrobes and slippers. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing