We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service & very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, service & very clean”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Incredibly good value and right next door to East Croydon train station (take the home office/Whitgift shopping centre exit). Trains run into Central London all through the night and the journey takes just 15-20 mins (zone 5 Oyster card) into Victoria/London Bridge. Trains to Brighton and Gatwick too! Croydon itself leaves a lot to be desired but the hotel is faultless and being so close to the train station, is perfect to use as a base. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnybunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    253
    63
    26
    12
See reviews for
324
243
69
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel from many in the area because it was cheap and Premier Inn's good-night guarantee is worth the money.

The middle of Croydon seems to be a large scale building site (January 2014) and getting into the multi storey car park was seemingly impossible at 10pm on a Sunday night. Luckily NCP security came to offer help and gave me directions on how to get in!

The hotel is about 200 metres away and properly has secure card swipe locks to keep the public out of the bedroom areas. A really modern room lay out, very well decorated and equipped for a Premier Inn and well soundproofed.

Breakfast was quick and efficient, and by the large size and therefore busy-ness of the hotel, the staff were helpful but less friendly than other Premier inns.

Overall though a superb room, good food and a good sleep. Parking at £6.10 overnight for town centre seemed ok, and obviously security are watching what goes on.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJSaundersIFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
891 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

You know what you are getting but this new hotel is really quite smart especially if you get a good advanced rate. Rooms spotless and reasonably well equipped. Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
Less than two minutes walk from the new overbridge exit from East Croydon station so superbly sited for quick and easy access to Central London.
Well worth looking at.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Overall, a good stay. This is an average Premier Inn but by that I mean that it is a very good one. Check-in is easy and straight forward, all rooms are clean and tidy.

No parking on-site but there is an NCP very close by for £10 for 24 hours.

On-site restaurant is very good too. Thanks to Zoe and Thomasz and all the other staff for the wonderful service and food.

The nearby Croydon town centre and Whitgift Shopping Centre give you something to do.

I have stayed here before, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benidorm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After getting a great deal at the Hampton by Hilton in Croydon in the Summer, I decided to look at staying in Croydon again for New Year. It was a great base for visiting London, and a nice hotel is much more affordable than staying closer to the city. I found a £29 per night deal (inc New Year's Eve!) at the Premier Inn and I have to say, it compared very well to the Hampton. The hotel is situated off the main road coming out of the station, and the recently opened entrance to platforms means it is even closer if you don't need to buy a ticket, as it is literally just over the road from the hotel. East Croydon is in Zone 5 which is around £8.90 for a daily travel card, and trains were every 5 mins for the 15 minutes journey to Victoria.
The rooms were very spacious with heating/aircon units. The bed was super comfortable and my son said his single bed was good too. The rooms were cleaned each day with top ups of tea/coffee etc and all staff I met were very friendly....even allowing me to print off my boarding pass as I could only check in on New Year's Day.
I thoroughly recommend this Premier Inn and Croydon if you are wanting pleasant, modern facilities and excellent service...especially if you book early enough for the best deal!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shazzashazbot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've stayed at this Premier Inn a couple of times now. Every stay has been enjoyable and problem free.

The rooms themselves have many nice features - air conditioning, modern bathroom fittings, comfortable beds (so far!), spotlights on the ceiling (something I have never seen in a Premier Inn before - they are a huge improvement on the usual dull, circular ceiling lights), seemingly excellent sound insulation and superb cleanliness all round. Signal for mobiles is also consistently strong, which is useful if you wish to use your smartphone's mobile internet capabilities. (Wi-Fi is also available - it works fine and is £3/day which is very reasonable).

The staff are helpful and friendly, without being over the top (I find that in some hotels, but particularly restaurants, the staff can be a little 'too' friendly).

Croydon isn't the nicest part of London, but the hotel's location within Croydon is excellent. The recently opened footbridge at the rear of East Croydon station means it is possible to get from the front of the hotel to a platform within 1 minute (if you run) or about 3 minutes (if you walk), with trains every couple of minutes to London Victoria and London Bridge, both of which take about 15 minutes.

Just to the west of the hotel is a subway leading to a large shopping centre that has just about every major shop I know of. It also has a Sainsbury's supermarket. I can't say a subway is the nicest way to enter a shopping centre, but that is the fault of Croydon Council, not Premier Inn, and I believe Croydon Council are planning to replace the subway with a more attractive above ground crossing.

I cannot comment on breakfast or dinner as I have not used the restaurant facilities at this hotel.

Overall, considering the quality of this hotel, the room rates (£29 - £49 a night on average) and its proximity to East Croydon station (with the ability to be in central London within 15-20 minutes), this particular branch of Premier Inn can be assured of my continued custom!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here with friends as a belated birthday treat. A treat was what it was! Lovely welcoming staff, spotless rooms, superb breakfast and friendly atmosphere. We used the hotel as a base for going up to London and it's location 5 mins walk (literally) from East Croydon station was ideal, as it is a 15 min trip by train to Victoria. We would highly recommend the hotel especially as we got a £29 a night deal as well!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Address: Phillips House 6 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR0 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minute train journey to Central London, this hotel is within walking distance of East Croydon Train Station. Whitgift shopping centre is also nearby. Our Croydon Town Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room, an on-site Thyme Restaurant and free Wi-Fi throughout your stay. Chargeable parking is available opposite the hotel - a 1.8 Metre height restriction applies (sat nav CR0 0XH). For vehicles with a max height of 2.03 Metres the nearest parking is 5 mins walk on London Road (sat nav CR0 2TA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing