We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality comfort and cleanliness, good VFM.”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great quality comfort and cleanliness, good VFM.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A single night at the Croydon Park was booked via lastminute.com while attending a mid-week training course in nearby Beckenham.
The hotel is conveniently located being just a couple of minutes walk from the train/tram station and with a regular schedule of transport, it proved to be the cheapest and most straightforward option for getting around (only 10 minutes back into central London).
All members of staff encountered at the hotel (from check-in, bar, restaurant, and check-out) were polite, courteous and conducted themselves in an efficient manner without fuss or intrusion. At check-in, the friendly young receptionist issued an automatic upgrade to the next available class of room. A gesture always appreciated.
The room itself was spacious and tastefully decorated (as expected for a typical business establishment). Simple neutral colours supplemented with standard wood-effect furniture and LCD television. The bed linen was crisp and clean yet being soft and comfortable at the same time, superb quality especially appreciated after a long day of travelling. The bathroom was also well presented, very clean and with a plentiful supply of hot water – no problems there!
Drinks and meals served from the bar area in the evening were of an average price; however, quality was well above standard, making it the simple choice to eat in after a long day instead of venturing further a field.
Breakfast was a rather simple affair, being a standard buffet arrangement with hot plated food available if required. However, most importantly, it all tasted fresh!
The hotel also offers a small gym and pool area. Ok, so it’s not a boutique spa, but a nice option to de-stress at the end of the day.

While the room rates may initially seem a little high, they aren’t really especially when you consider location and the quality of the rooms. A quick search of other local hotels and B&B’s (and there associated reviews) revealed rates not too dissimilar to this place, but which fall woefully short in the comfort and cleanliness departments.
I’ll happily return if I’m ever back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1-WeekendTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear /A1-WeekendTraveller

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am absolutely overjoyed at the great review that you have left us here, which indicates that you had a WONDERFUL stary with us.

Thanks for sharing us with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    405
    234
    93
    84
See reviews for
191
292
77
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Once again, we decided to stop at this hotel, the reason being excellent value for money, clean, full breakfasts with variety menu,and good friendly staff. Its about 300 meters from Croydon East station with first rate services to London Victoria, Gatwick, and of course Clapham. A tram service is slightly nearer for a good service to Wimbledon.

A tip to anyone who likes Chinese food pay a visit to a restraunt about 400 meters away. Out the hotel turn left walk down to the tram station, turn left and walk down the main road about 200 meters the place is on the left.. £7.00 buys you a very large main course meal which is hot and well prepared. service as usual by the Chinese staff is fast and efficient.

Room Tip: When booking you have options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear DavidM

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Its always nice to see that our returning guest are still satisfied with our service and our product.

Wow the Chinese shop should give you a complimentary meal the next time you are here, for giving them such good advertisement.

We do look forward to hosting you again, so hurry back.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Croydon park about 6 times over the past 2 years and every time it's fantastic! The staff are all so polite and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and a good size and the beds are massive!
We chose Croydon park the first time because of the location, it's no more than a 5 minute walk to the train station which is 15 minutes from London Victoria or London Bridge, needless to say we were impressed and have been returning since!
We had one unfortunate stay where part of the hotel had been flooded meaning that because the hotel was already full, we had no room, however, the manager had already arranged for us to have a room at another hotel in the town and arranged for complimentary taxis to take us between the hotels and the train station which was very much appreciated.

the breakfast in the hotel is buffet style with an extensive range of cereals, fruit and a cooked breakfast, just what you need to start your day :)

Thank you CPH, we WILL be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you can afford to upgrade then do it, the 'posh rooms' are lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkDweller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Dear SuffolkDweller85

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am very pleased to see that you have been coming to us on a regular basis. We are happy that our services and product meet your needs.

We do look forward to welcoming you again and again to the CPH, where you will always receive the warmest welcome in town.

Next time you are here, I would like to meet and welcome you personally, so please drop me an email when you are planning to come again or ask for me at the desk.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

It was great to stay me and my boyfriend to this hotel nearest London - aprox.20 minutes from the East Croydon Rail Station. It is a quiet place and it was a pleasant room, good services and good food.
We enjoyed every minutes!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela & Valentin, Bucharest, Romania

Room Tip: Quiet room, many elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgeo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Dear dgeo68

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am really happy to see that both you and your boyfriend had a good stay. We do look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you agin in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I traveled from the US to the UK for a week for a business trip. I was only 5 minutes walking distance from the office. The hotel also had a great selection for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. With everything I needed so close by, I had no need for a car. I also had free wi-fi to use my computer in the room. The room was large and the bathroom was nice and updated. However, the room could use a little updating. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. I wanted to workout while I was here, but the gym was very small and I had to wait for a treadmill or bicycle. I found out that "outsiders" could pay to use the gym. Since that's the case, they really need to enlarge it and have more than one treadmill and one bicycle to accommodate all the guests. They had a great breakfast and dinner buffet. The dinner had everything you could have imagined to eat, which justifies the price. The surrounding area was nice and quiet and my 5 minute walk to the office was a scenic one. I would consider staying here again if I travel back to Croydon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dress19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear dress19

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

From your account of your stay you seem to have had a nice stay with us. Its our aim to have all our guest leaving us having had their expectations met and exceeded.

We do look forward to welcoming you back To The CPH whenever you return to Croydon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We booked this hotel at 3pm the day we went via a last minute website and got an executive room very cheaply. We absolutely loved it! The staff were very polite and helpful - for example, my partner ordered a starter in the restaurant that evening but i chose not to have one but they brought me a plate of complimentary crudities and dips! We were only there one night but left feeling very refreshed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear bckyweb

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am very happy to see that you had such a wonderful time with us, even if it was only for one night.

Do come again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

If you are ever unlucky enough to be sent to Croydon for business (no one ever goes for pleasure), the Croydon Park Hotel is a good place to stay. Overall, it is efficient and functional, and on a relatively quiet road. Location is convenient, only a few minutes walk from East Croydon station, Fairfield Hall and town centre. Though it has been partly refurbished, some aspects look a bit old (bathroom plumbing, for example). Breakfast is very good - generous and varied buffet, service quick & friendly. Didn't try the bar snacks or evening meals, though should have, as dining in Croydon itself is pedestrian at best. Checkout slow at busy times. Fitness centre short on changing & shower space.

Room Tip: Rooms high up and not facing the road would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear RossManchester

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your comments are noted.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#18 of 24 in Croydon
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Property: Croydon Park Hotel
Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing