We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family and I booked this hotel on the notion that it was relatively close to a tube or train station; upon arriving from Germany very late on a Friday night to a station that was under construction, I called the hotel to obtain directions from the station as we were directed by the station workers toward the north side exits rather than the south side exits. The front desk staff couldn't provide directions when given the street names on the north end of the station. Needless to say, 4 very weary travelers (one of whom was 79 with a knee injury having great difficulty walking in the first place) were disgruntled to have a half mile trek to the hotel encumbered with luggage. On a more positive note, the A/C kicked butt! Room temp able to get down to a fabulous 61 degrees!!

Room Tip: try to stay in the "A" side rooms - wifi signal barely reaches inside the room door from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpawex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear dpawex

We are literally 3 mins walk from the station, but I can understand your frustration having arrived late and being shown to the wrong side of the station.


Now that you know exactly where we are I am sure on your next visit you will be fine to find us. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

There were 3 of us travelling to London for a break away. We were greeted by a friendly face at reception and nothing was too much trouble. We were delighted with our room on the 5th floor. It was spotless and there was the usual tea/coffee facilities and toiletries. every day the cleaner came in and refreshed the coffees/toiletries,bottle of water,made the beds and laid out our pj's.
It was an all you can eat buffet breakfast which was lovely. The pool was small but then its a hotel. There was a Jacuzzi,sauna,gym that was free to use. Only 2minute walk from Croydon station made it easy to get into the city. Would defineately go back again,cannot fault it one bit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear suzy618

Thanks for leaving us a review here. We are always delighted when our guest leave us having had a great time. We are looking forward to hosting you and your friend in the near future, and I am sure some more of your friends will want to come along with you when you tell them what a great time you had.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went to this hotel for 3 nights for the very first time.Ideal location for trams to Wimbledon and trains for London.Checking in was fast and got the room requested.Beds very comfortable,bottled water in room every room,air conditioning was a great plus.Shower in room a bit low for tall people but we managed.Ate in one night,did not want the buffet,found the menu very limited for healthy food,staff made me a very nice grilled salmon.We stayed on the 4th floor and found it nice and quiet.All staff very efficient and polite,also helpful when we asked for anything.Carpark £5 a day,very reasonable we thought.Yes as previous reviewers have mentioned there are some very tired looking areas,but that did not stop us from enjoying our stay.We will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Everton1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Everton1984

Thanks for leaving us a review here. We are so happy that you chose to share with the world your experience. Don't wait for Wimbledon to come back and see us.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sadly I had to cancel 7pm last minute the night of my stay due to unforeseen circumstance.
The hotel called me day after to advise they still will take 100% of charge.
While expected I was a little disappointed they did not offer some sort of discount or at least discount on another stay.

I will use the other hotels next time who have been more flexible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Why-not-go-for-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Todayisagoodday

We do have a very flexible cancellation policy, some reservations can be cancelled even on the day up to 2pm depending on how they are made.

On that day in particular we were running full occupancy, so you can understand why we would be unable to wave the charge.

The next time you wish to make a booking please call or email me directly.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For the second year running Kidcare international had their annual fund raising black tie event here. Although we had all pre ordered our choice of meal many of the tables did not have any vegetables and apparently one of the main dishes was missing.
However it is always good to see when the management exercise their right to reply to reviews.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ibanda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear ibanda_10

Thanks for leaving us a review here.


I am sorry that your food items were missing. Your comments will certainly be passed to my colleagues in banqueting who was in charge of your function, as we do not take this lightly.

We are looking forward to hosting Kidcare international next year.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I went to this hotel in East Croydon for 4 nights from Thursday to Monday 9th June and after reading previous reviews I was not really impressed but as I had a business seminar and a 3 day course in the hotel I thought this would be the best bet rather than travelling about London.

Check In was fast and got the desired room but I am afraid I just don't understand where it get's it 4 star rating from. Went to many a hotel I would classify this as 1/2 star at bare minimum but aside from that the hotel is rubbish and staff is rude no service at all.

The business seminar was a learning course and the hotel could not even organize a quite room as always course starting late due to hotel problems. Room Service rubbish asked for water wanted £4.00 and then asked @ reception for standard bottle water to be delivered never sent on not 1 occasion but on all 4 nights of stay. USELESS AND ROOM SERVICE NEVER ANSWERED THERE CALLS.

3rd Night wallet stolen from main lounge. Was using laptop and wallet was on the desk and when 5 minutes later looking no wallet. Reported the matter and even told them I have a feeling that the kids running about have stole it. The manager checked CCTV saying my business colleagues have stole the wallet. DISGUSTING WHY WOULD MY BUSINESS COLLEAGUES STEAL WALLETS. 2 hours later wallet found in toilets with CASH, CARDS & VERY PRECIOUS AND SENTIMENTAL THINGS STOLEN,

The stupid manager was more interested in getting the funds for the nights paid rather than finding the wallet CCTV shows nothing. Wallet stolen in an open lounge and dumped inside toilets and they can't tell

OVERALL THE WORST EVER EXPERIENCE IN A HOTEL IN MY LIFE. THOUGHT THIS IS A BUSINESS HOTEL, STAFF IS RUDE WHEN TELLING HER MY WALLET IS LOST AND I NEED IT SHE TELLS MANAGER "TAKE HIM AWAY FROM ME". STUPID, ARROGANT MANAGERS AND NO ACTION TAKEN.

**I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR BUSINESS OR PERSONAL IT'S SHOCKING!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haroon-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Haroon-Ali

Having read your review thoroughly, I would like to say that I am very sorry to see that you would not consider staying with us again.

In your review you questioned how we are given our 4 start rating, I can assure you that we go through a very rigorous process in order to obtain and maintain that rating.

I am sure that the organisers of your seminar would have checked out the hotel and the room that was assigned for the seminar would have been deemed appropriate to accommodate the seminar.

I am sorry that your wallet that was left unattended was stolen in our hotel lobby and I am sure the manager on duty would have done all that was possible to try and recover your wallet, even though upon finding it the items were missing. However, calling him stupid is not by any means acceptable as it really was not a fault of the hotel.

All service issues that you have outlined will be addressed accordingly, as it is of utmost importance to us that all our guest leave us having had a great stay.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Located about 15 mins walk from the town centre, the Croydon Park offers reasonable value for money, but there are some things that really need working on.

Firstly the positives. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable and huge (two singles pushed together) and the wifi free. My room was old fashioned, but that isn't necessarily a negative. And £5 for overnight parking is good value. Everything you would expect from a hotel is there and everything works. So why only 3 stars?

As noted by a previous guest, the rooms don't feel fresh. On the surface, everything is clean, but it has that background smell as if 20+ years of hard use are being covered up by a daily polish. Worse still are the corridors (at least on the first floor). Again as noted by the same reviewer, it smells as if there's been a smoking party in the corridor and that lingering "dirty smell" is clearly evident.

I was however still going to be generous and give the hotel 4 stars until I went for breakfast. At £10, this is cheap for a full English in a hotel, but based on the food, this is still too much. The fried potato's were possibly the worst tasting things I have ever eaten and everything else (eggs, mushrooms, beans) tasted cheap (and tasteless). It makes me wonder why people in the kitchen, who presumably have some sort of catering qualification, produce food of the quality.

So would I stay here again. The answer is probably yes. But I'd try and get a refurbished room and not bother with breakfast. I'm sure I'd then give at least 4 stars.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyHolidayTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear FamilyHolidayTaker

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your points have been noted and will be addressed accordingly. Its our hope that you will come back to us in the near future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,224 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: £54 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing