We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really poor service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited here for something to eat in the middle of the afternoon arriving at about 4pm. we were advised that the restaurant was closed but the bar was serving food. We selected from the menu and then went to the bar to order. We then waited nearly quarter of an hour (there was only one person serving and she had to take order, deliver food and clear tables) only to be told at a few minutes before 4.30 that the kitchen was closed.
This was very poor indeed. Despite asking politely and explaining that we had been waiting, a fact of which she was aware, she simply reiterated that they were no longer taking food orders. She was not at all sympathetic.
On the way out we spoke to the Manager and explained that this was really poor. He apologised but words are indeed cheap in such circumstances. We won't be going back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Adam H

Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are bitterly disappointed that you feel that you received really poor service.

Your whole feedback revolves around not being able to get full bar meals during hours of closure of the kitchen.

The business that we get in afternoons does not warrant keeping chefs' in the kitchen for customers that may or may not come through the doors.

We serve restaurant meals and bar meals untill 2.30pm dailiy and again from 6.30pm through to 10.00pm.

Between the hours of 2.30pm and 5.30pm we only serve sandwiches, afternoon teas and beverages.

I am aware that there was both a Duty Manager and bar staff on duty when you visited.

Please feel free to come back during our regular opening times and we will be more than delighted to offer excellent service.

Kind regards

Kevin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    283
    119
    61
    61
See reviews for
207
375
45
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

me and my boyfriend just came back off of holiday and thought we'd stay here it was close to my work and we thought we'd pay a little extra and bought what they called a suite, i pre- warn everyone it is not they are single rooms with double beds squashed in. when checking in at reception we have a very snobby man check us in and we felt very judged, we wanted to eat out and he was very rude in his facial expressions i suggest training on this man i think customer service is very important!!!!! when getting into the room we were suprised to see how small it was our first words were oh my god we'd hate to see a standard double it was tiny! do not pay the extra the grand rooms are called superior rooms. when asking for an early breakfast i was told continental in the room and that was fine what isn't fine is paying over £100 and being told there was an extra charge for a tray im mean please for goodness sake! on depature my boyfriend queried the room to be told i quote "well thats what you've booked sir not our fault" when looking back on the internet the reason of confusion was the only pictures on the website are of superior rooms!!!! it's stupidly overpriced and i wouldn't recoment the service is discusting get these people trained on customer service! snobby, and trying to pretend they are better than their customers!

Room Tip: do not stay here you'll be paying more than you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheeky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As it is a hotel whose restaurant our father liked to be invited to, we went there several times, Food was all right but in the past service left much to be desired- one of the problems was that the staff had problems understanding and speaking English- This has changed for the best , staff are still majority obviously non native speakers but the level of working English improved by 80%
When our father passed away last June it seemed it was THE place to commemorate his life after the funeral
We were delivered a tea buffet well balanced - a bit for elderly, for the mature, for teenagers and for children; When only the family remained (around 25 ) we had a sit down dinner where everyone ordered their own choices;
The food arrived pretty quickly with no mix up All very good quality ; The service was excellent
Some of us were lodged in the bungalows others in he main hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable, bathroom a bit dated , very weak shower , Décor a bit blank and anonymous but for the smoker that I am it was possible to go out on the verandah of the bungalow to "inhale" without having to go too far; The problem for some of the guests and myself was very weak signal for mobiles, and impossible to connect to Internet despite being given a password by reception; It was a big problem for half of us and it would make me think twice before spending a night over there again; Pity but nothing that cannot be fixed with a good Broadband connexion
To sum up: food worth the visit -hotel "can do better" views: spectacular. Prices very reasonable and we are very grateful with the arrangements and the kindness of the staff in general

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicLandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I took a group of 53 Classic Car Enthusiasts to the Frensham Pond Hotel for lunch on Monday 19th May. The staff looked after us in a seemless manner from the first contact a couple of months beforehand to the completion of the lunch. Choice of meals was made from a varied menu at an excellent price. The meal itself was served by staff who were most obliging and attentive. Everybody enjoyed their meals which were excellent. Having to pick out the favourite item on the menu is difficult but certainly the Apple and Rhubarb crumble was terrific and deserved a mention as it was praised by many of the diners.
Tony Allen

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a small wedding here on Sunday . From start to finish went so perfectly and we were looked after very well with mala organising everything for us to sam organising everything on the day . Couldn't have asked for a better venue was amazing .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went with a large party for lunch. Parking limited opposite. Nice view of a pond/lake. Entrance had a strong stale odour of a wood fire (not lit). Small bar. Tired décor. Food was very good! Service was just OK. Needs a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear M A

Thank you for leaving your feedback.

Have noted your comment about limited parking I can only assume that you did not see the additional car parking sign as we have over 100 spaces alltogether.

I am delighted to note that the food was very good though naturally saddened to learn that service was just ok. The fact that we allowed your large party to have achoice menu may have backfired a little as it was a struggle to find where everyone was sat for their preferred choice.

The bar and restaurant area has only recently been refurbished as all is painted and we frequently repaid the area.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Leaving it a little late, our son and his fiancé decided to get married this year. Knowing how booked up venues get in May, and with only three weeks notice, we were asking quite a lot, especially as they wanted a small wedding, with only a few close family members present.
After phoning around, it became obvious that very few hotels wanted to hold a wedding for less than twenty guests. We contacted Frensham Pond Hotel, and spoke to Mala the wedding coordinator there, who said they normally host larger weddings, but they would be happy for us to have our wedding there.So we booked, and glad we did, because on the day we couldn't fault a single thing, great food,and drink, a wonderful setting, with fantastic staff. A big thank you to everybody.
If your looking for good wedding venue, at the right price, you won't go wrong here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
21.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
103 reviews
3.9 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
278 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel

Property: Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Address: Churt, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridge. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Complimentary mineral water is provided in all bedrooms. Superior bedrooms also have bathrobes and slippers. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing