We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but under-staff”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stay there during mid-June, I've been coming to this hotel for the past 3 years and I noticed they have remodeled the Lobby and rooms on the 4th floor, service has always been good but a little slow in my opinion specially at check in since many times during the week you'll find multiple buses outside bringing guest by groups so the lobby gets really packed. I think the hotel overall wants to do a great job but in my opinion they seemed under-staff. Calling front desk for any special request gets very difficult at times for someone to answer. They changed their guest laundry provider, used it several times (no choice) but they should reconsider finding someone else their quality of dry cleaning leaves a lot to desire. WiFi is gotten worst this time I stayed, they used to give complementary wifi to executive rooms and I believe everyone else had to pay so the signal was usually pretty good but now is free to everyone so that makes extremely slow download 0.88Mbps Upload 1.8Mbps can't even open gmail fast. Breakfast is very good but dinner is OK. My collage got sick from the salad bar. Gym is good well equipped but I think they also sell the membership to outsiders non-guest so this means towels lockers get very controlled, the gym lady takes it very serious about this sign in thing and forget it about trying to ask for additional towel. Location is excellent one my favorites about CPH

Room Tip: corner rooms have better signal for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Flyby30

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Thanks for being loyal in coming to us for three years.All you comments have been noted.

You mentioned that your colleague got sick from the salad bar, I am really sorry to hear that. However on any given night we have a lot of persons eating in our Restaurant and we have had no other reported case of anyone getting ill, so its hard to be sure that your colleague's illness was related to him/her eating from the salad bar.

Hope you will be back with us in the near future

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Been to CPH about four times now. Rooms and bathrooms are large and well appointed, service is great, breakfast and dinner buffets are superb. Hotel is located two blocks from train station for easy in to London Victoria, or twenty min to Gatwick in opposite direction. Four blocks to a large shopping district and theater arts center is nearby.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear ProfBAM

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Wow it's great that you have chosen to stay with us on 4 different occasions. I think I can safely say you like or service and product here at CPH.

We do look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed for two nights, because of Wimbledon we can't get hotel in Central London, Croydon takes about one hour from London, good staff at reception, good and free wifi in the bed room, room condition is okay , my problem is disturbing noise from a group American students who stay next to my room , when they talk you can hear what they say, bedroom & bathroom looks tired, anyway breakfast is acceptable for me , friendly staff, and you can walk 3 minutes and find a station called east Croydon, you can find convenience store there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear catwalk1899

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other persons that were also using the hotel. If you ever stay with us again and have any form of disturbance, please bring it to our attention and we will certainly act on it.

Your kind remarks will be passed on to my colleagues. Please do come again.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, and were greeted so well by te reception staff they were very friendly ( reception manager not sure of name) we had a twin room which was spacious and comfortable and very clean.
We are in oscars and even though to us it's done very old fashioned and the food on the buffet was not so great the staff were attentive and tried there best. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stop over

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luganolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear luganolp

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your comments are noted. Hope to see you again real soon.


Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We put a two as we didn't see rats and roaches... But given the general cleanliness we wouldn't be surprised...

We didn't inspect the room too closely before going to dinner... But after the state of the dining room it was hard not to notice other people's hair in the bathroom, dust and general grub.

The food on the buffet was tasteless or had a funny taste to it. We had bets with ourselves at how many services the pork had seen... We were both a bit worried about our constitutions for the next day. The waiter/ manager did give us a discount as he 'noticed we hadn't eaten a lot' (translation: we overheard you joking about the quality of the food). To be honest we still felt over charged. Breakfast was better but still not a 4* hotel experience.

I think this is my overall problem. On the face of it the hotel has been high end. It looks a bit tired and poorly kept (mum had a hole in the headboard where her bedside table once was the lamp was loosing its grip on the wall and mould on the shower curtain). The details you expect of 4* just weren't there (hideous plastic flowers, there wasn't a bit of glass without finger marks on it, or a hair dryer with a cable long enough to see into the mirror etc).

On the plus side the staff were really helpful and friendly. Smiling and willing to help at all times. The room smelled fresh when we came in. It is easily accessible to the tube and town.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank saraboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Let's start with the poor: Check In From 3pm, arrived at 3pm and reception said your rooms are not ready. 3pm is a little later than some hotels offer check in services anyway and to be told that the rooms are still not ready was disappointing.

The Good: Staff, very helpful, Food: Buffet £23 option was an assortment of starters (lots of ocean dishes too), main courses including a carved option (gammon on our evening - which was cooked beautifully) and desserts including help yourself cheese 'n biscuits .... I was very impressed with the buffet option, presentation was wonderful and also salad selection and choice was great ... I would recommend this.

Rooms have A/C with a medium sized TV and general Freeview.

Car Parking is £5 - which is great value as checked in on the Saturday and returned from Wimbledon on the Sunday evening rather late for a fiver...

Overall: I'd happily stay again and have no problems recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Steve1202

Thanks for leaving us a review here. So sorry that your room was not ready at 3pm when you arrived, I can assure you that this was a very rare occasion.

Even though 3pm is our check-in time, if guests arrives and we have rooms ready before 3pm, its absolutely no problem to check them in.

Your kind comments regarding the food and the staff will be passed on and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Was a busy Saturday afternoon and they were in over their heads. Had a Cliff Richard event and a large party. Did not have adequate staff in reception so took 25 minutes to check in and enable the disabled parking. On arrival in room, overall it was clean and well decorated but only equipped with supplies for one instead of the booked two! Most weird! Breakfast was yummy but table cloth was dirty when sat down, as was the cutlery so had to seek replacements. One member of staff barked at us to leave, two minutes we would have been gone anyway but it was the way she said it. Overall an 'ok' experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hElly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear hEllyB357

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Firstly I would like to apologise for the things that did not go quite so well during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience was only an 'ok' one as we strive for excellence, however, we seemed to have come up short in some areas.

All your comments are noted and will be addressed. Its my hope that you will give us a chance in the near future to show the hospitality that we so pride ourselves in giving.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#10 of 24 in Croydon
1,264 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing