We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Devil's Cradle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Devil's Cradle
Ranked #2 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Was working in the area stayed for one night absolutely brilliant wish I could have stayed longer !!! Couldn't fault it!!! Working all over the uk i have stayed in so many places and hotels this has got to be one of the best will defiantly becoming again especially when the pub re opens down the road !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDData
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the "stream room" which is part of the hosts' house - as others have said, you may hear a few sounds from the house but it didn't bother us. We liked the freedom of the continental breakfast provided as we were travelling with a young baby and you need to get your sleep when you can. The ensuite shower/wetroom was fine, although I would personally prefer to have a door between this and the bedroom for privacy and to avoid any smells!! The bed was very comfortable although it was twin beds put together. All was clean and we had no problems with our baby in his travel cot.

Room Tip: take note whether you are staying in the stream room (in the landlady's house) or the separate l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I've worked in the hospitality industry and so stayed around the world from 2-5 star and paid from £20 to £600 a night. This is gratefully affordable, and as good as 70% of the 4 stars I've stayed in, even though it is a humble self-catering B&B. The welcome is excellent, breakfast is hot and tasty, the bed beautifully comfortable, the amenities modern (including wifi) and the finishes luxurious.

The personal touches make you feel pampered: lovely soaps, fresh OJ, dorset cereals, wood for the log burner, a stash of DVDs, Karen's warm welcome and the all-important hot shower in the modern en-suite bathroom.

It's on a "main road" i,e,, a country road, so can be a bit noisy, but that did not ruin our experience.

it's a quite unique converted barn/shop, separate from the main building, so completely private. Definitely not your average hotel room, self catering apt or B&B.

I would stay again, without question.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunandBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Well appointed, former farmshop which has been lovingly restored into self contained luxury accommodation. Extremely comfortable and cosy, with a four poster king size bed, open plan bath and shower area and living area and kitchen. Offers self catering option, we went for the continental breakfast which was plentiful. Impeccable in every way, and a great treat for a night away. Great location for exploring some of the National Trust areas in Surrey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatandfrantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed here on the spur of the moment and was very pleased with the quality and comfort of the room. I stayed in the smaller of the two rooms available which is integral to the Landlady's main residence. The room was ultra clean and a lot of thought had clearly gone into the layout and contents. A simple continental breakfast was arranged in the room in a refrigerator and I was able to make my own toast and tea at my convenience. What I really liked about this was the large bottle of orange juice which was nice to quench my thirst in the small hours.
One side of the room is a huge glass window looking out into the extensive forest in the grounds. In the morning I found myself face to face with a young deer filling up on the laurel bushes outside (see picture)!
I have two minor negative comments: 1. It was extremely difficult to locate the property in the dark and a larger B&B sign would be in order. It is definitely worth downloading the map before setting out or just remember that it is opposite the "Pride of the Valley" hotel. 2. There is a thin door separating the bedroom from the Landlady's kitchen and in the evening it is difficult not to be disturbed by their washing up and conversation. The answer is turn the volume on the TV up.

I will come back.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge separate to the main house which costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertybign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the Devils Cradle last night.... Sadly couldn't find a pen to write in the visitors book so thought this was the next best thing.

Great place to stay... A very special feel to it... With fabulous finishing touches.

We needed somewhere to stay while our boiler was replaced (sadly home now and still not working!!!) And found this by chance.... What a find.....

We had a lovely 24 hours holed up with good food that we cooked in the kitchen... Good bottle of wine, a few games of chess being kept warm by the under floor heating and the wood burner... Comfie bed... Fab bath and shower.... Everything you could need.

Karen and Mark were lovely.... we wish them well with the Cradle and hope to see them again.

Highly recommended.... :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place.

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the lodge and everything is furnished to an amazingly high standard. Kitchen, cosy sofa, tv in lounge and bedroom. Bath and walk in shower in the bedroom.

The bed is extremely comfortable and we had two great nights sleep.

Karen was a lovely host and very welcoming.

The breakfast is top notch, sausages, bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, toast, Yoghurts, cereal & preserves. Orange juice and milk provided. Really was lovely!

We ate at the pub opposite the road one night, 'The Pride of the Valley', and had ribeye steak and triple cooked chips, it was one of the nicest steaks I have ever had. The drinks are a little pricey though.

Great area for walking, we visited the Devils Punchbowl and had a lovely two hour walk.

Highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psbakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 2 in Churt
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Princess Royal
The Princess Royal
#1 of 22 in Farnham
680 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Vie
Hotel de Vie
#3 of 22 in Farnham
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devil's Cradle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devil's Cradle

Address: Tilford Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devil's Cradle is a luxury self contained lodge situated in the Surrey Hills. The B&B is available for self-catering breaks​ or you can opt for the B&B option. ​​ The kitchen is fully equipped with an oven, fridge, washing machine and free wifi. With the B&B option we offer a selection of cereals, toast, yoghurts, juice, tea, coffee and a welcome pack of groceries including bacon, egg, sausages, tomatoes & mushrooms left in your room. ​​ The lounge area has a good quality double sofa bed, this sleeps two in comfort​ but when in use utilises the space in the compact lounge. ​​ The bedroom area has a king size four poster bed and en-suite shower room and bath. This is part of the bedroom area. There is a flat screen TV in both the bedroom and lounge area and we also provide a selection of DVD's. There is a lovely veranda with a sofa, table and chairs for al-fresco dining.​​ ​ Well behaved dogs are welcome, but we ask that they may not be left alone in the lodge or the garden please. We are opposite a lovely pub called 'Bel & the Dragon,' that serves excellent food. There are further pubs within a 3 mile radius; The Duke of Cambridge The Three Horseshoes The Barley Mow The B&B is situated in a stunning area within acres of National Trust land. Ideal for walking, bike rides, fishing or why not visit the beautiful towns of Farnham, Frensham or Haslemere (approximately 5-7 miles). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Devil's Cradle Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing