We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here during the flower show with a group and found it to be delightful base. The service was very polite and helpful and the traditional room was spacious and quiet with a king size bed. Our group made full use of the dining options and the quiet areas to sit: the library and the outdoor terrace were popular. The rooms tended to be a little stuffy in the hot weather at night but we did not try the air conditioning unit as we heard it was noisy. It was really like a home away from home for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to be thought of as a home away from home as that is what we strive for! We really hope that you are all able to return soon and look forwards to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    217
    106
    39
    24
See reviews for
79
326
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for one night as we were visiting the Hampton Court Flower Show. The hotel is directly opposite the entrance to Hampton Court and has lots of character as it is an old building. We were very pleased with our choice as it was spotlessly clean (apart from some very dusty fake flowers in the bathroom) and the chocolate and card which were passed to us when we checked in as we were celebrating our silver anniversary were a nice touch. The room was a good size and was at the back which meant we had no road noise. We dined in the Riverside Restaurant and were very surprised only a handful of tables were taken as we assumed it would be busier during Flower Show week. The food was great quality, hubby said it was the best meal he had eaten in ages although I had chosen some veggie ravioli and do not consider myself to be a big eater but would have been happier to have been given a bigger portion! As it was pouring with rain in the morning we also ate breakfast in the restaurant which again hubby was happy with but as I only wanted toast it was a shame there was only one set price of £12.50 per person. We would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your super feedback. It is so nice to read that our guests had a lovely time with us, especially on special occasions. Please do accept my apologies for the dusty flowers...housekeeping will review that immediately. I really hope that you are able to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday evening just for 1 night in the Catherine Parr room. Our room wasn't ready for 2pm as promised so we went for a quick drink in the bar and then went back to find it was, we were given a box of chocolates as a way of apology which was a nice touch. Room was lovely with a nice view to the front of Hampton Court Palace. Shower was amazing, bed very comfortable (four poster) and the breakfast outstanding. We found all the staff very helpful including the male member of staff who checked us in and told us it was a 35 minute walk up the a Thames Path to Kingston where we needed to board a boat for a party. We set off 1 hour before thinking we had plenty of time and although we walked very quickly we only just made it, it took us 1 hour!! Would stay again and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and 5 out of 5 star rating. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept my apologies if our Receptionist under estimated the walk time to Kingston. I'm so glad you made it in time though. It sounds like you had a super time and so I really hope that you have an occasion to return to Hampton Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came to this hotel with high expectations which were based on the hotel photographs shown on their website. Through out our booking procedure, checking in and the looking after of our car, which we left there that morning, the staff were excellent. We were attending Wimbledon and decided to upgrade to an exclusive twin with either a river view or a view of Hampton Court.
On our arrival back to the hotel, mid evening we were looking forward to a relaxing time with a glass of wine from our complimentary mini bar and some sublime views.
Our luggage had already been put in our room, which was a nice touch and off we went.........there our dreams were dashed....
The room though large with good bathroom, clean and tidy at first viewing and would have been excellent had we been here in 1977. Our view of the river Thames was over the restaurant roof and through some very large trees. Hence our underwhelmed feeling. We went to Recpetion and stated our views, the staff were very keen to help us and offered to show us some more rooms. One was the same as we had been in with the same views the other was on their top most floor and a suite, but still in time warp from 1977.
By this time we were tired and the Henry Suite had far better views so we stayed. We had breakfast the next morning which was fine.
Our overall impression of this hotel is that staff were excellent and very helpful, very eager to please in difficult circumstances.
Don't be taken in with the very well done marketing photographs on their web site as the reality is rather more disappointing.
In brief.....location ...excellent, staff......excellent, hotel......tired and in much need of refurbishment to bring it up to an expectation of its location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlleyLofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It is lovely to hear that you had a great experience of the team and our service but we are really disappointed and a little surprised to hear that you were not happy with the style of the hotel in comparison to the images online. Our website and marketing images were taken quite recently so we feel that they do show an accurate portrayal of the standard of the hotel; however unfortunately the design is very traditional so although the hotel and rooms were decorated in the past couple of years they can be seen as a little old fashioned if you prefer a more modern style. I'm really sorry that the rooms did not live up to your expectations; however if you would ever like to return to the hotel please don't hesitate to contact me on gm@mitre.carltonhotels.co.uk and I will personally ensure you are looked after and allocated one of our most charming rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stay over once a week every week in a different hotel in the UK for work and I had the pleasure of staying here last night. The staff are brilliant. Polite friendly and professional. The food at the brasserie was amazing. I sat outside by the Thames on the terrace and enjoyed a fine dinner. Breakfast was very good. Good selection and very good sausages. In my experience you can tell a lot about a hotel by the quality of the sausage served at breakfast. Room was a very good size and quiet. Beautiful hotel and I can't wait to stay again when I'm working in Hampton Court again. Thanks to Debbie who organised it and look forward to staying again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JtheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your super review. It is lovely to read such glowing feedback. I really hope you are able to return to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff were lovely the room was a great size, clean and comfortable. Very handy for the train into Wimbledon and excellent value. We didn't use the bar or restaurant but we were very happy with the hotel & its in a lovely location too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and 5 out of 5 star rating. We are so glad that we were able to provide the perfect accommodation for your Wimbledon Trip and hope that we can welcome you back next year if you make a trip to SW19 again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked this hotel as we were going to see the Beach Boys in Hampton Court Palace.
What can I say. From arrival at check in to check out everything was first class.
The reception staff were exceptionally friendly.
We had dinner in the restaurant (rib eye steak) cooked to perfection. Again the staff were absolutely first rate.
The standard room was huge and had a stand alone air conditioning unit (which was required!). A separate sitting room!
Bed was comfortable.
There was also a free mini bar, which we took advantage of to take a couple of drinks with us to the Palace Gardens.
This is definitely on of those hotels where you would say you would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely, lovely review. It is so mice to hear such lovely feedback from our guests and I really hope that we can indeed welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
193 reviews
3.3 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
805 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Property: The Mitre Hotel
Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing