We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Go ...”
Review of The Devil's Cradle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Devil's Cradle
Ranked #2 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WELWYN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Don't Go ...”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Because I want to keep this one quiet!!!!
Mother and daughter weekend which consisted of long daily walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside, excellent food and one of the best massages we have had in Farnham.
Karen is the perfect hostess, attentive, excellent communication leading up to our stay, unobtrusive but there if you need her. The converted farm shop is an absolute delight with many beautiful touches that you don't take in all at once. Gorgeous array of biscuits, teas, croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh orange, yoghurt, fruits, milk, coffee etc waiting for us on our arrival. These were regularly topped up during our 2 night stay. We elected for the cooked breakfast one morning which was fab. Extremely comfortable bed with bath and separate shower. As mentioned before you are in the middle of acres and acres of woodland so it is a delight and joy for those of you who enjoy long walks. Coming back to a wood burning stove adds to your pleasure. Make no mistake, this is a gem ......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUMPYWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chanced upon this b&b and were lucky enough to get a last minute booking. We stayed one night in the converted farm shop and cannot recommend it highly enough. The interior has been done to a very high and tasteful standard, the kitchen was well-stocked and the breakfast delicious. The bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept in! Karen was extremely hospitable and accommodating. We'd love to have spent more time here but even one night was enough to make us feel that we'd escaped somewhere pretty special. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked this accommodation as we have two small dogs that we wished to bring with us. To be honest, I don't know who loved it more, us or the dogs!! Beautifully decorated and very cosy. It was nice to have all the provisions for breakfast and a supply of tea, coffee and milk. If you wished to cook breakfast or a meal all the equipment is there. An absolute gem and a place we will be returning to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Devil's Cradle over New Year's Eve and it was just lovely. The perfect balance between feeling welcomed and looked after by Karen but also given privacy to enjoy our break.

The converted farm shop was even more impressive than the photos - as lovely as they are they still don't do this justice. The kitchen is fantastically equipped with a full sized oven, 4 hobs, a microwave, 4 slice toaster, kettle, plenty of plates, dishes, casserole dishes, utensils etc. There is also a washing machine if you are there for longer. We opted for the continental breakfast and were provided with a basket of croissants and bread, a wide selection of cereals, butter, jams, fruit, milk, orange juice, different types of tea, coffee and sugar. It really was excellent.

The cabin itself is beautifully decorated and so homely yet immaculately clean and tidy.

We loved every minute that we spent there and are hoping to return in the summer when the weather is much better. There are some gorgeous walks a short drive away or you can quickly get from the cabin by foot to an amazing view of the surrounding countryside.

We ate at the pub opposite, Bel and the Dragon, on the first night and would recommend it. A bit on the more expensive side but we did treat ourselves so you could eat there for cheaper.

I will be happily recommending this to family and friends.

Room Tip: Go for the self contained converted farm shop as it is absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a fabulous find! Loved every minute spent in this wonderful place and will be returning in January (have booked our stay already).

Karen could not do enough to accommodate all our requests. Lovely and attentive hostess.

Fantastic peaceful location. Great bed and lovely continental breakfast. We had a Christmas tree in our room which was so very lovely.

Please visit this unique place if you need some peace, quiet and relaxation.

Room Tip: The cabin looks great. Have not stayed there yet but looking forward to our stay there on the 9th of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at Devils Cradle for one night on a Sunday to the Monday and we loved it. From the moment we arrived to when we left the following day. This is such a cosy little place and the furnishings make it look so traditional and posh. I would love to have stayed another night. It was perfect! Karen is really nice and bought some extra bread and yoghurts for us and we had a choice of full English but decided against this on this just because we fancied a healthy start to the week on the Monday. You get a choice of breakfast foods - cereal, porridge, croissants, bread and there is milk, orange juice and butter. A choice of teas - herbal and normal along with coffee and sugar! We were so impressed! It was like being at home and having your own little kitchen. We took food with us because we wanted a cosy night in. It is so peaceful. The only thing is, the Monday morning traffic was quite loud.... But this is because I'm a light sleeper... My partner slept through.
The cabin is warm and there is a lovely bathroom with a bath and shower! Also a separate toilet with a door. There is a microwave, washing machine, kettle and toaster and an oven with hob. Saucepans, knives, cutlery, cups, glasses, tea towel. Loved this place... I want to go back soon! There are a choice of DVDs and sky. The only thing I would say is the TVs would be better off maybe a metre or so lower. That's personal preference though. I can't recommend this place enough. Simple loved it! Thanks Karen!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the double room at the rear of the property. It was very comfortable and quiet. Karen went right out of her way to make us feel welcome, and was very keen to see that we had all that we needed. We asked about places to eat and were given a comprehensive run-down of local pubs and restaurants along with an idea of how easy they were to get to, and the sort of food to expect.

Breakfast was served in the room at a pre-agreed time, and was very nice indeed. There were also complimentary snacks and other bits and bobs in case you had forgotten anything. All in all, a lovely place to stay. Full marks!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatBlokeColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
5.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devil's Cradle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devil's Cradle

Property: The Devil's Cradle
Address: Tilford Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devil's Cradle is a luxury self contained lodge situated in the Surrey Hills. The B&B is available for self-catering breaks​ or you can opt for the B&B option. ​​ The kitchen is fully equipped with an oven, fridge, washing machine and free wifi. With the B&B option we offer a selection of cereals, toast, yoghurts, juice, tea, coffee and a welcome pack of groceries including bacon, egg, sausages, tomatoes & mushrooms left in your room. ​​ The lounge area has a good quality double sofa bed, this sleeps two in comfort​ but when in use utilises the space in the compact lounge. ​​ The bedroom area has a king size four poster bed and en-suite shower room and bath. This is part of the bedroom area. There is a flat screen TV in both the bedroom and lounge area and we also provide a selection of DVD's. There is a lovely veranda with a sofa, table and chairs for al-fresco dining.​​ ​ Well behaved dogs are welcome, but we ask that they may not be left alone in the lodge or the garden please. We are opposite a lovely pub called 'Bel & the Dragon,' that serves excellent food. There are further pubs within a 3 mile radius; The Duke of Cambridge The Three Horseshoes The Barley Mow The B&B is situated in a stunning area within acres of National Trust land. Ideal for walking, bike rides, fishing or why not visit the beautiful towns of Farnham, Frensham or Haslemere (approximately 5-7 miles). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Devil's Cradle Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing