We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comfy”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Interesting place. When I first arrived here on a Sunday afternoon, I wasn't very sure of the place I arrived at. I was staying in Central London and had to shift here for a week. Quite a contrast from Central London in terms of the surroundings, quite deserted actually. However, once you are inside the hotel it is quite comfortable. Good staff, good breakfast, good rooms (though they are quite small). Also just 2 mins from East Croydon train station with good connections into London.
Yeah - the Wi-Fi is a bit unstable.
But I stayed here for a week, and I quite liked it in the end as I had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thought_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    414
    169
    65
    38
See reviews for
240
303
97
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my family as part of a relocation. The hotel is good quality with nice staff. It is clearly targeting a business traveller audience. The room was clean and proper, but somewhat small for us with a baby cot. Breakfast was canteen style but decent. We had room service at one occasion which also was above expectation for the price.
Overall the price was very competitive for what was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S, Director of Sales at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

We are glad you had a lovely stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at our delightful hotel .

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I have started booking this when in South London on business and flying into Gatwick. Good rates Hilton quality and close enough to London to call it a London hotel. Mostly business but often at a fraction of central London prices it is worth considering if sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The receptionist went out of her way to organize a taxi for me for early on the Sunday morning and when it was not there on the hour it was booked for, she was on the telephone to the cab company without having to be asked. Very efficient and friendly young lady!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 327angelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel. It is located very near to East Croydon station, and is worth considering even if visiting central London (only 20 minutes to Victoria). I would highly recommend it. Breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised - - room decor was modern and the room and bed very comfortable. Parking in NCP over the road at a 50% discount which is nice and convenient. Breakfast buffet was OK - reasonable choice but not really that tasty. I'd stay again which probably says it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Modern and clean hotel with excellent communications to central London. The room was quite small, but perfectly adequate. Quiet surroundings, and I could even sleep with the window open. Well-planned bathroom and nice lobby-bar. Breakfast is standard Hampton, giving an excellent value for money. The service level could improve, but that is a fact for most London hotels ! As other reviewers have mentioned, it is very close to East Croydon station, and even though I visited during the recent tube-strike, I had no problem getting to central London in less than 20 minutes. The most negative part is the slow wifi, and I could not even download my emails. Might seem like a minor issue, but if You have planned to work in the evening, it affects You a lot. The surrounding area is not very nice, even though I felt safe walking around. Limited dining options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 23 in Croydon
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 23 in Croydon
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
#3 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing