We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea could be better”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea could be better”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Fridge cold sandwiches and scones don't make for a great afternoon tea. Nor does being offered hot water and fruit tea bags. Fortunately the latter were replaced on request with a pot of "proper" tea. Was I wrong to expect it to be better for £12.50 each? I don't know. But I won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear JILLOF

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am really sorry to see that you did not enjoy your experience of afternoon tea with us. I would like to invite you and a friend to come back and have afternoon tea on us. We would like the opportunity to make it right and meet and perhaps exceed your expectation at no additional cost to you.

Its my hope that you will take up our offer. When you are ready to do so, please contact myself or Oscars Restaurant, on oscars@croydonparkhotel.com, stating that you were given this offer and the arrangements will be made for you.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    397
    230
    90
    82
See reviews for
187
283
76
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night while in the area on business. First time staying in the area. The hotel is OK. Reception looks lovely and reception staff very friendly. Room was cold and, although clean, was a bit dated and could do with being spruced up! I had a problem accessing the wifi but the staff were very helpful and resolved the issue very quickly. Ordered room service which was quick but not very hot. Noticed for any smokers out there, that they do have little heaters outside in the smoking area which was good. Overall, an OK hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear PHILBGlasgow

Thanks for leaving us a review

Thanks for your kind comments.

I am pleased to say that we are in the process of refurbishing roomes (or to use your words sprucing them up) so I am sure you will be pleasantly suprised on your return, which I do hope is in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel is a nice hotel in a dodgy area. It is not an especially attractive hotel from the outside but the top floor of the hotel offers a good quality room. The top floor has apparently been recently refurbished and it is well appointed. The layout of the room is good, the availability of an ironing board is helpful. The bed was two singles put together but it was still an easy sleep.

The bathroom is good though the shower head is a little low to duck underneath. The shower curtain is designed so that water won't spray all over the floor. It is simple things like this that make a difference compared to worse hotels. There is adequate cupboard space though no safe. The lighting is good. Setting the air con to the right temperature is a bit of a battle.

The staff are friendly and polite. A particularly chatty cleaner was a friendly bonus.

Wireless works on the top floor though it does require a specific request to get it as it isn't offered without being asked for,

Breakfast is good. The Oscar's Bar is a really pleasant surround. The light jazz is cool and make everything seem nicer. The buffet is varied and generally good. On request hot chocolate can replace tea or coffee. The breakfast is not amazingly well cooked but this is above the basic standard.

One of the downsides of the hotel though is the location. The hotel is right opposite a court so there are a few less salubrious types potentially being around. Also Croydon is a dive. It does have a lot of shops in the main drag but it isn't attractive. A constant low level traffic sound comes through the windows. Still, it is just a couple minutes walk from East Croydon station so is easy to get to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Malarchy

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your comments have been noted.

Thanks for your kinds comments.

Even though we are in close proximity to the court, this has never posed a problem, as clearly the court has its own forecourt, so persons attending the court have no reason to come on to the hotel's property.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a freezing room - as usual. (have stayed here about 6 times over last ten years & same story every single time) Another room was ringing for a heater as I checked in. Surely a hotel can have its booked rooms pre heated when the outside temperature is 0 degrees or less outside? Room took about 1 hour to heat with very noisy air conditioning unit. Draughty window means noisy heater has to be kept running all night. Couch so uncomfortable as to be barely of any use.TV not working. Usual dispiriting experience. Only stay here on business as convenient walk 2 mins to offices....otherwise would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owens1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Owens1962

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your comments have been noted and I am very saddened that for 10 years you have had the same problem with us and not brought it to our attention. I would like to meet with you the next time you are here with us, so that when you leave you would have had a different experience.

We do listen to our guest and try to the best of our abilities to make things right, so that when they leave the experience would have been a great one.

Please contact me the next time you are here and we will sit down for a coffee and talk things though.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Around 2006-08 0 I stayed at Croydon Park Hotel pretty much every week. It was, in my opinion better than Jury's Inn and back then there was no other hotel in central Croydon to speak of. There was one other, the name escapes me, but that was beyond dreadful, so not really much of a comparison.

I stayed at CPH again in Nov 2012 and thought that the rooms had been refurbished. Well it seems that some have, and others haven't.

I was in one of the hasn't rooms. Perfectly adequate, but looking a little dated. It felt kinda early 1980s to be honest.

Hotel is very handy for the train into London and the bar is cosy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's been refurbished. I think they're on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazous66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear zazous66

Thanks for leaving us a review

Thanks for choosing to use us again. I am pleased to tell you that we are in the process of a major refurbishment, so you will be pleasantly suprised the next time that you stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A 5 minute walk from Easy Croydon train station I stayed here on and off for 3 weeks to attend conferences in the hotel. In my opinion this venue was excellent value for the price paid (corporate rate of £85 with breakfast included), the staff were very positive and friendly and would pass the time of day or ask how I was if we passed each other. The gym and swimming pool were an excellent bonus and have a good range of cardio and weights equiment with a lovely pool and sauna... I used it from 6.30 when it opened in the morning and there were a handful of other people so it wasnt too busy at all. The quality of the breakfast was acceptable (there was no black pudding :-( ) but the lunch and evening meals were really varied and very tasty. The conferencing facilities were very good and the group that I was with were well looked after. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. I can not thank the staff enough for the quality of service I received during my stay...without exception all of the staff worked very hard and were polite and professional at all times... During my time at the hotel I stayed in a selection of rooms all of which were in good condition and the beds were very comfy. Although the hotel is maybe a little dated with the odd crack in the wall or noisy pipes feeding into some of the bathrooms the overall standard was very good and vey cosy. My experience at this hotel made staying away from home on business a pleasure.. infact having stayed there on and off for 3 weeks I actually miss the place :-(

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel face the train station and although it was a minor irritation to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear JonArnold

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Wow I am extremely happy to hear that your time spent with us was such an enjoyable one that you are missing us. Its our aim to have all our guest leaving havinhg had a great stay and its wonderful to see that we achieved that in your case.

You dont have to wait until its another business trip to come back, but come on down for pleasure as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your kinds compliments will be passed on to my colleagues.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It's in a good location, car parking was good and was £5 over night.

We used the pool and sauna which were quite good too, don't forgot flip flops as the changing room floor wasn't very clean.

The rooms were comfortable and warm and the shower was nice too. Had Christmas dinner there and the staff were nice and helpful.

The breakfast was over priced but tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreverpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Foreverpk

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All in all your stay seemed to have been a pleasant and enjoyable one. Your comment concerning the floor in The Leisure Club will checked and the matter addressed.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Property: Croydon Park Hotel
Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing