We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and three friends visited late one night last week (arriving at 9:25) without booking a table which, most places this is seen as an annoyance we were shown to a table and were not rushed at all while looking over the menu. 3 of the group opted for the suckling pig and three positive responses from the dish. The fourth of our group had the risotto, he seemed pleased with his choice. I then followed with the chocolate mousse, nice but if im overly critical i would say to do away with the popping candy, chocolate doesnt need it! I cant really fault the place or the service if anything i would agree with a previous reviewer about not serving the suckling pig on a board as attempting to sauce the meat becomes somewhat tricky. Overall good enough to make me pop back in on sunday for a pint in their garden!

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    111
    41
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Super New Restaurant (with Rooms)”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have eaten here several times recently, both lunchtime and in the evening.
It has been pleasantly re-furbished recently and looks attractive inside.
The staff are really welcoming and the service is good. I and various friends have found it to be an excellent place for a meal that is quality. It is not cheap, although I don`t think £40 a head for two courses and wine exorbitant if it is a classy meal; it was - worth every penny.
If you want somewhere of great quality in the area, this is a good choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A new favourite”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The recent makeover and new management have succeeded in providing a great new local bar and restaurant, offering delicious food. There are cheaper places, pubs serving the usual pub-type food, but if you want something different head here. The place is buzzy and busy (not surprisingly) and you'll need to book.
Unlike another reviewer, I love the new decor. It's tasteful and light, with shades of Farrow and Ball, and a modern take on 'the country pub'. The ambience is relaxed and the service excellent. The Sunday roasts here are splendid, but so are the weekday offerings - such as pasta with chilli and prawns, summer risotto, sea bass etc etc.
It's our new favourite and since our first visit we've been back a half a dozen times, each time the food has been excellent and the service superb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadwithpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Back again for a rather underachieving meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Firstly expect to pay £45-70/head here and my comments should be taken in light of this price.

The whole place has a spacious feel although the eclectic decor is a strange mix and may not be to everyones taste. The staff were young welcoming and friendly although rather under trained. We started with a drink in the bar and ordered our food there. A good start.

Our starters served with almost indecent haste but I guess this better than waiting around. Three of our party had the crayfish/prawn starter and I had the Mussels. The verdict on the crayfish was 3/3 - excellent. well presented and tasty. My mussels were good quality but 25% hadn't opened and the sauce was pretty nondescript and a big disappointment. It was surprisingly served with toasted French stick which made it impossible to mop up the sauce. Not really thought through. Overall starters OK though.

The mains were the roasted baby chicken, the pork , Linguini and the Duck and some extra vegetables. Of these only the Duck had a full thumbs up.

The baby chicken was served in a small bowl (just big enough for the chicken) and accompanied by a blunt knife. After 5 minutes scraping and hacking the chicken I gave up and asked for a sharper knife. I was then given a small pointed dagger which was equally useless at extracting the small amount of meat. Just poorly thought out. The pork was served on a wooden tray with a gravy boat. Not surprisingly when the gravy was poured it flowed over the inadequate 'moat' around the wood and all over the table. The pork was however very nice meat and enjoyable overall but the chicken meal was very average. The final dish was my partners Linguini which she thought was pretty poor and was disappointed with (although it is normally her favourite).

NB One irritation throughout the meal was the waitresses habit of marching up the the table (3 times?) and just interrupting conversations (Just to ask the usual pleasantries). Surely, even without training its just basic manners to wait until someone stops talking (and honestly we do stop sometimes). In general the staff just seemed very inexperienced.

Myself and a friend then had two deserts and coffees which were all excellent so a good finish to the meal. The bill (with very modest drinks) came to just under £200.

Overall, the food has quality ingredients, freshly prepared and well cooked. Vegetables are al-dente and very tasty. However, at the prices they charge there is far too little attention to detail and the staff are inexperienced (albeit friendly and helpful). NB There are two Gastropubs within a mile or so that serve arguably better food at around £25/head.

At this price this place should really be so much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem !”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Under new management and a real welcome awaits. The bar area was buzzing for pre-lunch drinks. The service and food in the main restaurant were excellent and there is a very comprehensive wine list.The spit roast pig was delicious as was the Eton Mess. Altogether a very enjoyable lunch in a great atmosphere. Essential to book..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel & The Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing