We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Brilliant”
Review of Thanh's Bistro

Thanh's Bistro
Ranked #10 of 473 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Matlock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Brilliant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

You have try this place. On business regular in Croydon and never come across this until searched via various internet searches. Found this gem. The reviews took me and colleagues there and was not disappointed.

It's a take your own bottle restaurant. So we did. Suggest popping into coop across the road.

The place, we walked past first, as it does not look much from the outside. Once inside, it was nicely decorated and was ok. Still at this point we were not 100% sure of what to expect and thought the reviews were all wrong. But we stuck it out.

Then, well, all I can say is it was brilliant. Food was fantastic and the young lady serving us was the best. Her attention to looking after us was great.

Going back every time now.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robandias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    29
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stretton-On-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tasty for sure”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a great little place with excellent and very different food. Sadly my visit was rather spoilt by some screeching show off female diners nearby and noise carries in a place this small. This is becoming a common complaint and no reflection on the restaurant. Do people have no manners anymore?.

Despite this we will be back and hope for more civilised co diners.

The food is reasonably priced and quite delicious and service top class. I had the Banh Xeo a crispy pancake with prawns and chicken and it was very nice indeed and my guest had a noodle dish and loved it . Try the green veg for a new taste!!

This is a bring your own drink place and corkage charge of £1 a head is cheap...not reasonable, but cheap. I think they should increase the charge it would be perfectly justifiable.

Plenty of parking in nearby streets, but this is not a nice area so take care.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baldbutsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“the friendliest restaurant...........ever”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

whenever we visit our son in Croydon we like to visit this restaurant, it is only at the end of his
road and after our first visit by which we were very impressed we come each time we visit.
On Saturday we visited the restaurant with our family and our new grandson who is only 9 days old,the waitress was so welcoming and attentive we took a bottle of champagne and we had a lovely time,the restaurant filled up very quickly and a lot of the customers were obviously regulars,the food of course was the standard we have always had here.......excellent we will difinately be returning....Thankyou very much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Its a very small place and feels like you're in someones living, but I think it really adds to the charm and atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and make you feel really welcome.

Its nice to have a nice little local restaurant who caters for vegetarians - veggies can even eat the prawn crackers (not actual prawn), which was a delightful surprise!

It's bring your own bottle which really adds to the great food and reasonable prices.

Word of advice: MUST BOOK IN ADVANCE

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4georgie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“taste”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have been struggling to find a good local restaurant, but luckily we stumbled upon this gem. We went on a Wednesday evening and the place was quiet but as its quite a small venue we weren't put off.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shital D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thanh's Bistro also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Thanh's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing