We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charging for wifi when there's mould in the bathroom?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charging for wifi when there's mould in the bathroom?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Was really looking forward to staying here but feel really let down. The receptionist looked & behaved like she was working under protest, the bar is wedged into a corner of the foyer & completely characterless, there is black mould in the shower & no free wifi anywhere in the hotel! Charging £10 a day for a utility like wifi is completely self defeating. Why not charge for other utilities like water & electricity while they're at it? After a very early start (4am) to get my flight to London & a long day I was going to eat in the hotel & check emails etc but decided to go to a great Indian Restaurant nearby called Khyber (thanks Trip Advisor!) where I spent £35 on excellent food & a couple of beers & made full use of there fee wifi :-)

Jurys Inn's loss is Khyber's gain! People don't like being hijacked for internet access Jurys Inn, you might as well be charging extra for toilet paper.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenEadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    656
    247
    77
    48
See reviews for
385
374
163
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

No disaster but nothing special. Clean. Bed OK but standard queen size. Good location between east and west croydon stations, 5-10m walk to either and quick hop into london. My room at the back was quiet, but adapted for disabled use. I've no problem with the extra rails etc, but far more could be done to avoid the 'hospital look'. Shower head, half broken with a taped-up repair, not great. My perception of this brand is better than the reality here, but for the money paid and location, it could easily have been worse.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing special
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here on Business in April 2012. I wasn't looking forward to it as I have not found Croydon to be an especially great area, but it was convenient for my purposes (visiting the Home Office, virtually next door).

Reception staff were great, immediately attended to me in a friendly, polite manner. I had Room 507, which looked onto a side street, it was extremely spacious and very clean. Beds were comfy and good blackout curtains.

I wandered over to the shopping centre across the road, which is connected by subway just outside the hotel. Again, very convenient.

Breakfast was fine and checkout very quick and smooth.

In fact my only complaint was that the Costa Coffee in the lobby had no whipped cream for my hot chocolate! So a pretty great overnight stay.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone wishing to visit central London as it is not convenient for that purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badskindollheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

After reading all the not so good reviews for the hotel i decided to write a good one.

The hotel and location are excellent and only 5 mins walk from the station. The reception staff were so polite and very helpful. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was on the 12th floor and was excellent. Very spacious and clean with a great big bed. The room was furnished to a high standard and was very modern.

I would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenbeavis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Croydon is a bustling town. There are cars, buses and trams, lorries and fire engines. There are people commuting, people shopping and people getting in and out of the cars, buses and trams (but not lorries or fire engines!) Although it faces a main thoroughfare, when you step inside the Jury's Inn you step into a well ordered environment. We found our room to be clean, peaceful and well maintained. The breakfast was tasty, of good quality and regularly replenished. This isn't a holiday hotel, so the view out of the window isn't much; however you are on the doorstep of the Whitgift Centre (arguably the best shopping in the South East outside London). The train will take you to London or the coast within a short space of time. For business or when visiting friends this hotel is good value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I'm still not sure what to think of my stay. I booked an executive room for a few nights. To start, there was no heating in my room; the room was freezing cold, especially at night. When I asked at the reception, they said it was fine and that I should give the heating time (15 minutes or so to warm up the room), but because I was out most of the day, by the the time I got back to my room I was always very tired and didn't pay attention to the whole thing. That was really disappointing as I paid for an executive room! Also the friendliness of the reception desk staff seemed to fluctuate which was rather weird. It was rather noisy at night, not from outside the hotel, but other guests that is. There were a couple of other incidents that also left me puzzled.

Also their breakfast could definitely improve: very limited choices and not enough tables for guests. The English breakfast was oily and a bit tasteless. The continental breakfast was disappointing, and the coffee wasn't that good either.

The location is good though, opposite Whitgift Shopping Centre and near the Home Office.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mira_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at the Jurys Inn with my family over Christmas. We found everything to be in good working order. The friendliness of front office staff seemed to vary quite a bit, but otherwise there were no complaints. I thought the breakfast was decent, and well worth including. Good for business travellers accessing the UK through Gatwick. There are definitely nicer places in England than Croydon, but London Victoria is only 15 min by train.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 23 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 23 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Croydon

Property: Jurys Inn London Croydon
Address: 26 Wellesley Road | South London, Croydon CR0 9XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Croydon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn London Croydon offers a convenient London location outside of busy central London yet with easy access to London Victoria via the 17 minute train ride from East Croydon Station, which is a short 7 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is also a convenient 20 minute journey from Gatwick Airport for those arriving by plane. Guests wishing to explore Croydon's attractions will be pleased to know that The Whitgift Shopping centre is just over the road and around the corner from new urban shopping complex Boxpark. The Queen's Gardens are an easy 6 minute walk and Shirley Park Golf Course is a 7 minute drive away from the hotel. Jurys Inn London Croydon features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is advised in the Whitgift Centre NCP car park and enjoy a discounted rate of just £6 for 24 hours (validate parking ticket at reception before check out). Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to London Croydon at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Croydon Hotel Croydon
Jurys Hotel Croydon
Croydon Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing