We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel, with nice Resturant”
Review of South Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Park Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Basic Hotel, with nice Resturant”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights while working in the area. I was worried, having read previous reviews. After entering reception, I was aware of what you could call, and Indian Restaurant smell, and previous reviews have mentioned, but it wasn't over powering or for me an issue.

Check in was quick, and I was shown to my room, at the back. You walk through the restaurant to get to it, but otherwise I was greeted by a clean modern room, with usual facilities.

There was no smell in my room, and have 4 peaceful nights.

I did have room service one night. Food was great, slightly expensive, but very tasty. Unusual Indian / Chinese mix.

The hotel is a 2/3 *, it has an Indian Restaurant and is run by Indians, who I found very helpful.

For the price I was happy with the hotel. There is better out there, and if you dont wish to experience an Indian Restaurant maybe choose somewhere else, but I will be reurning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdzzzPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    28
    13
    7
    20
See reviews for
16
19
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I've never felt compelled to leave a review about a hotel so this is my first one, as I feel responsible to warn off people about this 'hotel'.

A colleague and I had to stay in this hotel as we had a last minute arrangement in Croydon. The only upside about this hotel is its location being within 10 mins walk away from South Croydon train station.

The hotel just felt unhygienic, I stayed two nights where I had to sleep in my clothes as the sheets were stained, so were the bathroom mats. The carpets in the hall way were black! with grease stains. The rooms weren't sound proof at all, but I couldn't fall asleep before 1am anyway due to the comfortableness so it didn't actually become an issue. The room was hot and dry as it was literally on top of the kitchen of the curry restaurant business down stairs. The whole places smelled of curry, it made me feel very self conscious about meeting clients the next day if my clothes smelled of the curry.

The staff were unprofessional, which may come across as being rude. It had a very family run business feel. I felt being told off about not going for the dish that's recommended by one of the owner. We waited a long time to check in and the key cards were again covered in black stains/ dirt. I feel the business owner probably did have the best intention, but highly unprofessional in a hospitality business.

The following is the review from my work colleague who luckily only had to stay there for one night:

'It wasn't very pleasant, but was exactly as I expected. Any cheap independent hotel in London is going to be grim. Unfortunately as we were given such short notice before we were confirmed to be travelling down that night we had little alternative. I didn't complain at reception as I didn't think it would make any difference and my room was better than xxx's (one bed had no stains...). I would definitely enjoy writing a review for it on laterooms tho! The owners are so oblivious to the hygiene issues that they offered me a £5 discount on my next stay.... Errrrrrr no thanks!! '

Hope this would help anyone to choose wisely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_traveller8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I had been invited to a friends BBQ, living a couple of hours away from Croydon we decided that so we both could get into the party spirit, we would stay overnight at the SouthPark Hotel; It is located very near to where we were going.
On arrival, apart from the rancid smell of curry that is prevelant throughout the "hovel" the staff were ignorant, rude and unhelpful. We were shown to our room which was severly rundown with the main lights in the room not working, I asked to be moved to a different room because of this and was told to "jiggle the key card until the lights came on" and that we were not going to be moved.
My wife at this point just said to me that we were only going to get our heads down when we got back from the BBQ anyway and much to my annoyance we just walked off from the very unhelpful man at reception.
On our return the restaurant was in full swing and there was music being played at an intolerable level from an adjoing bar area.
We went to bed - HOWEVER the music being played, which was indian music was so loud that not only we could not sleep we could not hear any of the two channels that were available on the TV. I went downstairs to ask for the music to be turned down only to be met with a tirade of abuse from an elderly Indian woman who stated that the music would only be turned down when the restaurant closed - about 1'oclock. To this I made it quiet clear that if the music was not turned down to a level were I would not be disturbed by it half way across the hotel that I would then call the Police and demand my money back. The music was eventually turned down at 12.15pm however drunken workmen who obviously use the hotel when working away from home were loud and noisy pretty much for the remainder of the night. We left at 7am when I was certain that an alcohol that I had drunk at the BBQ was below the legal limit - I WISH I HAD NOT HAD A DRINK BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE LEFT THE HOTEL A LOT SOONER OTHERWISE.
When we did leave no one was availble on reception to deal with these issues hence this blog.
Please please please DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS PLACE IT IS DIRTY, SMELLY AND RUN DOWN AND THE PEOPLE WHO RUN IT ARE IGNORANT, RUDE AND HAVE NO CONCEPT ON SERVICE - £78 PER NIGHT ????? EVEN DICK TURPIN WORE A MASK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Completely agree with the previous negative reviews. This place is more like a few rooms stuck on top of an Indian restaurant than a hotel. You can find much better value (and cleaner) hotels by using the bigger cut price chains in East Croydon.

The receptionists were unhelpful, barely looking up and taking forever to locate my booking. The discussion that ensued took place in their own dialect, rather than English, so I had no idea what was going on.

The hotel itself is very tired looking. They should have spent some money redecorating the place rather than investing in the huge neon restaurant signs that hang outside. The room needed a good clean, with peeling paint, stains on the bed cover and a shower that smelt of mould. Thank god I was drunk before I returned for the night or I might not have slept at all.

Only book if proximity to an Indian restaurant is your priority.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

As a business woman travelling alone, always looking to keep my expenses to a minimum and mindful of keeping safe, I am pleased to able to share my thoughts on my stay at South Park Hotel. After a few hectic days of working in central London, I was grumpy and very tired - the hotel receptionist kindly upgraded my room to the quietest area of the hotel. She also accommodated me with an extra unplanned night on parking my car and booking of a taxi to get me to the train station. The meal in the Spice & Ice, Indian meets Chinese cuisine restaurant, was divine - i have bookmarked this hotel for stopping at next time im working in this area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonBusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I booked this hotel for a two night stay after checking its website. The first thing that hits you when you walk through the reception doors, is the overwhelming smell of curry, as the hotel also doubles as an indian restaurant. The second, is an unfriendly, unsmiling indian lady who barely looks up and moves slower than an injured snail to 'assist' you. After a particularly unspectacular welcome, I was shown to my room. Resembling the inside of a shoebox in both colour and size, there was also a curtain half hanging off the rail and again, a lingering smell of curry.

I paid to use the internet and was told to 'just plug it in'. Of course this did not work as I needed a code, and even when I figured this out, the internet didn't work anyway and I had to call someone to get it fixed. The tv, apart from just about mustering channels 1 and 3, was hanging off a wonky bracket meaning you have to hold your head at a 45 degree angle to watch it properly. Failing to find another hotel nearby at such a late time on a Saturday, I decided to approach reception about cancelling my room for the following night instead. I have never done this before and felt slightly uncomfortable doing so. Whilst still having a chat to someone on her mobile phone, the lady on reception simply shrugged and said they have a 48 hour cancellation policy and no refund was available. Not wanting to lose all my money unnecessarily, I asked if I could upgrade my room instead. They only had one for the following night so I asked if I could see it first. Admittedly you could swing a bigger cat in there and it was certainly cleaner, however, the horrible decor of the entire hotel and the complete lack of facilities still remained. You might expect something basic when staying in a small, family run hotel but this is usually made up for but a cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. If you want a complete lack of quality coupled with surly, unpleasant staff, this is the place for you.

After realising I couldn't bear to sleep in my original room even for a night, I decided to cut my losses and leave. The lady on reception obviously took this personally and said I clearly made a mistake in picking a hotel such as theirs. I said the website is not a true reflection of the standard of hotel this is. Make no mistake, this is a run-down 'hostel style' establishment that pretends ro be something better to justify the overcharging. In a particularly non-eventful part of South Croydon, the location is not even a redeeming feature. My advice would be to try one of the chains in East Croydon if they have availability. They are of a much higher standard and are actually more reasonably priced! On leaving, the lady told me I had made a poor choice of hotel! That's one thing we certainly agreed on!

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Newcomer1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Having travelled to Croydon late on a sunday evening, booking in was painless, the staff were excellant, even though due to rooms being booked by company, and confusion on companys behalf re payment. The owner said have a nights sleep, and this can be sorted out the following day "which it was" very understanding and considerate!! you dont get this is big hotels. Rooms were very clean, and power shower excellant. The staff were friendly and engaged in conversation taking general interest, again you wont get this in large hotels. The meal i had on the Monday evening was fantastic, indian/chinese, they cater for different palets, and if you like spicy try traditional indian. Would i stay again ? of course. Take a tip, ask for a room in the new annexe, quiet and comfortable. Well done south park.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pug00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Park Hotel

Property: South Park Hotel
Address: 3-5 South Park Hill Road, Croydon CR2 7DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — South Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished hotel has 30 bedrooms with a superior level of luxury throughout each room and throughout the hotel, so that you can be rest assured of a relaxed and comfortable stay. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, shoe polishing facilities, direct dial telephone, TV, radio alarm clock and broadband internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your South Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Park Hotel Croydon, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing