We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok ish.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 East Molesey B&B and Inns
burton on trent uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“it was ok ish.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The first thing which struck me was the road noise ,and the noise from upstairs when it had said the rooms were soundproofed .
The second grouse was the fact there were no facecloths in the room I have never been to a hotel where there were no faceclothes.
The staff were fabulous the room was not to my taste but clean and had enough room for the two os us .Breakfast the following morning I felt as though I was in the way as there were electricians and other tradesmen at work.

Room Tip: This hotel is very close to Hampton Court
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    103
    56
    36
    31
See reviews for
63
137
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have had a couple of meals and lots of beers in this pub and it's an excellent relaxing place in magnificent surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Only stayed one night but nonetheless a lovely experience. Stayed in Room 1 The Wolsey, stunningly different and quirky and although on the roadside surprisingly quiet. Good shower, good tea/coffee facilities and very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and a nice room in which to eat. If I had to say one negative thing it would be about the lack of hotel specific parking but there is plenty of free overnight parking on the road and across in Bushy Park too. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talula27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Kings Arms is in a great location for the festival, just a few minutes walk and you're in the gardens.
The room we had was on the front of the hotel, and so would have been a bit noisy had it not been for the fact we didn't get back to the hotel until pretty late, so the pub was shut.
Good food, clean room, excellent staff, but don't expect 5Stars and loads of space.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the gardens, probably best if you're a light sleeper....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at the Kings Arms for one night in June when visiting Hampton Court Palace. Can't fault the location which is directly outside the Palace, indeed the Kings Arms looks directly over the famous maze. We travelled by train and the hotel is just a short walk from Hampton Court station. Glad we didn't come by car as the chances of getting parked looked pretty remote given the limited spaces. The only food we had was breakfast which was very good, and as our visit was a weekday it was not very busy so service was good and fast. We had the Wolsey Room which is at the front of the hotel and overlooks a busy road. The traffic noise did not overly bother us but may be a problem if you are a light sleeper. As preferrers of harder mattresses we both found the bed rather soft and uncomfortable but for one night it was fine. There were a few minor niggles with the room - the table light didn't work and a fan in the very stuffy room would have been very welcome especially as we had to have the window open wide to cool the room down which increased the noise from he traffic. Having said all that we would stay again for an overnight stay simply because of the great location, but for a longer stay would look around at alternatives before deciding where to book. Overall though we thought the stay was on the pricey side.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked the Kings Arms for a 1 night business stay. I thought the hotel was great fusing the character features with contemporary decor, later at night they also light candles which gives a great rustic ambience to the place. My room was small but ample enough for me on my own but again had the modern features and bathroom etc. Parking is restrictive as only 4-5 spaces outside the hotel and restricted parking on the street (this was fine for me as I arrived after 18:30 and left before 08:30 but this could be a genuine issue for some people. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast good with some great alternative options to the normal "full english"

I wholeheartedly recommend this place, only cavaets are the parking which I've mentioned and a relatively weak wi-fi signal which I informed the management of and they said they would look into for when I stay again - which I will be - (the greatest compliment of all)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We wanted somewherer to stay where we didnt have to struggle with a late night train after a music festival event at Hampton Court Palace.
The rain never stopped that night so it was great to rush from the East Lawn and back to Liongate to get into the warm
We did have an issue with our room which we were told was ready when we arrived, We were helped upstairs by a lovely receptionist but found it wasnt ready and hadnt even been started . She was very apologetic and we went back down to the bar and had some drinks.
Sfter that everything went smoothly. Disappointed there wasn't a bath as we are of the older generatiuon who dont like showers that much. However the room was warm and although looked out onto the road was doubleglazed.
The breakfast with continental and cooked option was lovely and efficient and even though we were tod there was a new chef on arrived promptly and hot.
I do sympathise with a reviewer who had a tough time . To stay in a 300 year old coaching innn is a delight and tehre must have been an odd set of people on that day who may have had a talking to. We came after you and had a wonderful time on our one night!

Room Tip: Apparently there is one room , room 10 which has a bath. You cant book it on line but you can if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seacoastbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.0 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
60 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Lion Gate Hampton Court Road, East Molesey KT8 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing