We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Hampton Court and Bushy Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Great for Hampton Court and Bushy Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The best mix of old and new, this lovely 300-year-old-inn stands right at the gates of Hampton Court. (You can even see into the famous maze from the landing window - great fun watching people getting frustrated!) It has traditional decor and atmosphere but with modern facilities, though unfortunately no air con or lift - it's a listed building! Friendly and helpful staff and lovely meals - both breakfast (full English) and evening meal. Clean,comfortable and spacious room.

More pubs and restaurants (if you want), lovely shops, the station and the river are 10 mins walk away. We were able to park outside the hotel (only 5 bays - choose time of arrival carefully, then park up, otherwise it is on-street pay parking). We wandered round the public areas of the Palace park for free (rose garden, wilderness garden, tiltyard, etc) and also ventured into the elegant Bushy Park directly across the road, where red and fallow deer roam free and you can see a variety of birds and other wildlife.

The following day we strolled round to the Palace itself, arriving early before the crowds, and spent an entire day enjoying the delights of the vast building lived in by so many kings and queens. (see separate review)

Tip: Take advantage of free parking outside hotel - the staff were kind enough to let us park there both before we checked in properly and after we checked out, so we were able to save money.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the front, overlooking the road (the King wouldn't allow visitors to overlook h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    51
    34
    30
See reviews for
54
126
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having seen this place from the outside many times it was nice to go in and stay.
The ,,dark '' young manager was very helpful as I needed a boarding pass printing!
Would stay there again, when i'm working in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting Hampton Court. The position of this hotel is it's main selling point, within easy walking distance of the palace and its gardens. Also a great spot to explore Bushy Park. Further pubs, restaurants, the river and individual & unique shops a 10 minute walk away.

In an old building it's difficult to have a large bedroom and ours was ok, although the bed was 'rickety' and not comfortable, especially for my 6ft2 husband. The bathroom was clean and fairly newly decorated however. There are only 5 parking spaces for the pub itself, and although there is on-street pay parking it is limited as this is a popular area. We didn't eat in the pub, but its bar had lots of atmosphere - classic English pub. Full English Breakfast was tasty and a great start to the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchkinnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the Kings Arms to attend a wedding locally and had a great stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food in the restaurant/bar area downstairs was very good. It's in a great location for the train station and sightseeing round the area but more importantly the staff were so helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble whichever staff member you asked. After we checked out and arriving home I realised that I had left a necklace behind in the room. Upon contacting the hotel they confirmed they had found it and arranged to have it sent back to me. I was over the moon. All in all a great stay at a great place. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niccharlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and cannot find a fault with our stay, the hotel and bar is full of character with very good food excellent staff and situated in an excellent place for our visit to Hampton Court Palace (for a concert) enjoyable walks to the local shops and the river, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This pub with accommodation over looks Hampton Court Palace and the big bonus is the free parking out front . I stayed for one night the room was very small but adequate and the room was clean. The breakfast was good and the pub was very good with friendly staff. The train station was within walking distance about 5 minutes. The only downside for me was when checking out I handed over my debit card details to find next day I had 3 debits to my account. To be fair this was quickly rectified.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I go here 5 or 6 times a year. Sometimes just me and my wife, sometimes with children. (with children we have usually cycled or walked over from Bushy Park and sit outside)
I love that this is a pub. An old pub. No neo vernacular here.
The food is a mix of modern and traditional.
The staff are without exception friendly and relaxed.
If you are visiting Hampton Court Palace or Bushy Park this place is ideal.
If you are from outside the UK - this is a pub. Maintaining the things that made pubs what they were. Mismatched furniture, character and ambience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.0 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Lion Gate Hampton Court Road, East Molesey KT8 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing