We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel during the busy christmas period with my boyfriend, we had a fantastic time!

The hotel itself was very spacious and clean and the facilities were modern. I was really surprised at the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff at the hotel, they greeted us when we arrived in the evening and wished us a merry christmas when we left. The breakfast was very tasty, such a variety of food which caters for all from cooked breakfast to fruit and yoghurts, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Blonde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    256
    64
    27
    12
See reviews for
327
246
70
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in this Premier Inn during the period 15th to the 18th December 2013 and were most impressed by the quality and standards. All the staff were most helpful particularly the lady who we fist met on our arrival who made us feel welcome and explained things to us but over the period of our stay all staff were most obliging.

We dined in the restaurant both for our breakfasts and evening meals and were very happy with the quality and quantity provided. We found that on the first evening the service at first was a little slow but not unduly so. However if one was dining with young children I could see the time between courses being very trying and tiring, fortunately the time taken between our courses only happened the once and for the rest of the time everything was fine.

Our room as one would expect in an establishment brand new as this one is, opened August 2013 was clean and bright and because we were on the third floor no traffic noise was heard to bother us.

The washing/bathing/showering facilities were excellent and were clean and presentable. Our towels were changed every day but need not have been had we so wished.

Our one moan with regards to this particular Premier Inn was the fact that apart from four disabled bays for Blue Badge holders there is no parking on site but is provided by the NCP car park some 7/12 minutes walk away which for my wife and I who are both in our seventies, but by no means poor walkers, found a strain with an heavy suitcase to carry, we have not yet progressed to one with wheels. We parked our car on the Sunday and did not move it until the Wednesday and even with the allowance from the premier Inn of 50% ? off parking charges this still came to £19-50 so if you stay any length of time and have a car this needs to be taken into consideration.

Based on the forgoing my wife and I would no hesitation in recommending this Inn to others

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Good value hotel right in the middle of Croydon, 3-5 minute walk to east Croydon train station, 20 minutes from Victoria. The rest of Croydon centre is easily within reach. Only down side was bar was shut when I returned to the hotel at 00.30.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is fairly new (opened in August 2013 ?) but is in an area that is obviously being regenerated, but that does not detract from the hotel as much has been completed. The hotel's webpage says that it has no car park, so most, like me, are likely to arrive by public transport. It is close to the busy East Croydon station (on the main line between London and Gatwick Airport and Brighton), which was easy to find from their directions, and just5 minutes away. However, I discovered what seems to be a new walkway to a second unmanned entrance with ticket machines and gates, which is a shorter walk from the hotel. It is close to the Whitgift Centre and main shopping area.

Reception and the in-house Thyme restaurant are on the first floor with units on the ground floor, at street level, still empty. Although there is an automated and online booking-in system, there was a receptionist on hand to book in manually. The hotel room (321) was quiet, clean and standard Premier Inn and being a new hotel, everything was in good order - although I did find the bed a bit firm.

The restaurant does not open until 6 for dinner, but when I arrived at that time, they were not ready to start seating people. On a busy pre-Christmas evening, the Maitre d' was also looking after tables, which meant order taking was slow, but once taken, the food arrived within a reasonable time, was well cooked and well presented. Breakfast was, again, standard Premier Inn fare, although like many other Thyme restaurants, hot food was kept under lamps on open display and not cooked to order For some unknown reason, the bacon was almost cold. Thesse are the reasons for a 4 and not 5 rating.

All the staff encountered during my stay were friendly and helpful.

However, all in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_S133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porcelain city
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The good - usual Premier Inn large rooms, clean, staff trying to be friendly and helpful, good value.
The bad. Restaurant can be a bit haphazard: four different waiters/waitresses the other night for the same table so no continuity or communication. Was offered sauces but waiter didn't return with any and was off doing something else. They later produced a second pint of lager I hadn't ordered. A couple of weeks ago I left without bothering with a dessert that was part of the deal because nobody ever came to take away my main course plate or offer a dessert menu. They are trying hard though a lot of what they come out with sounds unnaturally scripted or rote learning, but all credit for trying and for smiling.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank biliousfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and son and absolutely loved it here. It was quite a newly built hotel so the facilities were amazing. The only thing was that there was no parking at this hotel (there was parking at the NCP nearby) but apart from that, everything was really great...right from the cleanliness of the rooms, the great breakfast served and the absolutely excellent staff at this hotel. I will definitely stay here again in the future. Top marks!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Newish hotel so very clean. Food was good and location to shopping area was excellent as just a five minute walk away. Car pack across the road and discount provided if staying in the premier inn so was £6.50 for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Address: Phillips House 6 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR0 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minute train journey to Central London, this hotel is within walking distance of East Croydon Train Station. Whitgift shopping centre is also nearby. Our Croydon Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room, an on-site Thyme Restaurant and free Wi-Fi throughout your stay. Chargeable parking is available opposite the hotel - a 1.8 Metre height restriction applies (sat nav CR0 0XH). For vehicles with a max height of 2.03 Metres the nearest parking is 5 mins walk on London Road (sat nav CR0 2TA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing