We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What excellent Service and Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McDermott's

McDermott's
Ranked #1 of 458 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What excellent Service and Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have visited this restaurant frequently and the welcome, the service and the quality of the food are maintained at the highest standards. Best F&C ever.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c_wicks234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    58
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great fish n chips, one of the best i've had. Not cheap, but you're paying for quality. Great service, really nice people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greetings from Thunder Bay Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We come to London a couple times of year to visit family. We always come here for a hug and a kiss from Lucy. The best fresh fish and the mushy peas aren't too bad either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakob1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The fish is consistently fresh, beautifully cooked with portions that offer great value for money. The service is always extremely welcoming no matter how busy they are. The serving staff are delightful and go out of their way to please. My wife and I go regularly and would recommend it to anyone seeking a great meal in a happy and well managed environment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Cleveland
Level Contributor
325 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Expensive, good fish and chips, had a service error”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I arrived in England and the first thing I did was go to this place. They accept credit cards and I didn't have any cash and wasn't planning on getting any in England at any time. The fish here is good. It tastes fresh and has a great batter. That being said, a regular order of fish and chips is £12.80 which is pretty expensive, especially in USD. Also, mushy peas, which normally come with a fish and chips meal, are an additional 85 pence. We ordered our meals and enjoyed them. I would personally add salt to your mushy peas because they don't season them. I try to pay and they say the credit card machine is broken. They ask if I would be willing to use an ATM that is next door and retrieve cash from it to pay for my meal. I walk over there and the ATM is down. We walk back into the restaurant and tell them it is down. Instead of offering to comp our meals because of their credit card issue, they suggest we walk down the street to a gas station and use the ATM there. I probably should have just walked out and never returned, but I did that. So I had to incur the fees of using an international ATM and walk down the street to get cash. Not a great service experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevelandBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDermott's also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to McDermott's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing