We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 to visit Hampton Court, which is directly opposite.

Our room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and a large en suite bathroom. A free standing air conditioner was available. The mini bar was free, with decanters of spirits also provided gratis. We had a nice view of the Thames from our windows. Newspapers of your choice were also delivered in the morning free of charge

We ate dinner in the restaurant, and were more than happy with the quality of the food. Breakfast in the morning was fine, with a buffet, but also with the option of eggs cooked to your requirements.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and we would book here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to read great, positive feedback from our guests at the start of a new week! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you are able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    211
    92
    31
    18
See reviews for
74
305
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We only had a quick lunch in the restaurant as we popped in on a whim and we had no booking, but got seated quickly and politely by the staff. Very yummy food and attentive staff. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we hope you can come back and try more of our dishes very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Mitre for one night on a special deal. The staff are very focused on customer service and cannot do enough to help. We had a room as far as you could walk, which was away from the main road, so nice and quiet.
We had a great stay. The only problem you may find is car parking. Suggest either going by public transport, or using the station car park on Sunday during the day, which is £2, and either trying the hotel later or the local streets when main tourists go home. The hotel will assist where posible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing this. We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent hotel, situation perfect for Hampton Court Palace (across the road), travel from central
London, and no driving involved. The staff on arriving very helpful, twin bedded de-luxe room with private courtyard was just what the doctor ordered after travelling from North West England.
Dinner that evening was superb (steaks cooked to perfection) - restaurant overlooking the Thames and waiter service could not be bettered.
Breakfast following morning brilliant, lots of choice and again staff on duty very helpful.After the whole day at Hampton Court (WOW) we returned for Afternoon Tea - (don't miss it) and left for
our journey home, both agreeing it was the best hotel we have stayed at in London.
Thank you Carlton Mitre (staff of course) you are all beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is great to hear such nice comments and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent hotel with excellent and helpful staff. Well positioned and generally lovely rooms but the cellar rooms are a bit dark, try to get ground floor or above. Restaurant serves very good food and is reasonable with prices. Only downside is car park which is limited in size although staff do try their best to shuffle cars around and get yours in. Highly recommended for a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer and enjoyed the service from our team. We hope that you are able to return to the Mitre in the future and looks forwards to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our company has run two workshops at the Carlton Mitre Hotel. We have been very pleased with the hotel's service, the condition the meeting room, the quality of catering and the very helpful members of staff. We will definitely consider Carlton Mitre Hotel for any further seminars in the future. Another bonus of this venue is its very close location to Hampton Court station and the readily available parking facilities outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Its good to hear that both of your meetings have been a success and we hope that you are able to return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our third time at the Carlton Mitre. We frequently stay at Hampton Court Palace in a flat rented by The Landmark Trust, and sometimes we like to extend our time in this area and The Carlton Mitre is literally across the street from the main gates of Hampton Court Palace. On two of our three times staying here, we've been upgraded to a suite, which has been just lovely. The hotel staff is always willing to help with anything. The breakfast which was included in our room price was fabulous. 2 minute walk to Hampton Court rail station is a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments about our team. We are so glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us and really hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Property: The Mitre Hotel
Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing