We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - New - Wonderful - more like a Hilton stay at Hampton prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent - New - Wonderful - more like a Hilton stay at Hampton prices”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Can't say enough good things - don't miss this stay. We avoided the extra costs, taxes, staying in expensive London. 20 min train ride to London. 3 long blocks to walk from train station. Doable. We did. Great shopping very close to hotel. Staff just wonderful. Even had a beer at this Hampton's lounge. Yes nice. Breakfast was great. So a bit out of London but you learn train system well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    432
    182
    65
    38
See reviews for
252
323
101
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Took my mother away to London for couple of days. When arrived at the hotel staff had no record if booking so had to wait over half an hour whilst it was confirmed i had indeed booked. We then got our room keys with no explanation of how to use lift, thankfully kind guest stepped in to help! Room very small but clean, however bathroom door would not close although we did not use closet. Breakfast was average. Anything my mother asked if staff was met with eye rolling, which was very disappointing as visit was a gift for her. All in all disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter87526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlady, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Modern (maybe less than a year) old - well decorated, clean and good value and around the corner from the East Croydon station. Would have given 5 stars but service is not quite there in terms of speediness and knowledge of the area. Nice place to stay on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarulare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 11month old son. The room was clean, modern & safe for the baby. The cot provided was brand new with lovely bedding. Breakfast was great, good variety & selection. The staff were with the baby we would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel was conveniently located near the East Croydon station (even closer than Google Maps suggested!!) and within easy journey to London. Everything seemed newly refurbished and the room was nice and comfortable. We were up on the top floor and had great views! The bathroom was laid out awkwardly, a bit difficult for two people to use at the same time and awkward to lean over the sink easily as it was set back in the wall unit, but this is just me being picky!
The complimentary breakfast was great, not a huge amount of choice but everything was nice. Overall a really great stay, and all the staff were very friendly!

Room Tip: We had great views from the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greentrees09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

All in all and excellent hotel for the money. Clean although small rooms, nice friendly staff. No real complaints, not far from the railway so you can pretty much get anywhere in 20 minutes. Overall a nice experience. I suggest making sure you have eaten as options are pretty slim near the hotel. The breakfast is great and available early on. The internet was free which is a nice plus for such a cheap rate. You really do get a lot for your money here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewesh S, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay, but there were elements of service that did not meet with your expectations. The hotel takes security and safety of our guest, team members and hotel extremely serious and will address your concerns. Please note that this was an isolated incident and as a responsible business promoting safer Croydon, the hotel was helping government officials investigate a incident that took place in the local area.

We most certainly apologize for any inconvenience that you did experience during your stay and hope that you return to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Dewesh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maassluis, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Very good hotel for a nice price. Location is perfect. 20mins away by train towards london bridge and victoria station. Clean and proper rooms. great breakfast just what you need. Luton airport is one hour by train and Gatwick is 20mins by train. The trainstation is a 5 minute walk.
Good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
#3 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing