We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 East Molesey B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Staff made us feel extremely welcome and allowed us to check in early which was greatly appreciated. Fine size room with a large comfortable bed. Complimentary mini bar was a lovely touch! Room was clean and decorated to a good standard much like the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was also clean and the shower was lovely however, it was poorly decorated and the walls were dirty. Whist this didn't affect the stay at all but, you'd expect a much higher standard for the price and location! Still, this would not put me off a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMH1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you enjoyed your time your time with us and had a nice relaxing stay. Also please accept our apologies if our bathroom wasn't perfect and thank you for the feedback, we will look into this immediately, as we definitely do not want our guests experiencing dirty or marked walls. We really hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Mitre soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    221
    108
    40
    28
See reviews for
84
332
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked this location as it was close for our business meeting. The hotel is surprisingly larger than is looks from the outside. We managed to get a parking spot directly outside the hotel being that the hotel was not full. We almost felt like we had the hotel to ourselves as we did not see any other guests and were the only guests to dine in the restaurant for dinner that evening. The food offering was pretty run of the mill. We ordered steak and lamb that was cooked to a good standard. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were pleasant. The room was surprisingly large and backed out on to a court yard area. We appreciated the free mini bar for the water. A tray of spirits were also offered complimentary in decanters on a tray. Was not sure about that offering as there was nothing showing what they were. Nice thought but rather unusual. The hotel gears their in room marketing towards groups of frIends - definitely a great location for a shopping g weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really enjoyed our location and your time with us. We hope that you are able to return to the hotel soon as the area is even lovelier in the Spring and Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I usually stay here on business but decided to have a break near London with my wife and went for a Better type of room than I normally stay in (which are normally of a high standard anyway)
The room had superb views of hampton court palace an the river thames.
The restaurant was very good and the staff both in the hotel itself and the restaurant were helpful and attentive without overdoing it.
I wil continue to stay there when working in South London and look forward to another personal visit as well.
The only minor gripe would be is the shortage of parking, but as the building is four hundred years old you don't want a multi-storey are park next to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cptman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It is really nice to hear that you have been able to enjoy the hotel both for business and for leisure and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Mitre very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here notwithstanding it was at the height of the atrocious wet weather .Being adjacent to the Thames by the bridge, their outside terraces were under water but apart from the basement brasserie,this did no affect the hotel.at all. It is an old building bang opposite Hampton Court Palace, the primary reason for our visit.. The hotel has lots of little staircases and interesting nooks. Our room was quiet,,large and well appointed. Service was very good both in the restaurant and front of house
We had lunch there and felt that there should have been options on the menu for things like sandwiches and baguettes rather than choose from the main evening menu. This meant if you wanted something light, you had to choose one of the starters. We had a meal in the restaurant which has a lovely view of the Thames. We enjoyed the meal but I felt it was a little too pasta based. All in all a very enjoyable stay in spite of the conditions that many residents of waterside properties were experiencing. We noticed many houses were having to have their basements pumped to clear the water that had seeped in from underground

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and service you received during your stay. We will absolutely pass your feedback on to our Head Chef re the menu/lunch options as it is important for us to appreciate our guests views when we shape our new menus. We really hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Mitre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Pleasant older style hotel with plenty of character. Rooms were big and spacious and nicely appointed. Best thing about the rooms was the very powerful shower - don't think I've ever had one that strong. Staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. Food was okay, not spectacular, but still good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience during your time at the hotel. We will also forward your feedback on to the chef as we always hope to be more than 'just fine'. We really hope that you are able to return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was attending an evening business event at Hampton Court Palace and wanted somewhere close to stay, preferably within walking distance. The Mitre seemed to be ideal and although expensive it meant I’d not need a taxi, so I booked. I grew up in the Esher - Claygate – Kingston area so had passed the Mitre many times, it always had a fine reputation as a characterful hotel in a fine old building.

Arriving at 16:00 I was able to get a space in their very small car park: when full the nearest car park is the one at Hampton Court Station, just over the River Thames. Check in was smooth, the staff were helpful and efficient and my room, 208, spacious and well equipped. In closer inspection some of the fixtures and fittings looked old and the in window air conditioning unit something I’d not seen anywhere for 40 years. The decor was based on a brown and cream theme, again rather dated. The wifi was free and worked well.

Returning late after my meeting and dinner I climbed into a comfortable bed and went to sleep. At 04:30 I was suddenly woken by creaking floorboards and heavy footfalls from the room above. This went on for almost an hour as I assume the occupants got up, packed and left. Unable to get back to sleep I decided to leave and by 06:30 had checked out and left, unable to take breakfast which is only available from 07:00.

Sadly based on this experience the Mitre is a hotel in a building that is no longer fit for purpose: a hotel that charge £157 a night for a room where a good nights sleep is only possible if the occupants in the room above don’t get out of bed is unacceptable. Yes, floors in old buildings can creak but although expensive a thorough refurbishment can eliminate such problems.

The Mitre may be a “4 Star” hotel in a prime location but it is way past its sell by date and is best avoided. I will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the hotel. Firstly I would like to take the opportunity to apologise that your night’s sleep was disturbed by the guests above leaving their room. As a hotel we always hope that all our guests leave feeling happy and refreshed so to hear otherwise really does make us so disappointed. Unfortunately as an older hotel from the 17th century in addition to guests coming and going throughout the night we are subject to the odd noise attached to our beautiful but very old building, but that said rest assured we always do strive to maintain and improve our building continually to keep the property in a high quality 4 star condition.
It would be lovely to think that we could change your mind to visit us again in the future as from reading your feedback it sounded like so many points of your stay (that you were able to park easily, found check in smooth and our staff efficient, that the bedroom was well equipped, the complimentary wi-fi worked well and that your bed was comfortable) were positive.
The Mitre truly is the lovely traditional property which you remember and if you would be persuaded to give the hotel another chance please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@mitre.carltonhotels.co.uk as I would be more than happy to personally oversee your reservation to ensure that you had a peaceful and relaxing overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stay here every time we are down on business and feel a little guilty that have never taken the time to put a review on. This is a fantastic hotel with big comfortable rooms which combine historic quirkiness with modern comfort. The best thing about this place though is the staff. Everybody has a smile and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast in the restaurant that overlooks the Thames is a real treat too!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is so lovely to hear great feedback about the team and the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
61 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,065 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
812 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Property: The Mitre Hotel
Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing