We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Saved by the staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Sometimes fate conspires against you; the lift broke down, there were lots of screaming children, the weather was awful. However, even though I was very grumpy when staying here, the staff saved this visit for me. They were charming and efficient, greeting me by name daily and asking after how things were going. Then endeavoured to fix problems swiftly. My room on the 9th floor was clean and all you'd expect from a budget tier hotel. The wifi was fast. The breakfast was fine (the croissants not to my palate, but each to their own). The location is very good, but do expect an amount of outside noise as it is in the town centre!

Room Tip: Floors 2-5 have essentially no view as bocked by buildings around, 7-9 louder as above the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smckane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear smckane,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    325
    177
    80
    47
See reviews for
160
234
77
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

well my name is Trudy im from Australia I came to London by my self a little scary but soon as I got to the hotel the staff were fantastic they looked after me so well they helped me to get to places if I needed something they had no proplem helping me for my first time in London the staff made it wonderful I would tell eneyone going to London to stay there the rooms were so clean and the breky was so nice and the shopping is fantastic in Croydon next time im in London I will be staying there it was so sad to say goodbye thanks to staff and to the kitchen staff il be back xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Trudy B,

It's lovely to hear that our associates grabbed the opportunity to make your holiday special. It gives us the chance to personally thank them for taking care of our guests. You must come back again to continue collecting unforgettable memories. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in a double room on the 9th floor overlooking the narrow market street which I enjoyed very much. The hotel in the old town close to restaurants shopping malls and bars. I visited London and found it very easy and fast to get to central London from East Croydon. What makes this hotel is the staff! The service is by far the best I have experienced, everyone is so friendly and helpful, my room was very clean and I also enjoyed the breakfast. As per previous reviews parking is off site but it was not a problem for me.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor and did not experience any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear trave b,

We are delighted to have looked after you and happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express London Croydon.

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

During Wimbledon fortnight it is difficult to find reasonable priced accommodation. Came across this hotel which is within 100 yards of the Croydon to Wimbledon tram stop. Room charge including breakfast was £65 per night, thought this was a very good price. Used the satnav and managed just about OK, the hotel is up a narrow lane. Hotel staff were very helpful, asked about car parking nearby, there is a multi storey near by but they offered me chargeable parking outside of the hotel. Needed an early start each day and breakfast was available from 6.15 each day which was great. Room was typical HIE and no complaints on this score. The only downside was the hotel was not in the best of areas but there was a Wetherspoons close by. The tram was an excellent quick way to get upto Wimbledon, will certainly do the same next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qualitytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Qualitytraveller22,

It makes me very happy to read that your vacation experience was so positive. We work hard to ensure our breakfast, room and service offering is of the highest quality to please all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope you visit again soon.

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with family and had 2 twin rooms. Rooms were fine, usual holiday inn express furniture and decoration. The hotel was difficult to locate, through a little covered alleyway and it took us a few circuits of Croydon to find it. The biggest problem is parking, hardly any spaces at the hotel itself and as previous reviews mentioned if you arrive before 8pm there is a nightmare trip around Croydon to the car park. Reception were helpful and had a map with with a postcode for sat navs, they even let me borrow a member of staff to sit in the car with me to guide me to the car park the 1st time. The walk back to the hotel from the car park takes about 5 mins so that wasn't too bad and if you ask for a discount voucher at reception the car park prices is £7.40 instead of £9. There was a lot of noise outside in the early morning, maybe from the market being set up but it was probably due to us having the windows open. All in all a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear wsm4,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. The one way system can be rather daunting if you are new to the area, although you will agree that the walk back from the car park to the hotel is short and easy. You feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the service and facilities we offer to our guests.
We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely
Giorgia Mattana
GSM-Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was very good placed. It was close to the London center and all the famous attractions all around. 5-7 minutes from the hotel there was the East Croydon train station that make it easy to travel where you want and a direct train to London Gatwick Airport.
The hotel i behind a lively pedestrian street with supermarkets and shopping stores.

The hotel has a very good service and it was very good hotel to stay in as a family. It was our first time in Holiday Inn Express hotel but definitely not the last time!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ahmed A,


Thank you very much for taking the time to Review the Holiday Inn Express London Croydon following on from your recent stay with us.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Best Regards
Giorgia Mattana
GSM - Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loleta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After traveling and flying for over 20 hours we were tired when we arrived at our Hotel before 10:30 a.m.. We were thinking we would not be able to check in until at least noon but we were not only allowed to check in with in 20 minutes . The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and saw we were tired and did everything to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. She brought us tea and even offered us breakfast while we waited less than 20 minutes for our room to get cleaned.
The room was very nice and the morning breakfast each morning was great.
To get to the train station to get into London is a bit of a walk up hill but it was no big deal.
We enjoyed staying in this little town and will stay in this area and hotel again when we go back. It was cheaper and worth the little extra time for the train ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerex, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear camie n,

It makes me very happy to read that your vacation experience was so positive. I'm also pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. WE work hard to ensure our breakfast offering is of the highest quality to please all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express.

Best Regards
Giorgia M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing