We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It looks great from the pictures, and the location is faultless, next to Hampton Court Palace and opposite Bushy Park. But this is a classic case of a hotel which is taking advantage of location and likely customer base of once in a lifetime visitors not to provide an acceptable standard of accommodation.

I paid £130 for my supposed double room, which was not large enough to swing a cat. The room was opposite the main road, but the double glazing was just about sufficient. But without any air-conditioning, it was stiflingly hot and the provided fan had to be on all night.

The state of the room was dire for this price. Battered furniture, paint peeling off the ceiling, and the bed was well past its best - sagging heavily in the middle.

There was no soap or shower gel in the tiny bathroom - just handwash.

Parking was a joke. There were 6 places outside the front, which were permanently used. I was told to drive into Bushy Park and find the free parking there. "It is only a short walk," the lady said. Actually it was half a mile, and I arrived sweating (warm day) having carried my 3 bags and suit along the way. I forgot my wallet (another mile round trip), and then needed to collect the car in the evening and park on the road (which you can do after 6.30pm), as Bushy Park shuts it's doors around 9pm. Heavens - what a palarva.

Good points? Well the staff were friendly, the shower worked well, and the freshly cooked full English was better than average.

But I won't be staying there again until it has a significant facelift.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirth-Gersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for the night after a local friend's party. Room was very small, boxlike and didn't even have a cupboard - just a hook on the wall with some 'token' hangers. Bedside tables had some small drawers but not big enough for much. No air-conditioning so very hot, window could open but the noise from the road was too much. Shower-room was fine but no toiletries or soap in the shower, so had to use the hand soap from the basin. Not ideal. Bed mattress OK but pillows hard and felt like stuffed with fudge: awful. The only redeeming feature was that at least the room was clean. Breakfast was OK if you like cooked breakfasts and cereals, no continental style food. Parking is scarce, but be sure to ask for a Permit as the pub does give these out to customers; however, that is only after specifically asking 3 times for one - the staff seem reluctant to give them out!! Probably wouldn't return and would find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the suites on the Hampton Court side to avoid the noise from the road then do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivrelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

One night stay for a nearby party. Double room was very small, en-suite shower room tiny. Lots of water ingress marks in both our room and the stairs. Small double and uncomfortable pillows. Room very warm, but there was a shower. Ok for £100, but hardly a bargain I would say. Various drunk people who appeared to be in a lock in making comments as we came back and went upstairs at around midnight wasn't impressive either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited for a family meal, they were clearly short staffed. I was told where my table was , not shown.the table was sticky.We were eventually served with drinks,and orders taken.the food was very average, my steak over cooked, part of my brother's was burnt.we were not offered desserts.The meal was expensive, the service poor.
Would never go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hunt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed at pub for one night in March booked last minute for a work related course and overall was impressed, good value for money.
The hotels is located near to the gates of Bushey Park and is a large Pub obviously with some tradition and stories behind it.
On arrival went into the pub which seemed like a good mix of families enjoying wholesome food.
Showed to my room (11) all of the rooms. We're named after Kings & Queens mine being Mary I.
Room obviously recently refurbed to a good standard itch nice bedding and quirky furniture. With an ex suite and flat screen tv. It was a bit different to a chain hotel.
My room was at the front of the premises so there was a little road noise but no noise from the pin below, I slept well!
Only gripe there was meant to be wi-fi in the room. The password provided didn't access the only wi-fi that I was picking up. I would suggest that the instructions be amended to include the name of the wi-fi as ell as the password and this be looked into.
Next day breakfast- it was a Saturday so breakfast was at 8, this was a little late for me as I needed to be gone by 8.30, fortunately the kitchen staff arrives at 7.45 and were kind enough to let me start. The breakfast options looked good the only shame was I didn't have the time to mfully participate.
Usually I'd stick to a chain but this was a good little find. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank PetenJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Kings Arms Hotel is a lovely old building that backs on to the Hampton Court Maze. The staff were efficent and courteous, and check in was quick. We had the Anne Boleyn room: clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. The meals were very good, well presented and hot, with a good choice on the menu. Breakfast was excellent, with a fair choice. The ancient bar is well worth a good look and a drink or two. Being so close, we were in the Palace just after 10.00 – there is an entrance to the gardens beside the hotel. Parking could be a challenge, but the railway station is just across the river. For a short break and visiting the area the hotel ticks all the boxes. It is only about 30 minutes drive from Windsor Castle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Third stay at the Kings Arms - as always efficient booking in process and courteous welcome - stayed in a large room on the first floor- late night access through side door - good for when visiting friends.
Loved the fact that there were kippers on the breakfast menu.
Great setting with half hourly train service to London and the stunning delights of Hampton Court Bushy Park and shopping in Kingston on the doorstep.
Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mitre Hotel
The Mitre Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Molesey
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craven House Apartments
Craven House Apartments
#1 of 3 in East Molesey
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 2 Lion Gate Hampton Court Road, East Molesey KT8 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range: £80 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel East Molesey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing