We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place at the pond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed here over weekend as I was visiting my family that lives in Frensham.
The breakfast were exceptional, plenty of choices from the buffet, staff were very attentive.
I booked a table for 4 for dinner on Friday night and I must say that the food was really good.
Had a bar meal on the patio Saturday afternoon- enjoyed it outside with a lovely view.
I liked the local ale- I tried it for the first time-very good choice.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who seeks a relaxing stay.
Many thanks to all the staff at Frensham Pond hotel.
Special thanks to : Prenessa, Simona, Pavol and Daniel who looked after me and my family especially.

Room Tip: I stayed in garden suite(white chalets outside), very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear John

Thank you for your 5 star review.

It is tremendously motivating to witness your satisfaction and hear of all the positive aspects of your stay.

Sitting outside on the terrace on a nice sunny day can't be beaten, sit back, relax, have some food and a couple of drinks, superb.

Did you know our local brewery is also now doing a local cider Hazy Hog which we now stock.

Many thanks for your compliments for particular staff, your feedback has been shared with them.

We hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you here again on some future occasion.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel, although slightly dated, was clean and comfortable throughout, with pleasant helpful staff. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent, very good value as well. The situation is lovely with the pond, even better when it is not raining, I should imagine! Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Ann B

Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay.

So happy that you found breakfast and dinner to be excellent and good value.

We have as you may be aware been awarded an AA Rosette for our food offering which is very motivating for the kitchen and restaurant teams.

We are keeping our fingers crossed for a planned refurbishment early next year to bring the hotel up to four star standards.

Thanks again for your feedback and look forward to you coming back in summertime.

Best wishes

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Mala, Pavol, and the whole team laid on a beautiful event for our father's memorial.

The team were professional, sensitive, and efficient throughout. They were flexible and responsive, and at this difficult time we hugely appreciated them making the arrangements this easy.

Thank you very much for all your help, and we look forward to coming back to the hotel in happier times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear William

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your recent experience of your recent visit to the hotel.

Unfortunately your reasons for booking our function facilities were not one of a happy event but I am pleased that the team were professional, responsive and sensitive.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a happier occasion in the not too distant future.

With best wishes to you and your family at this difficult time.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Kvein@frenshampondhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited here for something to eat in the middle of the afternoon arriving at about 4pm. we were advised that the restaurant was closed but the bar was serving food. We selected from the menu and then went to the bar to order. We then waited nearly quarter of an hour (there was only one person serving and she had to take order, deliver food and clear tables) only to be told at a few minutes before 4.30 that the kitchen was closed.
This was very poor indeed. Despite asking politely and explaining that we had been waiting, a fact of which she was aware, she simply reiterated that they were no longer taking food orders. She was not at all sympathetic.
On the way out we spoke to the Manager and explained that this was really poor. He apologised but words are indeed cheap in such circumstances. We won't be going back again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Adam H

Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are bitterly disappointed that you feel that you received really poor service.

Your whole feedback revolves around not being able to get full bar meals during hours of closure of the kitchen.

The business that we get in afternoons does not warrant keeping chefs' in the kitchen for customers that may or may not come through the doors.

We serve restaurant meals and bar meals untill 2.30pm dailiy and again from 6.30pm through to 10.00pm.

Between the hours of 2.30pm and 5.30pm we only serve sandwiches, afternoon teas and beverages.

I am aware that there was both a Duty Manager and bar staff on duty when you visited.

Please feel free to come back during our regular opening times and we will be more than delighted to offer excellent service.

Kind regards

Kevin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

me and my boyfriend just came back off of holiday and thought we'd stay here it was close to my work and we thought we'd pay a little extra and bought what they called a suite, i pre- warn everyone it is not they are single rooms with double beds squashed in. when checking in at reception we have a very snobby man check us in and we felt very judged, we wanted to eat out and he was very rude in his facial expressions i suggest training on this man i think customer service is very important!!!!! when getting into the room we were suprised to see how small it was our first words were oh my god we'd hate to see a standard double it was tiny! do not pay the extra the grand rooms are called superior rooms. when asking for an early breakfast i was told continental in the room and that was fine what isn't fine is paying over £100 and being told there was an extra charge for a tray im mean please for goodness sake! on depature my boyfriend queried the room to be told i quote "well thats what you've booked sir not our fault" when looking back on the internet the reason of confusion was the only pictures on the website are of superior rooms!!!! it's stupidly overpriced and i wouldn't recoment the service is discusting get these people trained on customer service! snobby, and trying to pretend they are better than their customers!

Room Tip: do not stay here you'll be paying more than you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheeky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As it is a hotel whose restaurant our father liked to be invited to, we went there several times, Food was all right but in the past service left much to be desired- one of the problems was that the staff had problems understanding and speaking English- This has changed for the best , staff are still majority obviously non native speakers but the level of working English improved by 80%
When our father passed away last June it seemed it was THE place to commemorate his life after the funeral
We were delivered a tea buffet well balanced - a bit for elderly, for the mature, for teenagers and for children; When only the family remained (around 25 ) we had a sit down dinner where everyone ordered their own choices;
The food arrived pretty quickly with no mix up All very good quality ; The service was excellent
Some of us were lodged in the bungalows others in he main hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable, bathroom a bit dated , very weak shower , Décor a bit blank and anonymous but for the smoker that I am it was possible to go out on the verandah of the bungalow to "inhale" without having to go too far; The problem for some of the guests and myself was very weak signal for mobiles, and impossible to connect to Internet despite being given a password by reception; It was a big problem for half of us and it would make me think twice before spending a night over there again; Pity but nothing that cannot be fixed with a good Broadband connexion
To sum up: food worth the visit -hotel "can do better" views: spectacular. Prices very reasonable and we are very grateful with the arrangements and the kindness of the staff in general

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicLandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I took a group of 53 Classic Car Enthusiasts to the Frensham Pond Hotel for lunch on Monday 19th May. The staff looked after us in a seemless manner from the first contact a couple of months beforehand to the completion of the lunch. Choice of meals was made from a varied menu at an excellent price. The meal itself was served by staff who were most obliging and attentive. Everybody enjoyed their meals which were excellent. Having to pick out the favourite item on the menu is difficult but certainly the Apple and Rhubarb crumble was terrific and deserved a mention as it was praised by many of the diners.
Tony Allen

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
21.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,208 reviews
17.9 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,762 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
6.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SPA OPENING WINTER 2018 Welcome to the Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa in Farnham, Surrey . Set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping center is a short five-minute drive away. Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers . Fitness studio . In room safe. All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridges. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. . Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing