We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value non-central hotel with good connections to Mayfair + City areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value non-central hotel with good connections to Mayfair + City areas”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The usual standard HI-Express offering, if that is your expectation you will not be disappointed in this 10floor 170room hotel, kind of hidden and recessed behind Debenhams in the central shopping area.
Hint - follow the slop downhill at corner of Debenhams/Primark and take the alley on the right. The HIE is the 10story building on your left 50m in from alley entrance.

I found the staff to be friendly and good, as well as the usualy HIE included breakfast, which here I rate the sausages, scambled eggs, beans all quite edible, and other choices good and plentiful, cereal, yoghurts, pastries. (Some HIE's the sausages can be quite awful)

Lifts to rooms secured by room keycard, Double bed + Sofa room the standard layout, work desk with TV foo end of bed opposite sofa. Standard shower only bathroom, but instant copious hot water and good thick/large bath towels for a HIE.
TV has usual free UK channels, although seems hotel has issues piping TV signal to all their rooms so something to check before unpacking in case you need request a room move.

Ground floor has small bar extension of reception/checkin desk. Has draught beer which I prefer, Becks for reasonable 3.50gbp/pint . Seating by bar is tall tables + stools, but this adjoins breakfast area tables/chairs. When hotel full gets quite crowded here in mornings at breakfast time and a bit of a wait for one of the two small lifts.

With no food service outside of breakfast time, you can reheat food in a microwave provided if need be. I just went to local pubs, both Yates and Wetherspoons nearby , which do quite reasonable food. There is also a chiller display for drinks, snacks by lifts that you can pay for at reception.

Location is suprisngly well situated,
a)15mins first stop from LGW airport on line to Victoria Station
(Not so good if you arrive at LHR or LCY airports though)
b)lots of shops around, hopping centre, most banks/ATMs et, and Pubs.
c)Easy to get to Victoria, Mayfair and City area by public transport.

Internet is wifi throughout hotel, just a one-speed (band) and you need password slip/voucher from receptiion at checkin. For IHG elites intenet access is free and was fast enough for normal browsing activities.

Room Tip: Check TV/Signal works before doing anything else! High floor 9th of 10 is quiet. 10th is conferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear scuba_in_the_sun,

Thank you so much for the really nice review. It's great to read that you found the overall value of your stay to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Sincerely
Giorgia M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    326
    179
    81
    48
See reviews for
161
237
76
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The staff were really friendly, rooms were clean and the hotel is right in the middle of Croydon town Centre. There are numerous eateries in Croydon and some lovely pubs. However I would advise checking them out on-line first.
As a business traveller, this hotel suited me fine. Ten minutes walk from East Croydon but plenty of tram stops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Steve B,

Thank you so much for the really nice review. It 's great to read that you found the overall value of your stay to be to your satisfaction. We value you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not well sign-posted, and neither is the carpark hotel guests have to use.

When we checked in we were given a twin rather than a double which had been booked. Although this was sorted quickly it should not have happened in the first place!

The hotel room itself was fine, clean and tidy.

The hotel cleaners came in well before check-out, and without knocking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K_R_F_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear K_R_F_82,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sound like we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to chooseIHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staff at the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, check in quick and painless, hotel now has new entry system to gain entrance to the rooms by key card use in the lift. Rooms are clean and tidy, free coffee and tea in the room. TV has freeview channels and there is free wifi available through out the hotel. Shower is walk in. East Croydon and West Croydon Train stations are 10 minutes walk, there is a tram system and local buses. Parking is normally in the multi storey car park down the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Eeyore1970,

Thank you so much for the really nice review. It's great to read that you found the overall value of your stay to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express London Croydon soon.

Sincerely
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before, but usually only for 1 night at a time. Work commitments meant I had to stay 4 nights for this trip

I was on the 3rd floor and was woken most days by the moving of lorries delivering to the next door store or at the time a crane was parked next to the hotel that appeared to be being used constantly from 0730. Not the bets of sleep but no fault of the actual hotel, just location

Room was adequate, small but comfortable and as I needed an iron and board daily, after initially borrowing on the 1st night I was able to keep for the week, which was a godsend, instead of having to keep asking. However, as a mainly business orientated hotel and part of the largest hotel company in the world, I think it is time to get irons / board in the room

The complimentary breakfast had a good, but limited choice, but always felt like a scrum in the self service breakfast area, this is an area that could be much improved

I know some people have trouble finding this hotel, but as I had visited before not a problem and once found quite convenient, with a westward tram stop around the corner to go to Wimbledon, the main shopping street located just in front of the hotel and the main East Croydon rail station 10mins walk, with very frequent trains to London, Gatwick and the South Coast

Room Tip: To avoid the noise from the deliveries below ask for the top floor - the only down side is the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear GaryCI,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you the noise from outside. It's great to read that you found our rooms, breakfast and location of our hotel to be to your satisfaction. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose us for the future travel needs

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I recently traveled to London and found my experience at the Holiday Inn Express Croydon to be excellent. Check in was efficient and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located by the high street in Croydon which is 15 minutes from central London via train which was ideal for me as I went to the theatre.

It was very convenient to find out that the hotel has free fast internet as I was able to communicate via Skype with my family back home.

As well as the continental breakfast I was pleased to find that scrambled egg and sausage were included, surprising for such good value!

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on 9th floor and found the rooms to be very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleIde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Nicolelde,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to read that you found your overall stay excellent. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests ans it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is Holiday Inn's budget brand and this hotel is set up with no frills but a good level of comfort. You will not find a spa, room service, or a even a restaurant here but you will find a great location (10 minutes walk to East Croydon station - 10 minutes to London Bridge), free breakfast, and free WiFI plus a comfortable room. Service at check for me was at best perfunctory and cold with the staff member checking me in clearly striving for a 'no-frills' approach to Guest interaction as well. I brought this up with Holiday Inn on a post-stay survey and they thanked me for my feedback. Sound insulation is between rooms is not that great either but at least the couple next door to me seemed like they were happy!
All in all stay at this hotel for great value and convenience but at the cost of service and individual attention. If Holiday Inn could understand that friendly service actually costs nothing but adds
enormous value then they would find themselves with a winning hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jasonfromtheblock,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing