We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn who knew...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Actually quite wrong I have been suprised more times than not with Holiday Inn's and Holiday Inn Express. Their value for money and unusually great locations make them stand out amongst chains. I have stayed at this hotel before and its location is excellent. Could not be closer to the Downs and the race course if it tried - in fact could be named one of the stands its so close! The rooms are always clean and whilst small (typical for England) they are pleasant and the beds are comfortable and the showers very efficient. The bar at this location is a great hang out for the people who stay here and for the locals i suspect. Horse people - journeymen with a rest before Heathrow which is only 25 mins away in good traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor overlooking the downs. If you get up early enough you can see the jockey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your trip advisor review, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and location. The views certainly are lovely and we are very lucky to have the beautiful Epsom Downs Racecourse right on our door step. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here on several occasions for business in central Epsom. Everything you would expect from a holiday inn and friendly helpful staff. Breakfast is good although more options would be appreciated. Will return

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review, it’s lovely to hear from a regular guest. I will pass your comments on regarding the staff, they will be very pleased to receive your praise. I’m happy to read you are planning to stay again, we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night as we were attending a friend's 50th birthday party.
The location is amazing and we literally walked along the race track to get to the neighbouring pub.
The reception staff were friendly, efficient and polite.
Our room was as you would expect. However, one tip is to bring an extension lead if you wish to use hair straighteners or curlers as the nearest plug socket is located away from the only mirror in the room. There is a perfectly adequate hair dryer next to the mirror but I imagine many women use straighteners too.
The biggest problem was our bed. It was the second worse hotel bed we have ever slept in. My husband is 4 stone heavier than me and I had to sleep top to toe to stop myself rolling into him. We looked at the mattress and saw that it was made especially for the Holiday Inn Express and this has made us book an alternative hotel for an airport stopover next week.
I know from reading reviews on here that the management take on board criticisms and try to improve what can be improved; please would two people try lying on the bed in room 205 and see what you think. (Make sure you're friends as you WILL get close!)
Finally the breakfast - this was free and plentiful and the sausages were delicious. It was also good to have cold semi-skimmed milk on tap.
I really don't like giving 2 stars but on reflection a good night's sleep is the priority of an overnight stay.
I hope this is helpful and feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Avoid 205 unless management decide to replace the mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Snowhite,
Thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well because of the mattress specification. Here in Epsom we take guest feedback very seriously and as a result we have started a bed replacement programme. Half our stock was replaced in the summer with the remaining due for completion in the early part of 2014. We also understand that mattresses are a thing of personal choice with some guests preferring a softer feel to the firmer one.
Thank you again for your candid feedback and we do hope that you will come back one day and try out our new beds.
Kind regards
M Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you are attending the race course, then this is a simply perfect location. Literally overlooks the course.

Unfortunately, I was down on business, so no horse racing for me :(

Check in was very polite and efficient. it was quite late so I went straight to bed. I had a good nights sleep, that was uninterrupted. Good room temperature etc.

The next morning, I was a little bit frustrated as they have an 'ironing room', rather than separate irons in each room. This is an inconvenience.

Breakfast was average... It was free, so can't complain too much. A choice of sausage, beans and scrambled egg is a bit limited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Toddy0011,

Thanks for posting your online review and happy that you liked our location. Maybe next time you will find time to pop down for the races.
As an Express hotel we do not feature irons and boards in all rooms, but if a guest should find going to the ironing room an inconvenience we do have a couple of spare mobile ones that a guest can take to a room themselves. Our first direction will be to the ironing room as it is a convenient location.
Hope to see you next time you are in Epsom.
Kind regards
M Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

5am woken by 'bong 'noise from lift, continued all morning. Could hear it for this and other floors. No chance of getting back off to sleep.
Waited 20 mins for hot buffet breakfast to be replenished.
Internet very slow
Spoke to front desk in morning. These are their replies.
'The lift noise is for our disabled customers'- must be good to know for anyone in their room!
'The breakfast is free.' - so we don't accept complaints about it basically.
'You were given the wrong internet access code'
No apology, nothing.
Avoid this hotel, unless you're going to drink so much at the races you won't be disturbed by the noise and are not going to feel like breakfast because of your huge hangover!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear friend of a previous guest,

I’m sorry that you feel the need to write this review after a very similar review was removed by Trip Advisor as it was deemed in appropriate. We feel that this review is not from Mark A but from a previous guest who held a grudge against the hotel. Here at the hotel we would ask guests with a problem to approach us directly so we can help resolve any issues at the point in which they occur. Once again I’m sorry that you felt it necessary to come through a third party like this.

Kind Regards
Maria Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were excellent, venue beautiful, modern and clean, everything brand new, stylish and comfortable. Bar and catering were fantastic, service brilliant. The staff even let us use an empty room to feed baby in during the christening party. We had 80 guests of all ages from 4 months to 90 years old and all were able to enjoy the party and the venue, the views are lovely too. I would definitely recommend this venue to all, and all and I would use the venue again,

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Susy P,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your event here in Epsom. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are happy to read that all went to plan. We look forward to welcoming you back should you have any other family parties in mind!
Kind regards
M Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stop at HIEX on business whenever I can, they have a good loyalty programme and they are the same everywhere.............. except here it would appear.

I didn't use tripadvisor before I booked as I knew what to expect, noticed the tripadvisor sticker in the window, never noticed one in a HIEX before ......... surprise!

Very much a cut above the norm for HIEX, spacious, quite luxurious reception really, they do food too, (but I ate out) rooms are standard HIEX (so everything you need) but the location & views are very very pleasant.

Loads of parking, free wifi, got a good nights sleep.......perfect


As I will be visiting Epsom quite often on business this will be my base - probably best to avoid racedays though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_Judes_pie_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stays with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon as one of our regular guest.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing