We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not worth to stay in Croydon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Germany Berlin, Stuttgart
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's not worth to stay in Croydon”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stains on the carpet and on the sofa, mould in the shower, internet costs extra. Maybe this works for UK-Greater-London-standards but not for me and not at this price. Anyway: staff was very helpfull, location is ok and relatively quiet in the center of town just besides the main shopping area and malls. Tramline in front of the hotel, 5 minutes walk to East Croydon station with frequent trains every few minutes to London (16-19 min). But if you want to visit London there are better options in other villages.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

May I offer my sincerest thanks for the review you have left.

I apologise that your room did not meet with our usual high standards on this occasion, but I would like to assure you that we are in the process of refitting carpets and that the maintenance team are renewing the silicone in the shower.

I will contact you personally to further discuss each point with you.

Warmest Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    329
    183
    83
    51
See reviews for
163
241
77
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at HIX-Croydon when visiting London for a weekend trip with friends. The room rates were great and included free wifi and breakfast. Rooms were clean and spacious enough, even with a rollaway bed situated in the room. Hotel location was about a 10-minute walk from the train station for easy access to central London. I found the service at the hotel to be excellent, the front desk staff were able to assist me in re-printing my flight's itinerary at the last minute before we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. It’s very pleasing to hear that you found everything to your satisfaction and that the front desk staff were able to assist you. Many thanks !

Kind Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Whilst I could not fault the location of this hotel in respect of the tram service to Wimbledon, (but not unfortunately as regards driving a car there and parking), apart from that the two nights we stayed there felt like we were in an overpriced youth hostel. We were situated on the 9th floor which we realised next morning was a "smoking" floor - although we had asked for a non smoking room - was unaware that anyone was allowed to smoke in bedrooms anymore anyway but we did notice the smell and the cigarette burn on the chair in the room. The room was furnished minimalisticly, we had to ask for extra tea and milk as there was only one each of everything. The bathroom was ok except for the sink tap which I cleaned myself before using it. Parking was a nightmare - managed to get one of only 4 spots (£12 per night) outside the hotel only to have to stand guard on it next morning whilst members of a young orchestra waited for their coach and there was a danger of cellos falling over and violin cues sticking out of rucksacks scratching my car. Still better than parking in the multi-storey at £9 which looked like it was in a very rough area. The breakfast was the worst - hot breakfast is sausages (ok) (baked beans - which I never eat) and tasteless scrambled egg that for some reason was full of black lumps (both mornings). Other than that if you just want toast (no marmalade however) plus grapefruit, yoghurt and coffee (the cappucino was good), it was ok but not for the price we paid - result of my partner thinking I said book Holiday Inn when in fact I said the Hilton in Croydon (which I have stayed in twice before and which would have cost half the price with far superior facilities)(the only disadvantage of it not being right next to the tram). Wont be staying again

Room Tip: Dont stay on the 9th floor unless you smoke. Unless you are travelling by public transport do not ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan47Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave a review on our hotel. I will be in contact with you personally to go through each point with you.

Thank you again

Kind Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here.the hotel was very clean,staff friendly and pleasant,the rooms were great and i did not experience noise from other rooms.the location was very difficult to find but after asking a friendly man at the train station we made it..this is the perfect location for travelling to london its a 5min walk from east croydon station and a train goes to london victoria every 2mins..if u are going to travel to london daily and are sight seeing id advise to purchase a travelcard..any other questions about london id advise to go to croydons vistor centre which is located beside east croydon station..i enjoyed my stay in east croydon and would stay in hoilday inn if i returned

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest

I wish to express my sincerest thanks for such a lovely review on our hotel. we very much look forward to accommodating you again if you are in the area.

Best Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

It comes to something when you stay in a hotel room and you spend all night being entertained by the rooms either side of you who have decided to stay up all night talking!
The rooms are poorly sound insulated, the service is non existent and the staff are conspicuous by their absence. The breakfast is awful and nothing can prepare you for the taste of the vended coffee. Be afraid, very afraid!!!
Having stayed at many a holiday inn this hotel has to be the worse one in the group. Do not stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobtheblindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel, I will be in contact with you personally to address each issue raised by you.

Kind Regards

Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I booked this hotel online, for £59 (including VAT) on a best flexible rate.

We got off the train at East Croydon, and it took approximately 10 minutes to walk to the hotel. It's tucked away between buildings, but if you turn into Frith Road, you cannot miss it. The parking situation is a little more complicated - the hotel only has 1 space and that's for a disabled driver, however they do let you drive round to check in, then move your car into the secure car park attached to the mall opposite.

My Platinum Priority Club (loyalty) membership wasn't acknowledged upon arrival, nor were we given any in-room extras, but the stay overall more than made up for this. The receptionist was very polite and our room was of a decent standard (big flat screen TV, comfortable bed and very clean throughout). We also had a great nights sleep as there was little/no internal or external noise.

Breakfast is of a typical Holiday Inn Express standard and efficient enough.

The check out procedure was a breeze, and the hotel can add your parking costs to your bill (and validate your ticket). Overall a decent hotel, and we would definitely stay here again if in the Croydon area and/or on a strict budget (travel from East Croydon to London Bridge is very quick and inexpensive if you purchase a Travelcard).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments; I am more than pleased that you found the hotel to be of satisfaction.

I apologize that your Platinum Membership level was not acknowledged on this occasion, alas we do not have room upgrades at an express as all rooms are standard.

Thank you again we very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

Best Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Well located, extremely clean hotel. I always find that the cleanliness and making up of the room is excellent. I haven't parked onsite but it can be a little confusing finding the place but that is not really the hotels fault. Staff seem friendly and all in all for a low cost hotel this is excellent.

Room Tip: High floors away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_r01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest

I am extemely grateful for your kind comments, we very much appreciate the time and effort taken. Thank you.

Maxine Short
Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing