We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The usual average Holiday Inn experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel inside is quite OK, you will get the usual Holiday Inn experience.
It was not the very easy to find the Hotel since it is kinda "backyard" of some shopping centre but it is not too difficult either. (it is not a noisy neighborhood).

What was not said during booking that there is a 30£ deposit per room.

Location actually is quite OK although it is in zone 5, you can get to East Croydon station in 7 minutes walk and from there to London Bridge station in 15 minutes. The good thing is that almost all trains stops in East Croydon (except Gatwick express) so you can get to London city in or out quite fast. Also from Gatwick you can get to East Croydon without changing trains.

The hotel neighborhood is a bit low especially during evening (after 7pm) when it seems the streets get empty since only pubs and fast food chains open longer hours. There is a really close KFC but other then that it is hard to find any place to eat after 7pm. (In one evening we were eating in a pub with kids but they cannot stay in the pub after 7pm - by law).
BTW: The Croydon shopping street is 50m away but as I said everything closing latest at 7pm. So, probably better to shop and eat in London...

The hotel breakfast was OK-ish but it was every morning the same so eating that for 4 days we got very "boring". My wife was also complaining that there were no salads or vegetables at all for breakfast (no salad, no cucumber, no tomato or any other vegetable). Fruit was also exclusive for apple, no other fruit. What I was eating is scrambled eggs and some sausages with braid and cheese (there were no ham either) + orange juice. Kids usually had some cereals in milk.

Room was clean and they did clean daily and you cannot stop them to do that (so no sign for please do not clean or enter the room).

The toilet/shower door was really interesting since 1 door was used for both, meaning you either close the toilet and then the shower is open to the room OR you close the shower and then the toilet is together with shower. (With other words you can separate either only the toilet from the room OR the toilet and the shower from the room) The only problem with this if you take a dump and wanted to have a shower then you have to smell or let the steam in the room (if you separate only the toilet from the room) - for me this was not ideal.

The queen size bed was comfortable, although there were only 1 blanket so you will have to get close or one of you might take off from the other the blanket.

There was WiFi in the room but you need every time connect first to the provider page to get a registration before you could go to the internet (it was a bit annoying after 3 days).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visegradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear visegradi,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express London-Croydon. It's great to read that you found our rooms and the location of our hotel to be to your satisfaction. We regret that we are not able to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may caused you. The comments we receive from you enable us to target problem areas. we welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards
Lucia Ludwig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Found the hotel to be very clean and tidy, all the staff were friendly and helpful. For me I would have appreciated some blackout curtains as the ones up don't stop a great deal of light getting through.
The parking is a nightmare though with virtually no parking stud hotel. We were directed approx 1.5 miles around the oneway system to a Q park, satnav is your friend, the cost was £9.60 a night. The walk from the car park to the hotel was not very far, though and took approx 5 mins.

I would return again.

Room Tip: Ask to see if you can get a room with thicker curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMWS1000XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are glad to hear that you found the rooms very clean and the service we provide exceptional. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory; the one way system can be rather daunting if you are new to the area. Due to our geographic position there are many parking restrictions. Therefore, parking for all guest is in a nearby car park where we have discounted rate agreed with for all our guests. Our discounted rate is £9.00 per 24 hours, please query at reception about this at your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Croydon in the future.

Best Regards
Lucia Ludwig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and my son stayed at this hotel last night and what a lovely little hotel! The staff on arrival were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. Great central location. Lovely staff on check out too. Would definitely stay here again and recommend too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suelondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Holiday Inn Express Croydon. We are delighted that you had a good overall experience in our hotel. Thank you especially for your fantastic comments regarding our service; it was our pleasure to assist you and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team.

We hope you had a brilliant time in London and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to the city.

Best Regard
Giorgia M.
GSM - Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very Good and Affordable hotel, located very close to the Train Station, so travelling to London becomes very easy. Rooms are neat and clean, and so is the bathroom. Need to improve on the breakfast, as there is the same menu everyday.
If you're coming to London for sightseeing, and looking for an affordable hotel closeby, this is the one! Take a train from Croydon station, and within 30 minutes you're at Victoria!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjain23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear pjain23,

Thank you writing s review about your recent stay with us. It's sound like we fell below your expectation. It's great to read that you found our rooms and cleanness and the location of our hotel to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Best Regards
Giorgia M

GSM - Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed staying here in Holiday Inn Croydon,

Rooms clean Wifi good, breakfast also good. location perfect with a nice shopper hall.
To go to Victoria just a 7 minute walk to the West Croydon trainstation.
Would stay here again (Y)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMV_KFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi GMV_KFC,

I express my thanks for your review on our hotel. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes my happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Best regards
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

So SO SOO So Bad! Wow! Never again! Pay more and stay somewhere else. Most other Holiday Inns I was looking at let you have 4 in a room. Only 2 per room allowed here.

Same "breakfast" every day. Same hot choice every day (fake scrable eggs, Awfull tasting sausage and Van de Camps baked beans) I went out to eat after the 3rd day of 5 - I could not stomach it another morning. Loose faucet. Thin bed matress. No pool. Small rooms. No parking (cost is 9 LBS a day). All located in the hood. No view. I could go on and on.

Room Tip: Same "breakfast" every day. Same hot choice every day (fake scrable eggs, Awfull tasting s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Gary T,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Croydon. Our concept allows 4 people in a room (2 adults & 2 children) or maximum 3 adults per room as advertised. Our free breakfast consist of a variety of cereals, 4 choices of pastries, cheese, fruit and natural yoghurt , herbal and English breakfast tea. We offer hot chocolate and a choice of 5 different coffees, jams, choice of fruit juice, fresh fruit, toast and rolls as well as scrambled eggs, baked beans and sausage which is a general standard throughout the holiday Inn Express family in the UK. You are right in saying that there is no pool as this is not part of the Holiday Inn Express concept and therefore none of the UK Holiday Express’s does have a pool. Croydon is a high rising town and we are situated right in the vibrant part of the old town close to restaurants, bars and shopping centre. Due to our geographic position, parking for all guests is a in nearby car park where we have discounted rates agreed with for all our guests.
I am sorry to hear that you found our mattresses thin and will take your comments on board for when we next replace our stock. We do use Hypnos mattresses which are of high quality and all have been replaced just over a year ago.
Myself and my team work very hard to ensure we always deliver high quality and friendly service to all our guests and will continue to do so.
We welcome and make note of all comments from our guests to help us further improve the service and quality we offer.

Best regards

C. Gomes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was a brisk 8 minute walk from the East Croydon train station without luggage. With luggage, about 15 minutes. It is difficult to find because it is not directly on a main street, but once you locate it, it is not difficult to get to. My wife and I were there May 17 to May 22, 2014. The rooms have a/c and are larger than the typical European hotel room. The bathroom was also larger than the typical European bathroom. The hotel is convenient to the train station and is on a direct line to London's Victoria Station travelling north, and Gatwick Airport traveling south. Victoria Station and the airport are about 15 minutes away. I was concerned because of some negative reviews prior to leaving for the UK but I did not experience any of the negativity expressed in some of the comments of other reviewers. Our room was a non-smoking room on the 7th floor and there was no trace of smoke in the room or corridors. Smoking is endemic in the UK but no one is allowed to smoke inside public places. This could be a problem if one is allergic to smoke and does a lot of walking. The food at the hotel was fine. I chose the Holiday Inn Express because I wanted breakfast included in the rate as well as a facility with a reasonable rate, close to a rail/tube/bus line just outside of London. No complaints with the full English breakfast. Yes, there are baked beans served for breakfast, and the sausage taste different. But get over it. You are in England. They don't serve American food in England. The hotel staff was wonderful - very courteous and helpful. Lucia was the manager and always wore a smile. Nicky, the breakfast lady was a gem. Although close to a mall, food was limited outside of the hotel to mostly pubs which tend to serve the same menu. Don't sit outside if you want to avoid cigarette smoke. There is a bench for smokers outside the entrance to the hotel but there was no congregation of smokers the entire time we were there. If there was a drawback, it is the lack of safes in the rooms. We visited London from a cruise so we had locks for all of our luggage. So, the lack of a safe was not a problem. However, I can see that being a problem if you are traveling via air.

Room Tip: As for a nonsmoking room not overlooking the entrance. Those may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Bruce M,

We express our thanks for your very nice review on our hotel. We are happy to read that you found our room, breakfast, service and location to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you in Holiday Inn Express Croydon soon.

Best Regards
Lucia and Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#10 of 24 in Croydon
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: £45 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing