We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I have to say the thought of staying in a Premier Inn in Croydon wasn't the greatest prospect for me. However, I simply can't fault it - very cheap prices, lovely setting surrounded by trees and lawns, good spacious room with a very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast in the morning at the adjacent Beefeater and all the staff were wonderful. First time I have stayed in a Premier Inn but it won't be the last!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    114
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
112
116
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
warrington
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2011

we travelled over 4 hours to find both room we had booked,did not smell anything like fresh.Our room had a smell from the bathroom turned out to be shower curtain with B.O ,that had to be changed after iwas informed there change regulary.Power shower like a garden water can.carpet grubby.Other room had a vomit and urine stink to it we had to have that changed.No one seemed to check it out, god help the next unsuspecting guest.They charge £100 if they can smell smoke to DEEP clean.yet vomit ect. seem to have a quick wipe over.We have stayed there before found it to be good value .Another thing abour our bathroom the tiles are very mouldy how much would it cost for a tube of grout from B&Q and a bit of elbo grease.Other than that the staff were polite the breakfast was good.Needs updating asap

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidavWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations, at Premier Inn it really matters to us that our guests have a good stay. Please be assured we take reports of his nature very seriously and your comments will be fully investigate with the Management Team at the hotel. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Was already familiar with the Beefeater at Coombe Lodge..

a nice Bar & garden set in mature grounds, a georgian red brick mansion built in the 1760s Whitbread have sympathetically refurbished the main house dividing it into a bar with conservatory onto the lawns and also a spacious comfortable Beefeater restaurant. The Permier Inn is adjacent and was perfect for us. We booked a family room & was pleasantly surprised with the warm welcome at reception (24hr maned reception) & the kids won over by the colouring book & crayons. Previous reviews say it all 4* service & rooms at 3* prices. Clean & comfortable room with en-suite. Family room was a large comfortable kingsize & 2 single beds with clean sheets & fogarty duvets & pillows. TV was freeview suited the kids with Cbeebies & cbbc. Kettle, hairdryer & despite the obvious popularity of the adjacent Beefeater & bar a quiet nights sleep (hopefully no one was able to claim against the chains good nights sleep policy as a result of our early rising excited children).

Breakfast we booked the all you can eat (believe £7.99 per adult) and the kids ate free. Cooked breakfast & continental selection cereals fruit & make your own toast. As with the Beefeater (you eat breakfast in the Beefeater) great service & food, personally our only criticism was that the self service Hot water Urns for tea weren't that hot and the sausages were (at a guess Lincolnshire) a bit gristly for the kids no doubt a management choice across the chain - & whilst perhaps fashionable they should try eating one.

We ate in the Beefeater in the evening having booked prior to check in in the knowledge that its a busy restaurant & weren't disappointed. Its a Beefeater so you know what your getting steaks, surf and turf etc.& a nice kids menu. Again great value enjoyable food with good service. The bar service was a little slow just bear in mind the bar appears to have two tills dedicated to taking bar food orders and a further one or two Bar tills but only 2 staff so some patience required when ordering drinks when busy. However the whole of Coombe Lodge is well decorated & comfortably furnished way way beyond 3*

Location despite the busy road (needs a pelican crossing) is leafy & quiet set back from the road and aprox a 10 min walk from Lloyd Park Tramlink stop which is 10 mins if that from East Croydon station so was perfect for family sightseeing in London with children without a car.

Even If you are unable to book the £29 a night deal you really can believe the TV adverts, whilst i cant speak for other Premier Inns with the combination of the location, Coombe Lodge itself which is an attractive period property the great service, cleanliness ,food Whitbread have certainly got it right here !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Rooms were clean, beds comfy, location, we had a rear room, was quiet. Food, only had breakfast, but it was, again, excellent value. All staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. Parking on the Saturday night was difficult, due to the pub parkers, maybe a section of the car park could be marked for hotel users only? Overall better than the many places we had stayed in Croydon before, but cheaper! If you are looking for a nice place to stay, with no frills, this is the one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxy049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were comfortable and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

OK - £29 per night is nothing so you won't expect much? Wrong! I have paid four times a much for accommodation that was not a patch on this. It's Premire Inn so you know what to expect and the spec was well up to the brand's high standard. But what was a very pleasant surprise was the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in making sure everything was in order. the location isn't great and without a car you have to fork out arounf £10 from East Croydon Station - but ther are probably cheaper public transport options. I wouldn't have stayed if I hadn't business in Croydon but it was a great option under the circumstance - don#t be put off by the ridiculously low price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and received the very best service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future and we hope that your will experience the great service our teams our committed to giving our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The four of us stayed 2 nights and were happy with the experience. Despite not being able to take advantage of the cheap room offer (£29), this was still reasonably good road) and adjacent to a Beefeater restaurant. Good sized family room, and unlike Travelodge, the beds were all set up for us which was welcome after a tiring journey. Friendly and efficient staff and booking in process. The only noise was door banging from other guests which started at 6am but I guess this place must attract a lot of business guests being so near to Croydon so that was to be expected. Disappointed that the Internet costs were high - £5 for a continuous hour or £10 for 24 hours -not much use when you want to use it just occasionally, are not a business user and won't be in during the day. Powerful efficient shower, shower gel and soap in the bathroom. Digital tv with various channels. Breakfast was great - really good value when you are a family; less so if you're a couple. £7.50 each for the adults but 2 children under 16 eat free per adult - cooked breakfast to order plus lots of Continental which you can return to on an all-you-can-eat basis. So we all ate lots for £3.75 each. The kids loved it - muffins, croissants, cook your own toast, various juices, cereals, teas, coffees, fresh fruit salad etc. The evening meal was good value too - if you are seated before 6.30pm it's £5.99 for one course and £7.99 for two courses plus kids' menu (fruit platter and chocolate sauce was a hit with us - made an interesting change for kids' desserts) and normal menu. Would definitely return to the Premier Inn and Beefeater next door.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaceman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that your enjoyed stay with us and our breakfast and dining facilities met your expectations. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Thanks for your feedback regarding the Internet Access please be assured your comments will be passed to our Marketing Department. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we hope to welcome your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I missed the £29 deal but they really do have them as I have aroom booked in December for £29. Have stayed at four star hotels in the UK , the Channel islands, Holland Blackpool and the USA so I have been spoilt, with all they have to offer, e.g. room service, shampoo and other toiletries, face tissues, coffee and tea with biscuits even wine in the roms, housekeeping at the switch of a button, porters, slippers and dressing gowns,flat screen televisions., room safes, fridge, microvave, mini bar etc. you name it I have had the best. I have stopped in Hilton hotels, but because I required a hotel convinient to the location I needed I booked into the premier in Croydon South, I was a bit sceptical as it is a no frills hotel.
The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable and enough room for two.
The bathrooms were cleans and the power shower was as you should expect.
The tv is dated but works well enough for the time you are in the room.
There are no shampoos and other toiletries in the room but most people who are use to staying in hotels take their own anyway..
They promise a good nights sleep and is what I had on two nights.
The breakfast was not exactly a buffet. in a way it was because you helped yourself to cereal, cakes, toast, fruit salad, tea coffee fruit juices, yogourt etc, the breakfast is taken by order and you get asked how do you like your eggs,one or two and so on and can then if so wished have a full plate of full english breakfast, the only item I did not like too much was the mushrooms which I belive to be tinned, other than that it was served by very polite waiters and the food was served hot unlike some breakfast buffets, that I have been acustomed too in various hotels, which have not been upto standard expected and not hot as they should have been either, and a bit messy after a surge of people eager to fill their plates to the over top limits.So the premier inn I stopped at I can't fault any more, food apart from as I said the mushrooms was delightful.
I have had my eyes opened to this three star hotel and found I had enjoyed the stay with or without frill or lift, they really do take care of solo females too. The staff are polite and friendly, I would recoment this but bare in mind this is a three star and unlike the USA the rooms are smaller, you get what you pay for but to me this inn in particular is pretty dam good for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOTELREVIEWER006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 23 in Croydon
995 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 23 in Croydon
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Address: 104 Coombe Road, Croydon CR0 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Croydon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Addington Palace, the tram line and only 30 minutes from London's Victoria Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Croydon South Hotel Croydon
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing