We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental find turns out to be relaxing friendly work lodging!”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Accidental find turns out to be relaxing friendly work lodging!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I accidentally found this place when my usual lodging for work was flooded at Hampton.
I had a warm welcome, given a beautiful room, with complimentary coffee, bottled water and vodka available.

The room was tastefully decorated, with a large comfy bed and plush bedding.
It was spotlessly clean and I enjoyed two restful nights at the hotel.

I have since booked rooms for the future and stayed again since my initial stay. My room the second time around was a little smaller and was located at the rear by the kitchen so was a little noisy until about 23.30pm due to the extractor but again it was spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed and to a very high standard.

I look forward to staying here again and it has made a real difference to the quality of my evenings after work when lodging away from home. I would not hesitate to recommend the Bel and The Dragon to colleagues and praised it highly to my friends and family.

Best stay for work in 12 months!!

Room Tip: Room above reception and rooms to the rear by the kitchen are a little noisy but are quiet after 23...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    62
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
67
114
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We attended this restaurant one Sunday evening when there was only one other table eating for the whole evening so the lack of good service and customer relations was inexcusable.
The only reason to go back here would be for the food. Luckily for the owners of this establishment the chefs in the kitchen were extremely competent and produced some of the finest dishes this chef has eaten out in a long time. We started with a hearty broth and the crispy peppered squid, which supplied us with one of the few slight disappointments to the meal where the chilli jam obviously came out of a bottle, probably sporting a navy coloured mythical flying creature. For the main course we plumped for the pork belly, roast potatoes and apple sauce, unfortunately the skin was not crispy but the chefs very kindly rectified this without complaint. We also tried the seared tuna, with warm salad and homemade pickle. This dish was the jewel in the crown of the whole meal, absolutely divine, perfectly seared and nice contrast between all the components. To end the meal we had a scrummy crumble with fresh custard and a light but zesty lemon tart.
So as the title to this review suggests, if you can get through the terrible service the food is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProChefDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Referring to the review of Frances T61 on your site I'm afraid I had a similar experience 2weeks ago admittedly w/o the piece of plastic, but then again I didn't have the soup....
I ordered whitebait which had obviously been fried in old/used fat or oil as there was that horrible after taste you get !
The medium (pink) roast beef I ordered was barely recognizable as such and frankly could have been anything when the accompanying gravy was applied,the gravy also had a strange after taste..
The cold vegetables were served in white (with a blue rim) enamel dishes, reminiscent of 60's hospital aids & containers ,if anyone who reads this is old enough to remember.Tumblers for wine glasses just don't work either.
Finally I ordered a crumble & custard dish for dessert and when it arrived (in the enamel dish) the custard was cold and thin by which time as my patience had evaporated I returned it and refused to pay for or select an alternative from the menu.
To my mind this establihment is vastly overpriced for what it offers, £175 for 3 with 2 bottles of wine for this low quality is just not on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodforthought74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect service and beautifully fitted...best place to stay around Farnham by far. Great food too and loads of nice touches like free whiskey next to the coffee machine!

Would stay again next time we are in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nickgerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Excellent overnight stay Sat 1.2.14. for a local birthday party. The hotel accommodation is superb. The room was cosy and the décor was wonderful. Style country manor/boutique hotel ...lovely. Ample car parking. The little touches such as the clary sage shower gel, the complimentary damson vodka and malt whisky enhanced the whole effect.
Large bed .........very comfortable. Staff very attentive. Breakfast the next morning in the open kitchen was delicious. I would highly recommend this little hotel couldn't fault it. Look forward to staying again when next down that part of the country. Great value.

Room Tip: Stayed in the woodhouse room next to the road over looking the sculpture park. Was not aware of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The service at the Bel & the Dragon is first class and the food is amazing.
The bar staff are knowledgable and helpful. The wine choice superb.
The locally sourced food is perfectly cooked every time!!
We will be back..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This small hotel which used to be called something else has been totally refurbished and has all the modern conveniences plus country style décor. Comfortable and well equipped bedrooms looking out over the garden. I used I as I was staying up with family nearby over Christmas, and could not have been made to feel more welcome and cared for. I did not eat a main meal, but the breakfast was modern buffet style, with the option of simple choice of cooked. Happy to recommend and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldwrinkly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel & The Dragon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing