We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Croydon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert's Table

Albert's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Albert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 458 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop outside serving multiple bus routes. 5 minute walk from South Croydon train station.
Description: CR0 1BF
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in Croydon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I adore this restaurant. The food is always tasty and exciting - everyone I bring here is surprised by the standard and the great value for money.

The staff are great and the service has definitely improved in recent visit to make the experience even better! For special occasions the tasting menu is a nice idea.

Desserts are very good here especially the soufflés - so make sure you save room!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review. It is great to
read that you enjoy our food and service. We take great pride in everything that we produce and look forward to you returning to enjoy us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    156
    49
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch, the menu had some very nice choices, the service was perfect and the wine list very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabi995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch today. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is always a pleasure to read our customers feedback. If you enjoyed the wine, perhaps you would enjoy one of our Tasting Evenings, do email me for more details. We hope to welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Exceptional!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

...I would like to say it is a shame Makbill didnt 'like' Albert's Table but I cant. Having dined at some of central london's best/Michelin starred restaurants, I relish every opportunity to come back to my local haunt.Value, quantity and best of all taste is second to none.
Well dont Alberts Table (Joby and Team)! Please dont go changing...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to read such lovely reviews. We strive to always produce excellent dishes in a friendly and relaxed environment and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Last night I ate one of the best meals of my life. What a surprise to find a great meal at an unpretentious restaurant behind roadworks in Croydon. Every mouthful caused an mmmm but the service easily matched the food. Friendly, helpful and natural. Thanks Trip Advisor for helping us to find this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mscarollewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. It is always a pleasure to read such a positive review. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This would not survive in central London where there is choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I went there on a Saturday night a couple of weeks ago for the 2nd time, and I wish I had trusted my judgement from my first visit, which was a good few years ago. This is exactly the kind of restaurant that can only survive in Croydon where there is no competition from other restaurants in this price range.
£28 for 2 courses, £34 for 3 courses. This is not cheap by any means, and that's just for the food. which frankly is not worth this much. Surprisingly, the place was fully booked, I'd say mostly with the older crowd, 50s to 60s. A few younger couples dotted here and there.
I felt that they were perhaps (still) trying to be something that they were not (and could not be). The chef doesn't really seem to understand combination of flavours that work - I'm all for experimenting myself, but when I'm paying £120 for two for a meal (with a bottle of wine), I'd expect something really quite good, or at least something that works. My main of cod was a disaster - other than that the cod itself was cooked perfectly, albeit with no seasoning at all. How they constructed the dish was odd to say the least. First, they covered a big plate with strips of grilled red and yellow peppers with olive oil. On top of this sea of peppers, was either a potato pancake or a soufle of some sort gone very wrong (it had absorbed so much of the moisture from the layer below, that it was difficult to identify). And on top of this they placed their fairly well cooked piece of cod with no taste. And it gets stranger. They decided to decorate the plate with a handful of mussels fried in heavy batter. What was the chef thinking?? The result, a messy brown/beige looking plate. Not something you'd expect from a restaurant pretending to be high-cuisine and commanding the sort of prices they are.
For dessert, some ice cream - Surely they can't get this wrong? How wrong we were! At this point I actually asked the waiter if anyone had tasted the vanilla ice cream. It was overloaded with sugar to the point that it was sickly sweet, and vanilla? What vanilla! So our meal ended with an icy sugar and milk mixture. I went home and had some Haagen Datz vanilla ice cream, just to get over the taste of the previous one.
In central London this restaurant would be empty (other than a few unsuspecting tourists). In Croydon, however, it seems to have hit the spot with the wealthier and older Croydon crowd. Unfortunately for me, however, there will not be a third visit to Albert's Table. My hope is for Brasserie Vacherin across the road to up their game a little to get their standard close to their original restaurant in Chiswick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaakT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are saddened to hear that you feel this way about our restaurant and food. As I am sure you have seen by our other reviewers, our food is highly regarded by regulars and newcomers, and it is clear that the food was not to your taste. We appreciate all who take time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albert's Table also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Albert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing