We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Reception Area, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location is a bit inconvenient for those going into London - have to take a taxi or a shuttle to the light rail station (three stops to Victoria Station, though, if you get an express train). There didn't seem much to do in that part of Croydon itself, though I was there for only one day.

Unfortunately, my room was so-so. Once it was nice, but it has not been repaired/updated in many years and it shows.

Otherwise, a decent hotel experience. And certainly cheaper than a comparable hotel in Westiminster or the City..........

Room Tip: Another reviewer said that they're progressively renovating the rooms. If that's true, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MarcG19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at our Hotel. I was glad to read that you found our hotel to be very good value for money.

I have noted your comments about the room condition. Though not trecently refurbished, we ensure our rooms are kept ultra clean. We also have a number of projects in place to continually improve the condition of all areas of the building.
We hope we can be of service to you in the future.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

While the hotel is very nice and clean looking the staff are fairly mediocre. The price of this hotel is usually very good though and its very easy to get into central London with buses and London national rail services nearby. I would probably visit again. Other than the free breakfast I also didn't seem to get any recognition of my Hilton Gold status.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Luke S,

Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you found our hotel to be good value for money, clean and with easy access to central london and the surrounding areas.
I do apologise for the lack of recognition of your HHonors gold status, I have discussed your comments with the relevant department to ensure there are no reoccurances of this type in the future.
Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review, it is most appreciated.
regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute for 1 night. The value for money is brilliant. Cost less than the travel lodge and included breakfast! Checking in was fast and the last at reception was very nice. The room was clean and well presented. Only staying for 1 night we ate in the hotel and the staff were fantastic!! My other half loved the meal and mind was loverly although it wasn't to my taste so the waitress discounted 50% and wanted to provide me with an alternative dish, but I'm just a picky eater. The complimentary bread was enough for me. Made us feel like welcomed guests. The young man in the bar was very pleasant to chat to and we were offered free popcorn. We asked about the internet rates and the lady at reception very kindly advised us to sign up to their emails and it was complimentary. She didn't need to mention that and could have just charged us. We were provided with a free paper and were charged only an extra £6 for our breakfast provided in bed.. The hotel is in a great central location with easy access to London Central and Croydon and not far from TGI and the local cinema. Would definitely recommend! I know we will be staying there again!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy110xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sammy110xox,
Thanks for your review of our Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff made you feel very welcome. Our aim at Hilton Croydon is to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and leave wanting to return.
We look forward to being of service again in the near future. Many thanks.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was pretty disappointed with my stay at the Hilton. The hotel is on average clean, but the rooms are outdated. There were stains on the furnishings, bathtub and bathroom floor. I only used the fitness center once - it was way too hot and not ventilated. The bed was pretty hard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Emily M,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay. Though not recently refurbished, we ensure our rooms are ultra clean and presently we do have a few projects in place to consistently improve the building.

As for the comment about the gym, it seems for some reason the airconditioning system in the gym had been switched off. This has been checked and switched back on.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July. A pretty basic Hilton. Nice staff. We chose this hotel because it was less expensive than staying in London and only a short train ride in to town or down to Brighton. The nearest rail station is reasonable walking distance but has limited service. The larger rail station in town is definitely a taxi ride away but has a greater variety of rail service options. Another convenience issue - there are VERY limited options for dining if you don't wish to dine in the hotel. Would consider staying here again but would definitely plan to eat in London or wherever we visited during the day. FYI -the Hampton Inn is closer to the large rail station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Elizabeth O,
Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I am glad that you found our hotel to be value for money, great location for your needs and also found the staff to be very nice and friendly.

Regarding your conmments about the options for dining, there are approximately 40 restaurant which are only 10 to 15mins away from the Hotel including valley park restaurants, south croydon high street restaurants, Whitgift Centre restaurants just to name a few.

Also for travelling from Hilton Croydon to the main East Croydon Station, there is a regular bus service every 20mins from the bus stand behind the hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated and we look forward to being of service again in the future.

regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton Croydon many times and always enjoyed our stay enormously.
The rooms are spacious, always clean and well serviced.
Staff are professional, polite and extremely helpful - always a smile - nothing is too much trouble for them.
Can't praise the staff highly enough - BRILLIANT - they could set a bench mark for other Hotels.
Parking is free, secure and safe.
Connections to East Croydon Station and London are excellent ( Bus Service 119 ) - you will come to know the route quite well.
I would highly recommend the restaurant and bar as the food is simply delicious if not a bit pricey.
We are already planning our next break at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pericles212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Pericles212,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was happy to read that you always enjoy your stay with us and find our staff to be very professional, polite and extremely helpful. Also glad that you were able to make use of our complimentary parking facilities and enjoyed meals in our restaurant and bar.

Thank you so much for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Croydon.
Thanks

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel but did call in for a meal recently.
The food here was fantastic! All really fresh and tasty! The scallops, chicken livers and the steak pie were especially good!
We must mention the staff as they were so nice. Jakir and Abby were so friendly and helpful and really looked after our young son!
After this visit we would consider staying here next time and will definitely be paying another visit to the restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tied-out-dad,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your dinning experience in our Larder Restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and found it to be fresh and tasty. I will pass on your compliments to all team members including Jakir and Abby.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Croydon

Address: 101 Waddon Way | Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from the sights and shops of London, the contemporary Hilton London Croydon hotel is just 16 minutes by train to Victoria Station. Do business in one of 15 meeting rooms for 3-300, or work out at the gym. Round off your day with dinner at The Larder Restaurant or a nightcap at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Croydon Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing