We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reviews dont lie! AVOID at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Selsdon Estate
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
ringmer
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The reviews dont lie! AVOID at all costs”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

When my golf society told me they had booked us for a 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast deal here, I thought...wow what a cracking deal. I remebered this hotel from pre-FA Cup final reports on BBC etc with one of the teams strolling around the grounds before getting on the coach to Wembley. The website also showed this wonderful building with lovely grounds and gave it a real 'wow' factor. When we turned up the West Ham team were leaving to play Crystal Palace and I thought this is going to be good. Well my illusion was 'destroyed' by the end of the first evening. Believe the reviews - this place is utter rubbish and clearly unless you are a Premier league footballer or have booked your £10k wedding there they do not give a monkeys about you.

Here are the highlights (only one positive!)

Golf Course - a challenge but great for our competition. Really good of them to let us out with buggies on a dreadful weather day on Monday

Golf Course - NO RANGE BALLS for Sunday...apparently not enough staff to collect them on Saturday night

Rooms - We were put down on what I would call G Wing. No not a prison block (well maybe) but clearly where they put all the golf weekenders. Rooms dated, old furniture, dodgy window sills, powerless showers (either scolding or cold), bathrooms need total revamp. Cheap feel (had I come here and got these rooms for a weekend with wife I would have been furious)

Fire Alarm - Appreciate you cant stop a fire alarm but to see no one in Fire Marshall outfit, nor staff appearing to help guests when gathering I think Health and Safety Executive would have a field day. When we went back to our rooms after Fire Brigade gave all clear there were still people coming out of rooms?? Surely they should be checking.

Bar - appeared to be one bar that was trying to do drinks for everything and everyone with limited staff (clearly trying to do things on cheap labour cost) - very expensive £4 for a tepid coffee! Get yoursefl down the lcoal Wetherspoons as so as you can

Food - we were put with other society and other guests squashed into room at far end of hotel. Now my food was just about ok but 10 of our party had cold vegatables and mash (looked like and tasted like snow) and two chickens were pink! Were given free round of drinks to compensate. Other party members also viewed some of the 'food handling' in the kitchen - I did not see so cannot comment but would suggest you read other reviews about this. We were seated at 8pm and did not finish until 1030pm. Other guest complaining as well. Breakfast was almost as bad with no organisation, struggle to get coffee, queues galore, lack of staff, cold bacon, cold scrambled eggs and tepid baked beans. Food on 2nd night was better but again took 2 and half hours to complete.

No General manager on duty all weekend neither did they seem to be anyone wanting to handle our organisers complaints.

Felt sorry for the staff as clearly there was not enough to handle 4 weddings on Saturday and looked like same Sunday. If you are going to do these events MAKE SURE YOU ARE FULLY STAFFED TO COPE.

The group running this hotel needs to take a long hard look at itself. It is not cheap to stay there but clearly they want to do things on the cheap. Sooooo disappointing and all my illusions destroyed.

Room Tip: Avoid anything that starts with a G
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golfmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    511
    506
    402
    406
See reviews for
344
727
64
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hever
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've stayed in the Selsdon Park a good few times over the past few years and sad t say its just going further and further downhill, the place feels tired and unloved, there is little obvious investment in the building itself, the room we were showed to had an electrical fitting hanging off the wall, the headboard fell off the wall on its own and there were loose tiles in the bathroom, the staff moved us to a better room, via corridors with threadbare carpet. the second room was much better but still very tired with ill fitting windows and old worn carpet. room service took ages and they brought completely the wrong order then returned with the correct item and the now cold fries from the original order. not at all how things used to be when this was really quite a fine hotel. they seem to have fallen into the trap of offering cheaper prices to gain occupancy but therefore nto making much money and thus having nothing in the pot to invest.. Shame

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatnorthswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I booked Selsdon through Amazon Local, £99 for one night, dinner, breakfast and late checkout.
Seemed like a good deal, wish I had looked at the reviews on here first! It was our first break away in a year!!

We got to the hotel at around 3.45pm and there was a que at reception, this you expect on a bank holiday weekend, there were loads of people going through reception, and it was obvious there were some functions going on.
We were served by a nice polite lady, she explained everything well although the first time available to book for dinner was 9pm, I got the impression all the Amazon bookings were pushed into the later less desirable time slot. We made our way to our room.... This is where it started to go wrong!! We walked in to what I can only describe as 1989. The room was very dated, and the tv..... Was an old type with a huge back on it and buttons on the front!! You would expect a flat screen tv, and...... Only channels 1-5... It was really confusing too as to how you worked the films in demand too. (These you pay extra for and you have to ask reception to turn them on!)
The tap in the bathroom you had to turn about 20 times before any water would come out and the shower rail was coming out of the ceiling. We were in room 301, it seemed as though if you had booked through Amazon you got the worst rooms.
The bed however was king size and comfy, the room was very tight too, not much room to get around the bed or out the door.
We went for a walk around the hotel but were instantly lost and confused, the weddings going in were spilling out into corridors and bars, at one point we had to walk through a wedding party in full swing to get to reception!! It felt like we were intruding! This happened a few times.
We went down for dinner at 9 pm. The resteraunt was clearly being used for a wedding so we were sent to a room with tables in it, no one working in the room seemed to have a clue what was going on, the tables had no numbers, it was as though they had been asked to run it as a resteraunt but hadn't been told what they had to do!!
Everyone was getting bread to their tables but ours didn't arrive till we had almost finished our starter, soup. We ordered a coke each, they came and were flat, we sent them back for replacements, which were flat also, we sent them back too and went with the water.
Soup was nice, for main I had the Chicken with rosti I potatoes and veg, it was awful, rosti was disgusting and raw, chicken was so dry.
My husband had the salmon and said it was ok but really small.
I then had the cheese board which was laughable, rubbery cheddar, and the tiniest triangle of Brie and blue cheese. There were about 5 crackers.... One of them was a ritz biscuit. :-/
Desert didn't come until 10.45.
We went to reception to ask if they could turn on the movies in our room so we could pay for a film, we were informed that it was not working...
The next morning we were not in the best spirits, wedding disco went on till around mid night and it was banging, and when we saw the que for breakfast we didn't even bother and left.

Although I thought £99 was a good deal I feel like I've wasted nearly £100. Nothing we got was worth the money and I'm looking for a refund.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked two rooms and upgraded one to a superior one. Superior!!! It was in an awful state. There were large holes in the dirty looking carpet. Cracked tiles on the bathroom floor. The television was ancient and no batteries in the remote. The pillows were hard and the quilt was very old and had hardly any stuffing in.
The standard room which they couldn't get into until 5.30 and was over the other side of the hotel had a radiator that must have been leaking for ages making the carpet smell and stained. The bedside lights were over the other side of the room. An old table obviously re placed a bedside table. The best thing about this room was a modern tele!

At breakfast they obviously hadn't put enough tables out as the queue was very long and took ages to clear. It was self service and poor quality food. Even had to get our own tea and coffee out of pots that were either stewed or empty. Priority as given to the wedding parties at the expense of other guests making us feel that we weren't important.
The drinks in the bar are expensive and it's not cheap to stay there. Not value for money in fact a waste of money.

We have stayed in this hotel quite a few times but certainly won't be going there again. It's certainly gone downhill.

Room Tip: Sorry none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wow, i really cant explain it, arrived to find we had been double booked, even though i had phoned on Wednesday and i was even told my room number. Was told " oh we always over book cos people dont turn up ". We were left sitting on the terrace from 9 a.m to 17.30...to appear in wedding photos and videos. feeling like the "poor relations". sent to another hotel.

Arrived back at Selsdon park at 10.30 and sat on terrace again, through 2 more weddings, more pics and videos and finally got our room at 15.40 but friends were hanging around until 18.00 for their room...

Faulty towers is nothing compared to this disgrace of a so called "Luxury Hotel" absolutely bloody disgusting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

this hotel should come with a warning DONT COME HERE we booked & payed for 9 rooms in feb.for 22nd aug/24th aug on the 21st we received an email to say they had over booked we had to stay at the Hilton in Croydon did not get taken to Hilton until 6 not happy but hotel & staff were brill. back to selsdon on Saturday still no rooms golfers went to play golf women sat for second day no apology no refreshments nothing we saw 4 weddings 2 parties & westham football team come & go we still had no rooms approx. 5 we get to speak to manager that's just a title empty promises again at 6 we get dirty rooms to tired to complain dinner pie & mash sausage & mash or chicken all cold or not cooked. there is no customer service here I would never recomed for any stay. this hotel needs to be shut down cleaned revamped staff & manager training,also health & hygein & food safety need a spot check NOW.

Room Tip: don't chose any room you wont get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we make every effort to resolve any issue that is brought to our attention prior to our guests departure. We also have a Quality Wins which meet regularly to review our guests feedback and please be assured that your comments will be noted and reviewed by them to identify any training or improvements we may implement to enhance our guests experience. We do hope you will return in the future to experience any changes we make.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As wedding guests we stayed one night at the hotel, on arrival, (to early for our rooms) we used the leisure facilities, the gym is quite small but good equipment and a nice quiet atmosphere. The swimming pool was lovely however the room is very warm, the jacuzzi was lovely too, all nice and peaceful.

Food/drink is very expensive for what it is! 2 cups of coffee and a pot of tea came to £17! And our lunch was vey average, £9.50 for a toasted sandwich and wedges!

The room was very average but clean, very ancient tv but we weren't there to watch it so that wasn't a problem for us.

Staff were not very helpful and the hotel lacks lifts so you will be carrying your own bags up the flights of stairs unless you are lucky enough to get a ground floor room!

WAKE UP CALL was not pleasant, fire alarm went off at 7.15 and no effort was made for us to be safely escorted out of the building, staff were using it as a cigarette break!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Megan. Thank you for your comments and taking the time to review Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that upon arriving at the hotel early you were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities which you enjoyed. Naturally I am disappointed that you felt the cost of beverages and food was high, and I assure you that this is inline with similar establishments in the vacinty to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club and is reviewed regularly. In relation to being woken by the fire alarm please be assured that the safety of our guests and staff is of paramount importance to us at all times, and that we strictly adhere to fire regulation procedures each time the alarm sounds. Nonetheless, I fully appreciate that this disturbed your morning and I would like to thank you for your co-operation throughout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croydon
2.7 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
3.1 mi away
Coulsdon Manor & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Selsdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Selsdon Estate

Property: De Vere Selsdon Estate
Address: 126 Addington Road, Croydon CR2 8YA, England (Formerly Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Selsdon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Et in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, De Vere Selsdon Estate is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your De Vere Selsdon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon
De Vere Selsdon Estate Croydon, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing