We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique without the fuss - a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boutique without the fuss - a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Was formally known as the Pride of the Valley - this has been updated and refurbished very nicely. Great touches such as free calls from your room, aperitif's in the room and stunning service make this a great place to stay.

One of those rare finds for those who want a stay with personality away from the major brand hotels. The restaurant was great and the food was described as high end dining without the fuss - and that's exactly what I got. From the local beers at the bar, to the signature dishes in the restaurant I would unhesitatingly recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    61
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
66
113
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Bel & The Dragon over the weekend and honestly cannot fault it at all. The rooms are bright and spacious (and very clean), breakfast was great and the staff are fantastic. The finishing touches are what makes this hotel great - there is a bottle of complementary sloe gin in the room and a communal room with free Nespresso coffee and a choice of two complementary 12 year single malt whiskeys! All in all, I would most definitely visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: We were lucky to stay in 'Darcy' which is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just got home after a wonderful weekend at this great place. Visited the area for a friends party and did some researching before being lucky enough to find Bel! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt so relaxed. Greeted by Mike and shown our lovely, comfortable room, we then had a chilled drink in the sun drenched garden. A tasty, fresh dinner later, we settled into our comfortable bed for a great sleep! Breakfast was good too! The team of staff are all excellent and were friendly and welcoming. I wanted to move in! This is not part of the world that we visit often unfortunately but if we do this will be where we stay.

Room Tip: Bertram is directly over the restaurant so was a little noisy until everyone had left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I found this place really by default.....with everywhere full up, I had no choice. I am staggered....I nearly missed this true golden experience.
I was met by Sonny who showed me to the room. He was very friendly without being too much. His chatter was just what I needed....
My room was a really lovely double. The true delight was hidden in the wardrobe doors...opened into a bathroom with an enormous roll top bath. Just what I needed.
There is a small snug on the first floor with complimentary coffee machines, and decanters of scotch. Not for me...that bath was calling.
The bed was very comfortable, with great bedding and good pillows.

Ginny helped me at breakfast, and my boiled eggs were done to perfection.

I have been working around Basingstoke for years, I cannot believe how I have not seen or heard of this place before, it's wonderful. Roll on next week, I am going back.

Room Tip: My room was called Bennett, a delightful double with roll bath, and big fluffy towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchristinej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel -great food,great room and very friendly and attentive staff.
The meal on Saturday evening was exceptional and the splendid Sunday roast was enhanced by the attention that Mike and the girls gave to our grandchildren -they loved it.
Mike and his team have created a second home for us in Surrey!
We shall be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fully justifies a 5-star review - comfortable but classy decor, friendly and efficient staff, great food and reasonably priced.

I stayed here for a couple of nights recently and the staff were very helpful in accommodating an early check in and a late check-out. The room was great with a comfy bed, nice TV and tasteful decor. I tried both dinner and breakfast at the Bel - dinner was good with quality ingredients and professional service while breakfast was fantastic. No menu as such but you can help yourself to toast, excellent yoghurts, cereals etc and then order what hot food you fancy along the lines of bacon, eggs and pancakes - it was all really tasty (especially the pancakes which came with caramelised banana) and the service prompt.

Good value too - breakfast was included for something like £125 per night. I've been coming to the pub for years in its various guises and this is definitely its best yet. Have to mention the free malt whisky available in decanters on the accommodation floors too - nice touch!

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretSquirrel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Rainton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having lived in Farnham for 5 years, making a return visit for a wedding, the Bel & The Dragon provided a lovely, relaxed base with exceedingly friendly staff. Mike and the team have managed to regenerate a great hotel / restaurant / bar and felt more like a house guest. Special mention to Beth for coming in early on Sunday morning (7am) so that we could enjoy an early breakfast before heading to Heathrow to catch our flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel & The Dragon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Churt, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing