We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in August, dont get me wrong the room was spotless but the room itself is very basic, I dont think it's very good value for money either, the breakfast was free but not much choice, such a shame because it's in a lovely location,
I wouldnt stay here again, when we have been to Epsom before we stayed at the premier inn and that is where I shall be staying next visit, a lot more comfortable and friendly as some of the staff at the holiday inn didn't even speak English,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinkle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Sorry to hear you won’t be staying with us again but thank you for trying our hotel and for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    215
    76
    14
    9
See reviews for
131
112
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A good place to stay, clean and helpful reception staff. Avoid staying there in school holidays as it does get very busy. The food is typical holiday inn express standard so don't expect much, but it is very expensive. You are better to spend your money and have a nice meal at the derby arms just around the corner.

Room Tip: If you get a disabled room as for another as the show is very open, it's a wet room, so everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As an Express hotel we have both standard and accessible bed rooms to meet our guests’ needs. The accessible rooms do have adapted bathrooms with a wet room style which is suitable for all guests. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Attending an event in Leatherhead we select the Holiday Inn on location and price. It is a modern looking hotel right in the grounds of the race course.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and tidy. We had what is called a "Standard Double or Twin Room". Make sure you are very clear when booking that you want a double or you will get two singles. It didn't bother us particularly but others may not be so forgiving.

Found the hotel to be very quiet and we both slept well. Not sure what it would be like if a race meeting was taking place though.

You could eat in the hotel but we used a pub/restaurant just across the road. So, I cannot comment about the quality etc.

Free wi-fi was available but with restricted bandwidth, higher speeds are available at a price. Not many channels available on the TV (unless you pay extra), but as we were out most of the time this did not bother us.

It seemed to get very busy at breakfast around 9.00am. So, we found it was better to go down early or late. It was continental self-service style but sausages, scrambled eggs and beans were available. We thought the food was very good.

So, good value for money. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I’m happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our location. The standard room type is allocated on arrival depending on availability at the time, we do try our best to accommodate everyone’s request however it is not always possible especially when the hotel is busy. Thank you for your understanding regarding this matter, I’m glad it did not bother you too much and you were able to sleep well. Thank you also for your comments regarding the staff I will pass this onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Brilliant hotel for a visit to the races, lovely views over the race course.
Two minutes walk to fantastic pub serving excellent meals. Breakfast a bit of a bun fight first morning but timed it right next with no hassle. 30 minute stroll into Epsom which is just ordinary run of the mill generic shops, nothing to get excited about. Will certainly return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claret180_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We are really pleased that you liked the location and are planning to return again. The location certainly is brilliant for the races, the Investec Derby Festival in June is absolutely fantastic. Thanks again, we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
241 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A great location in Epsom. If you like horse racing this hotel is a no brainer. Even if you arent a fan, there arent many hotels where you see race horses walk by your room!
Rooms are clean... A bit basic but nice.
Breakfast is really good...better than the carb-breakfasts you get in north america!
Hotel bar is so-so. The downside is that its just too bright and "modern". Would be good if they had some dim lights and comfy chairs
Location is very good. Quiet area, near a few pubs and parks. No traffic noise either!
From hotel to Hethrow is about 1 hour.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I’m happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our location. Could I please kindly ask you to review your photos as those attached are not of this property. However thank you for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed several times in the Holiday Inn, Epsom Downs on business trips to London. This is a good hotel and probably one of the best options on the area of Epsom. You get the standard quality you would expect but nothing more than that. The restaurant serves dinner at a standard quality and price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achris77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s lovely to hear from one of our regular guests. We are pleased that you like the hotel. See you again soon no doubt!

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

On entering this holiday inn it was spacious airy and immaculately clean. The rooms were big enough for four even with a travel cot inside. The room was also spotless. The best feature for me was the fact that it overlooks the Epsom downs racecourse I'm a real racing fan. Breakfast was delicious (continental style available) not a huge fan of the self service purely because it can get a bit congested if a lot of people arrive at the same time, but cannot fault the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast and facilities including the views. Thank you again, look forward to welcoming again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalk Lane Hotel
Chalk Lane Hotel
#4 of 6 in Epsom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing