We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does the Business”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This modern hotel is in the centre of East Croydon and its nearness to the Whiftgift Centre, main railway station, theatre and major company offices means that it "does the business" for its main type of customer - the business traveller. I was staying two nights for a mixture of business and meeting friends.

Rooms have recently been refurbished and are pleasant and spotlessly clean - even a smell of fresh paint and new carpets. I was allocated an extra bed (not actually required) but this comes at the price of there being no easy chairs to watch TV from, only a hard desk chair, and there was no rack to put suitcases on. Pillows were also rather meagre. There is Wifi connection at extra cost, but no internet area supplied with computers downstairs. There was very little noise from adjoining rooms, though the air-con is quite loud and its best to turn it off before retiring.

Staff are no-nonsense friendly and efficient - strong Irish influence everywhere! - and check in and check out were easily accomplished, though no porterage apparent. Although there are three lifts, the fact that accommodation is spread over 12 floors means there is a delay at busy times.

Guest facilities, though well-presented, are perhaps somewhat restricted in extent for a hotel with this number of rooms. There are sofas by the main entrance but no quiet area to lounge in. The bar (which also serves food) has a pleasant ambience but is rather cramped (and dominated by TV football) and the restuarant has a cafeteria feel to it. Breakfast is a bit of a trial in that tables are not made up so everything has to be collected from the serving area where a line often forms. While the food choice and quality is good, the cramped servery area makes filling up your tray a bit of a scrum. It would be much better to have a separate area to collect drinks, cutlery and bread rather than have a single queue. Tables are cleared at lightning speed (my newspaper was whisked away while I went back for my main course!) so there is no difficulty about finding a seat, but this is not the sort of place you want to linger in very long.

There is no car park but the nearby NCP changes only £5 per day (the same as now charged by nearby Croydon Park Hotel which however has its own underground area.)

The offering, then is definitely no-frills three star but on the other hand the hotel is doing its job well and dealing with a lot of guests efficiently and in decent surroundings. As the rooms are now above-average and all the corridors/common parts nicely decorated I would give Jurys 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: best to use guest facilities other than at peak hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    689
    260
    83
    54
See reviews for
414
393
169
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here by accident earlier in the year after our original choice had been flooded! The hotel was very pleasant, clean, well presented with exceptional staff. Given the choice, I would not stay here but that is purely for the reason that it is a fair distance from East Croydon train station, we stay in Croydon because of the transport link into London Victoria.
The hotel is well placed for the town center so Ideal for business people and visitors to Croydon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have stayed in a Jurys Inn before and had a very positive visitor experience. This time was not to be the case.

FRIDAY
The staff had trouble directing us to the hotel as it is not on Wellesley Road, as stated on the website, it is on Lansdowne Road, a road you cannot enter from Wellesley Road.

We had severe parking problems (the hotel doesn't have a car park and has agreed reduced rates with an NCP on the other side of a dual carriageway (Wellesley Road) meaning you had to travel the entire length to the roundabout at the end in order to get 'across the road'. There are 2 NCP car parks 'across the road' and the one Jurys Inn have a deal with is not the first one you come to. The staff should have pointed this out to people who are not from Croydon, y'know, the one's most likely to be staying in their hotel. The reception staff also told us a) the car park has an overnight rate of £5 and b) a weekend rate of £3.50 on Saturday and Sunday.

When we parked we noticed there were signs on the ticket machines stating the 'weekend rate' no longer applies and weekday rates were in effect 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; the overnight rate had also been taped over on all ticket machines. We mentioned this to the reception staff on our first night who told us that NCP hadn't mentioned this to them.

I won't get into the debacle over extra bed linen - for the second bed.

Oh yes, and when we checked in we were told rather excitedly that the room had just been refurbished. Well they forgot to refurbish the bathroom is all I can say. As someone who has stayed in a lot of hotels, I know what brand new, refurbished and nothing done in a while looks like.

SATURDAY
On Friday night, based on the inadequate information received, we parked in the wrong car park and paid £16.20 on Saturday morning. We explained what had happened to the reception staff who said they would tell the deputy manager who would be on duty that evening.

On Saturday night we parked in the correct car park. The same signs were up on the ticket machines and I took some pictures to show the staff who couldn't be bothered to send someone over to investigate - probably because it was a long haul to get 'across the road'.

SUNDAY
On Sunday morning we were charged full rate again at the NCP car park. This was the day we were checking out. At reception I explained everything that had happened, showed her the pictures and said that we were not happy with paying £28 in parking fees when we could have gone to a local hotel which was slightly more expensive but had it's own car park. The deputy manager rather than accepting it was a customers right to be unhappy with poor service, misinformation and extra expenses, decided to get angry and have a heated debate with me in her reception area. I am not one for having public altercations but in this case, I was so disappointed that no customer service skills were being employed I was determined to stay the course and I was particularly intrigued to see how far she would take this unprofessional and unsupportive behaviour in full glare of other customers. I said repeatedly that I was shocked at the lack of support she was showing to a customer, telling us firstly that there was no way she could refund us and that we should take it up with NCP. After demanding the lack of communication between them and their service providers had nothing to do with us she agreed to ring them. Upon overhearing a conversation between my friend and I about the consequence of her behaviour in our professions, she began to calm down, offered a refund and apologised for her manner. This was never about the money (in fact I had to correct her that she was offering too much for the refund). It really should never have gotten this far. There's too much at stake for Front of House staff to be putting your income at risk. I will never stay there again and will advise anyone who is planning to stay in Croydon to go to the Croydon Park Hotel.

On their website Jurys Inn state "At Jurys Inns we believe that Staff can provide a first class service to guests ...................................... If staff are happy in their work then the guest experience will inevitably be more positive."

From my last experience, while they believe it, they better make sure it happens.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipHotelier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We come here every year in November for a weekend. Standards have varied over the years. Our request to change rooms was dealt with pleasantly and after a false start with a key that didnt work we were given a large refurbished room; much nicer than they used to be and no complaints about the room at all. We ate once in the restaurant which was fine and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful, as were the receptionists, however when we went to the bar on Saturday there was no-one there to serve us and after 5 minutes waiting we gave up. Breakfast was better than in previous years, and enough choice, but maybe try and keep the eggs runny, as over the weekend all ours were hard, and for me a runny egg can make or break a breakfast! Overall though a nicer stay than in previous years and good to see the hotel rooms being upgraded.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsTeeSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a hotel that is looking very tired and in need of updating. Also the Jurys Inn Website claims you wont get a cheaper price anywhere. £98 for a double room with no breakfast becomes £88 with breakfast on Travel Republic!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kindy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Hotel is clean. My room and the 11th floor at least, has been newly decorated as you can smell the paint. The bathroom is a bit of a let down as they appear to have just left old, worn things in there, which is in complete contrast to the bedroom.

The location was good for my business purposes and the service was fine. All in all a good hotel but nothing that stands out.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here for business and very tired when arrived. Was quite happy to be on 10th floor as potentially less noise - how so wrong. Got into room and for an hour there was hammering from room above (some repairs apparently). Then to add to that there were toilet flush problems with constant noise all the time I was there. Left the same night and won't be going back. Should have stayed at Travelodge down road

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StressFreeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Croydon

Property: Jurys Inn London Croydon
Address: 26 Wellesley Road | South London, Croydon CR0 9XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Croydon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Croydon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn London Croydon offers a convenient London location outside of busy central London yet with easy access to London Victoria via the 17 minute train ride from East Croydon Station, which is a short 7 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is also a convenient 20 minute journey from Gatwick Airport for those arriving by plane. Guests wishing to explore Croydon's attractions will be pleased to know that The Whitgift Shopping centre is just over the road and around the corner from new urban shopping complex Boxpark. The Queen's Gardens are an easy 6 minute walk and Shirley Park Golf Course is a 7 minute drive away from the hotel. Jurys Inn London Croydon features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is advised in the Whitgift Centre NCP car park and enjoy a discounted rate of just £6 for 24 hours (validate parking ticket at reception before check out). Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to London Croydon at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Croydon Hotel Croydon
Jurys Hotel Croydon
Croydon Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing