We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Walnut Tree House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Molesey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walnut Tree House B&B
Ranked #4 of 4 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a find and so close to my son and family. The house and welcome were and are immaculate. The room was very comfortable and well equipped with everything you might need. There is much to see nearby with Hampton Court etc and it makes a perfect base for getting to London. The setting for breakfast in the conservatory is perfect as I might add is the garden.

John and Jane are wonderful hosts and were very helpful with our mildly convoluted plans. Having stayed in a variety of places near by I can safely say that for value for money, comfort and everything else you could not wish for better.

I might add that the absence of an en-suite bathroom is frankly irrelevant to the quality of the stay or the accommodation. Any other comment would verge on parsimonious, but that's just me. If you want a comfortable and friendly stay in a great place then you could do no better than to reside with John and Jane who will make you most welcome. We will be back.

Room Tip: I did not see the other rooms but I would vouchsafe that they will be of the same high quality as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheridanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I together with 2 friends stayed two nights in early May. A lovely house very close to Hampton Court and not far from Kempton Racetrack. An abundance of restaurants and emporiums to browse in the locality added greatly to our stay. You are made to feel welcome, the rooms are comfortable and clean, with drink making facilities including freshmilk in mini fridges. However most rooms are NOT en-suite. Our room on the first floor had access to the toilet and bathroom requiring going up and down a few steps. On the second floor (up several short flights of stairs) rooms have some height restriction from the roof line.
Breakfast is continental with fresh fruit and cereals served in the large conservatory. Depending on occupancy there is parking on the front drive, which is very useful.
Overall very good and reasonably priced, we would recommend as long as you don't have an issue with not being en-suite.

Room Tip: Choose on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0hnC, Owner at Walnut Tree House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post this report & we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
In respect of your remarks about the lack of en-suite facilities, we would like to comment that these are often only achieved in private houses by partitioning off a corner of the bedroom, usually resulting in a small, artificially-lit & often under-ventilated cubby hole of a shower room/WC.

To explain the facilities in our "Victorian" house for the benefit of future guests:-

1. from the first floor bedroom:- a few steps along the landing brings our guests to their own exclusive, airy, large, luxury bathroom, with a separate shower cubicle, bath & bidet + 2 large windows looking out onto lovely views of the garden.
2. The next door room serves as their own private WC.

3. Top floor:- the exceptionally large combined shower room & toilet, is reached within 2 steps of guests' bedrooms and has an opening window with a magnificent "birds-eye" view of the garden below.

Nevertheless, if "en suite" facilities are essential to you, as far as we know these are not available in any "private house" B&Bs in the immediate vicinity of Hampton Court Palace at present & so visitors would need to drive to other adjacent suburbs if it is this class of accommodation they seek - thus foregoing the convenience & unique atmosphere of Hampton Court Village!

Incidentally we believe King Henry VIII managed well without an "en suite"!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a discovery, excellent family run b&b, perfect location for our visit (hampton court and kempton races), house is beautiful, would love to see the garden in all its splendour in the summer and make use of the outdoor pool. Very welcoming and also respected our privacy.
Would highly recomend to anyone needing a base in South London. Plenty resturants 5 min walk away. Conservatory was perfect place to sit and have breakfast. Although not en suite was not a problem as large bathroom was on same floor with bath and shower available along with seperate toilet. WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Large double bed was soooo comfy, took a peek at room upstairs which looked perfect for a group of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Thank you John and Jane for opening your house to us for the past 9 nights. The location, setting, breakfast and your company cannot be faulted. We will be sure to pass on Walnut Tree House B&B to anyone who asks for a comfortable place to stay when visiting London. Again we cannot thank you enough for our pleasant time here. Regards

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband John and I stayed at Walnut Tree House for the weekend when we were visiting family that live locally, they had recomended we stay there.
Feeling tired after a five hour car journey, we were greeted by both John and Jane and made to feel very welcome with coffee and biscuits and then shown to a warm comfortable room on the 3rd floor with a huge bed and soft linen.
The house itself is beautiful, tastefully decorated and furnished with interesting ornaments, books and paintings and it feels like a home rather than a guest house.
The facilities were faultless and we were servied a lovely continental breakfast each morning in the conservatory with homemade jams and marmalade and fresh coffee. The garden outside was stunning and we wished it was Summer so we could have spent some time out there.
We would recommend Walnut Tree House to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Hampton Court area and will definately be booking again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What a wonderful find, so convenient for train to Waterloo, just around the corner from Hampton Court, Kew only a few miles away. John and Jane such a lovely couple, very welcoming as was their daughter, Louise. Our room was so very comfortable and clean and although not en-suite, the bathroom down the corridor was spacious and clean. Breakfast in the conservatory seemed the perfect setting, especially if you are gardening enthusiasts. Now we have found this lovely gem will be our home from home on our future visits to London and the suburbs. Thanks for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Kingsize ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I recently stayed for 7 nights at Walnut Tree House. Previous reviews and photos do not mislead in any way. John, Jane and their daughter Lou are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room (3rd floor loft) was a twin room which was very comfortable, with a large bathroom on the same floor - all very clean. A pc and coffee/biscuits were also provided, along with free secure wi-fi. The conservatory is a beautiful space overlooking the pool and large gardens, where breakfast is served - cereals, breads, fresh fruit, continental (ham and cheese etc.) and then a basket of toasted bagels/croissants and homemade breads is also offered, with homemade preserves. The other guests were a pleasure to talk to over breakfast as well - it's that kind of environment.
There are lovely walks along the river only 2 mins away (up to Kingston Bridge is the nicer walk)and shops around the corner, and it's close to trains and buses if you're going further afield. I found parking easy and felt that I could come and go throughout the day with no problem.
All in all it almost felt like staying with family, with very hospitable but non-intrusive hosts, and I can't recall many hotel experiences that were better than my week here. I will be returning next year and make sure I get my booking in early to avoid risking disappointment!

Room Tip: All the double rooms looked really lovely - I would choose that over a twin room next time. A room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East Molesey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mitre Hotel
The Mitre Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Molesey
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Molesey
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Craven House Apartments
Craven House Apartments
#1 of 3 in East Molesey
72 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Tree House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Tree House B&B

Address: 12 Arnison Road, East Molesey KT8 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Court Village Accommodation A fine, comfortable, friendly, 6 bedroom Victorian family houseBeautiful large Garden bounded by a historic Tudor wall The House is situated in Quiet Suburban road with free private Parking The accommodation comprises 3 guest bedrooms, from single to large “king-size” double, all equipped with 22” Samsung LCD TVs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Tree House B&B East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing