We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight whilst moving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst we moved house, rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. Breakfast was OK and included in the price. went to Leatherhead for an evening meal as there is no on site restaurant. Good value - would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideWebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. I’m happy to read you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again. Hope everything went smoothly with the house move, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for one night, usual high standard for a Holiday Inn. Reception staff very helpful, room was a good size, very clean. Large open Bar area which also doubled as the Restaurant area.
Had a well cooked and tasty evening meal. Breakfast served from 6.30 am which suited us as we had an early start, usual variety for a buffet but again nice food. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

I’m happy to hear you found the hotel to be clean and the food to be tasty. The team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we really value our guests feedback and receiving your review makes our work even more enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff make this place an ideal place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfy. The bar prices are a little on the high side but the service is excellent. A complementary breakfast is provided.Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Vix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review, it’s lovely to receive such nice comments. I will pass your kind words on to the team, it truly brightens our day when we read such lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I flew down to Epsom in July and we stayed in this Hotel. We got there at about 8:10 pm and went up to our rooms. We came down 5 mins later and ate pizza and nachos. It was really good sevrvice and it was yummy. We had a brilliant sleep and the breakfast was amazing. I loved my stay.

Jena Watson

XXXX

Room Tip: Higher floors are better because you cant hear anybody stomp at night. If you are there with your ki...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Jena,

Thank you for your trip advisor review. It’s great to hear you loved your stays with us and your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Actually quite wrong I have been suprised more times than not with Holiday Inn's and Holiday Inn Express. Their value for money and unusually great locations make them stand out amongst chains. I have stayed at this hotel before and its location is excellent. Could not be closer to the Downs and the race course if it tried - in fact could be named one of the stands its so close! The rooms are always clean and whilst small (typical for England) they are pleasant and the beds are comfortable and the showers very efficient. The bar at this location is a great hang out for the people who stay here and for the locals i suspect. Horse people - journeymen with a rest before Heathrow which is only 25 mins away in good traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor overlooking the downs. If you get up early enough you can see the jockey...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your trip advisor review, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and location. The views certainly are lovely and we are very lucky to have the beautiful Epsom Downs Racecourse right on our door step. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here on several occasions for business in central Epsom. Everything you would expect from a holiday inn and friendly helpful staff. Breakfast is good although more options would be appreciated. Will return

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review, it’s lovely to hear from a regular guest. I will pass your comments on regarding the staff, they will be very pleased to receive your praise. I’m happy to read you are planning to stay again, we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night as we were attending a friend's 50th birthday party.
The location is amazing and we literally walked along the race track to get to the neighbouring pub.
The reception staff were friendly, efficient and polite.
Our room was as you would expect. However, one tip is to bring an extension lead if you wish to use hair straighteners or curlers as the nearest plug socket is located away from the only mirror in the room. There is a perfectly adequate hair dryer next to the mirror but I imagine many women use straighteners too.
The biggest problem was our bed. It was the second worse hotel bed we have ever slept in. My husband is 4 stone heavier than me and I had to sleep top to toe to stop myself rolling into him. We looked at the mattress and saw that it was made especially for the Holiday Inn Express and this has made us book an alternative hotel for an airport stopover next week.
I know from reading reviews on here that the management take on board criticisms and try to improve what can be improved; please would two people try lying on the bed in room 205 and see what you think. (Make sure you're friends as you WILL get close!)
Finally the breakfast - this was free and plentiful and the sausages were delicious. It was also good to have cold semi-skimmed milk on tap.
I really don't like giving 2 stars but on reflection a good night's sleep is the priority of an overnight stay.
I hope this is helpful and feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Avoid 205 unless management decide to replace the mattress
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Snowhite,
Thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well because of the mattress specification. Here in Epsom we take guest feedback very seriously and as a result we have started a bed replacement programme. Half our stock was replaced in the summer with the remaining due for completion in the early part of 2014. We also understand that mattresses are a thing of personal choice with some guests preferring a softer feel to the firmer one.
Thank you again for your candid feedback and we do hope that you will come back one day and try out our new beds.
Kind regards
M Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £72 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing