We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just what we were after. Fabulous setting, decor and atmosphere. Friendly, helpful staff. Gorgeous food. Complimentary whisky, vodka and nespresso machine. A real treat and will definitely return. Loved the quirky touches and the relaxed feeling.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    64
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
71
119
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As a hotel reviewer, I am rarely in a position to say I can't find fault but with this place, I was bowled over. Affordable, well thought-out and charming. I also liked the care that had gone into restoring the inn - it has all the creature comforts, without compromising on the feeling of homeliness. I'd go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Would love this place to work as it is my local and have given it three goes. but no more as all visits deeply disappointing. If this is to be regarded as a restaurant, (given the prices assume this is the aim,) far greater attention needed to quality on all levels, delivery, service and ambience. There has been an excellent renovation of a tired building, completely transformed, I hope the owners follow this through to delivering the menu equally well. Staff are delightful but appear to lack experience. I would revisit for a lunchtime sandwich style meal as I work/walk locally but that would be all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Completely in love with this place. Amazing service and excellent hospitality. Family run with a group of incredibly friendly staff. Accommodation, quaint and kitsch, still provided maximum comfort and care. Lovely details such as vintage books in all the rooms, which were named after literary figures from Austen novels, and beautifully thought out interior design. Very clean and high spec modern bathroom. Although expensive, well worth the price! Complementary damson vodka was a plus as well! Food was of a high quality, and there was a lot of it! Extremely welcoming environment, multiple lit fire places and very warmly decorated. Wonderful restaurant/bar lay out, allowing maximum amounts of eating and drinking. I would not of stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Bel and The Dragon is a very relaxing, attractive place with the most welcoming atmosphere. The room we had, Bertram, was extremely comfortable and the bathroom and the products provided were luxurious. Underfloor heating in the bathroom was much appreciated. Mike was the perfect host, very hospitable and friendly and truly enthusiastic to make your stay a memorable one. I'd recommend sampling at least one of the cocktails on offer in the bar. We were unable to have an evening meal due to our late booking and a large party already booked in, however if breakfast is any gauge of quality, it shouldn't be one to miss. The best scrambled eggs ever and the warmed bread drizzled with olive oil was just delicious. It was also refreshing to have such a big 'window' for breakfast; 8am - 11am. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picdumidigerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Bel and The Dragon in Churt for a weekend away. Getting out of the hustle and bustle of London, Bel and The Dragon provided us with a lovely country location but with a 'London standard' of food and service. I was delighted with the friendly welcome we received upon arriving and the ongoing helpfulness of the staff both in the B&B and the restaurant. The rooms were clean, tidy and of a good standard. Our evening meal was peaceful and I don't think I have tasted beef quite as good as the Rib of Beef we had as our main. All in all a brilliant spot for a sneaky night away, so much so, I have just booked another visit during the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The restaurant here was recommended to me by a customer and I stumbled across their accommodation by accident when looking at the menu online. I am glad I did, as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff were very welcoming on my arrival, i was offered complimentary coffee amongst other surprises and shown to my room. It was spotless, decorated very tastefully with a luxurious feel, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Stayed for dinner and breakfast and I was just as equally impressed with the food and dining service as I was with the room. I will be returning for sure and couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliottParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel & The Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing