We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service let down by the accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Molesey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Service let down by the accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Friendly staff and great spanish food (compliments to Carlos and the Chef) on the evening. Welcomed on arrival by the new owner however we were disappointed by the family room in the side annex. Room was clean but was v. noisy from the traffic (additional glazing needed) and the dated decor. Bed was uncomfortably even for someone who is use to sleeping easily in many Hotel rooms. These comments must be balanced against the fact that the new owner is planning to update the rooms and I would hope to update this review once the work has been completed and we have stayed again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

This is the hotel most disgusting hotelI have ever booked into I don't know how other cliental book into the place its smelly. Dated decor and dirty, I booked out after a night in the place.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappointed187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

One night stay booked on the internet. Hotel is all very tired but was probably great in the 1970s.Seems to be run by a very nice Spanish family, hence the tapas restaurant downstairs. Large car park at rear.
My wife described the first bedroom given to us as 'gruesome', small, smelly with a tiny bathroom. After asking for another we were offerd a twin room on the top floor of the annex which was large with a big bathroom & a shower that worked, but still a 70s timewarp.
I had the 'full english' breakfast which looked & tasted like everything had been cooked in the microwave. What a nightmare! - soggy pale bacon, a pale uncooked looking sausage, hard dry scrambled eggs covered in boiled baked beans - all wasted as we only ate the toast.
Where do you start to complain about such an abomination? I was so lost for words that I said nothing & just let the untouched food be taken away......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at the Don Pepe for a family wedding at Hampton Court Palace. The outside of the hotel is very inviting and the staff/owners of the hotel are charming and very helpul.

The rooms were basic and a little dated but we weren't spending much time there so we were happy. The bathrooms could do with updating.

The Breakfast was the best we have had in a long time and it was delicous.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 032710a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

This hotel was great for the very reasonable prices charged. Although fairly small and basic in nature, rooms were clean and comfortable with all facilities required at our disposal. Quieter rooms at the back of the hotel. All those we met who worked there were pleasant, helpful and showed a genuine interest whilst we were there. Ample parking and a good breakfast. Good location for getting in to London and the nearby town had plenty of pubs and restuarnts to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

I stayed at the"Don Pepe`s" Charlton Hotel, in Hampton Court in November 2008

The decor of the hotel is cheaply done and very basic, with economy of expenditure obviously being a prime factor. To increase the hotel`s capacity the building has been imaginatively stud-walled throughout its upper floors to the fullest, and the single bedrooms couldn`t be any smaller. Wallpaper 1970`s woodchip, old pipes and lumps and bumps in the walls everywhere. Curtains in the bedroom 30 years past their sell-by date, and a few cheap meaningless art prints without any local relevance dotting the walls of the corridors and the rooms. Main oddity was a curious continual low grumbling sound that could be heard from around 6 thru to 11 P.M. throughout the upper floors of the building, which was probably something to do with the large funnel on the roof - presumably linked to an extractor fan in the kitchen?

However it`s the cheapest hotel in the district (£45 for a night; bar one all the others are almost double this) and all of the essentials were okay. Staff friendly & helpful. Bed & wash linen - good quality and clean. Bed - small but comfortable, bedclothes -clean and generously provided. Cheap but serviceble furniture. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room and television both good. Hygene standard in the communal toilet & bathroom - v. good. Breakfast fare in the morning okay.

If you`re looking for a cheap (relative to local costs anyway) place to get your head down while passing thru, and you`re not fussy about decor and atmosphere, this is a good option.

A.B.

  • Liked — Price & basics all well done
  • Disliked — Decor - depressing a touch
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ILLIUM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

Billed as a Spanish themed night. The evening, though not cheap promised good food, wine, company and entertainment. The entertainment was quite good. Thats where anything positive ends though. The food very obviously came from a packet, the meat was tough and luke warm, the vegetables soggy and obviously frozen, the soup from a packet. Don't fall for the 'everything is fresh and prepared on the premises' line. I think they must have stopped a meals on wheels van as it was passing! We had to ask for bread and the plates were piled so high with soggy veg that every time we cut our meat (which we had to ask for steak knives for......for duck!) which required a lot of sawing everything fell off. It would have been nice had the veg been served in separate dishes. The pudding came with no ice cream or cream and when we asked for it received nothing but blank stares!
We must have been there on the local criminals night out as the clientelle were loud, rough, drunk and threatening. Not what you want with children in tow.
To top it all we paid with a debit card only to find out a few days later that it had been cloned by someone at the restaurant and used in Thailand of all places. When I tried to speak to the manager about it he refused to call me back. Obviously something he is used to then! Maybe the police we reported this crime to will have more joy. By the way we paid nearly £150 for the privelidge of being ripped off.
To say I would never go there again is an understatement. You go at your own peril, you have been warned.

Helpful?
3 Thank M Ross Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.0 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel

Property: The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel
Address: The Green Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Don Pepe Charlton Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing