We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here for service but for the food”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We attended this restaurant one Sunday evening when there was only one other table eating for the whole evening so the lack of good service and customer relations was inexcusable.
The only reason to go back here would be for the food. Luckily for the owners of this establishment the chefs in the kitchen were extremely competent and produced some of the finest dishes this chef has eaten out in a long time. We started with a hearty broth and the crispy peppered squid, which supplied us with one of the few slight disappointments to the meal where the chilli jam obviously came out of a bottle, probably sporting a navy coloured mythical flying creature. For the main course we plumped for the pork belly, roast potatoes and apple sauce, unfortunately the skin was not crispy but the chefs very kindly rectified this without complaint. We also tried the seared tuna, with warm salad and homemade pickle. This dish was the jewel in the crown of the whole meal, absolutely divine, perfectly seared and nice contrast between all the components. To end the meal we had a scrummy crumble with fresh custard and a light but zesty lemon tart.
So as the title to this review suggests, if you can get through the terrible service the food is well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProChefDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Referring to the review of Frances T61 on your site I'm afraid I had a similar experience 2weeks ago admittedly w/o the piece of plastic, but then again I didn't have the soup....
I ordered whitebait which had obviously been fried in old/used fat or oil as there was that horrible after taste you get !
The medium (pink) roast beef I ordered was barely recognizable as such and frankly could have been anything when the accompanying gravy was applied,the gravy also had a strange after taste..
The cold vegetables were served in white (with a blue rim) enamel dishes, reminiscent of 60's hospital aids & containers ,if anyone who reads this is old enough to remember.Tumblers for wine glasses just don't work either.
Finally I ordered a crumble & custard dish for dessert and when it arrived (in the enamel dish) the custard was cold and thin by which time as my patience had evaporated I returned it and refused to pay for or select an alternative from the menu.
To my mind this establihment is vastly overpriced for what it offers, £175 for 3 with 2 bottles of wine for this low quality is just not on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank foodforthought74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect service and beautifully fitted...best place to stay around Farnham by far. Great food too and loads of nice touches like free whiskey next to the coffee machine!

Would stay again next time we are in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nickgerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Excellent overnight stay Sat 1.2.14. for a local birthday party. The hotel accommodation is superb. The room was cosy and the décor was wonderful. Style country manor/boutique hotel ...lovely. Ample car parking. The little touches such as the clary sage shower gel, the complimentary damson vodka and malt whisky enhanced the whole effect.
Large bed .........very comfortable. Staff very attentive. Breakfast the next morning in the open kitchen was delicious. I would highly recommend this little hotel couldn't fault it. Look forward to staying again when next down that part of the country. Great value.

Room Tip: Stayed in the woodhouse room next to the road over looking the sculpture park. Was not aware of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The service at the Bel & the Dragon is first class and the food is amazing.
The bar staff are knowledgable and helpful. The wine choice superb.
The locally sourced food is perfectly cooked every time!!
We will be back..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This small hotel which used to be called something else has been totally refurbished and has all the modern conveniences plus country style décor. Comfortable and well equipped bedrooms looking out over the garden. I used I as I was staying up with family nearby over Christmas, and could not have been made to feel more welcome and cared for. I did not eat a main meal, but the breakfast was modern buffet style, with the option of simple choice of cooked. Happy to recommend and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldwrinkly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and i recently celebrated his 40th birthday at the Bel and Dragon - the dining room and bar are stylish and unfussy which made us feel very relaxed.
The staff were very attentive and gave a good recommendation for our main course of pork. My dish was very tasty, however my husband's had too much fat and should have received a little more attention in the kitchen.
The bar man gave informative and friendly suggestions for our night caps. Our bedroom was delightful - enormous comfortable bed with fresh crisp linen. We particularly liked the vast shower with rain shower head.
Some lovely touches - particularly the Damson vodka awaiting us in the room.
A most welcome break - we felt like we'd been away for days and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieNats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,005 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
113 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range: £100 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel & The Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing