We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was booked into the hotel by my office and was concerned that the hotel might be a little far out. Thankfully it's only a 5 minute cab ride from the station.

The hotel offers excellent facilities. My room was large with a lovely large window offering plenty of natural light. The bathroom was large and offered a good shower with plenty of hot water. The bed and pillows were comfortable with two types of pillow offered, firm and soft.

The hotel has complimentary free wifi throughout which offered excellent, fast speeds.

The bar is very spacious and the evening food was very pleasant. Breakfast included hot food which was a bonus as I thought it was only continental.

Overall an excellent hotel next to a very picturesque racecourse. Would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jameshart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our excellent facilities. The addition of the free WiFi at Holiday Inn Express hotels is a great bonus especially for those travelling on business. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

It is easy to forget to say thanks. Remember the ten lepers? We had travelled to Epsom for an eightieth birthday, all the way from North Wales. We needed a place to relax and sleep! This Holiday Inn on Epsom Downs was just perfect. With views of the Derby Course, a comfortable spacious quiet room. I particularly appreciated the wi-fi work station, as we wanted to keep in touch while travelling. Quiet efficiency is the feeling you get from two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogleddcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stays with us and the free WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you again next time your are visiting friends in the area.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you're looking for a place to stay that's no frills and what not in Epsom area, look no further. Me and my family booked two rooms recently and found the room sufficient for our needs. The most important thing was it was clean, plenty of parking and the express breakfast really convenient given that it's not really near any eating establishment aside from Rubbing House. Breakfast consist of breads, hams, eggs, juice, yogurts..just the basics.

The rooms are generally spacious enough for two. The toilet and bathroom however are a little weird, you probably would read the comments from other users that it's a double use door, swing it one way and it covers the loo, swing it the other way it covers the bathroom. Just hope you're not staying with others who will constantly open doors without knocking! Other than that no major gripe about the place.

Places to eat nearby, you can walk across the road to Rubbing house for some fine steaks. If you need petrol there's like a gas station maybe half a kilometer away which is convenient if you're driving here.

All in all, this is a decent place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. It’s great to hear you liked your stay with us and found the breakfast to be convenient. The Bathroom door is unique as a double use door but for added privacy it can be looked in both positions if needs be. Thank you for your tips for dinning, the Rubbing House is our nearest place to eat and there is 2 other nice restaurants very close on the beautiful Epsom Downs. Thanks again for your review; we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A lovely clean modern fresh looking hotel in a great location on Epsom downs .The free breakfast was really good offering scrambled eggs ,sausage ,baked beans along with a selection of cereal fruit ,toast and croissants .The hotel also offers free WI fi in bedrooms

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express Epsom. We are very excited to confirm that we do now offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel which is a great benefit for our guests. I am happy to read that you like the property and our location. Thank you very much for your great rating of our hotel, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My 4 year old and I have stayed here for 17 nights while our house is being repaired. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast great. Room clean and fresh. Free wi-fi. Beautiful view. Cannot fault it and will recommend any visitors to stay here. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us even given the unfortunate circumstance. Hope you are both settled back at home, the team all send their regards.

All the best,
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just got back from a two night stay in this hotel. Was in a great location for London with just a 15 minute walk to the train station at Tattenham corner, and less than a 2 minute walk to the Race Course which could also be viewed from the hotel and many of the rooms. This made the stay extremely enjoyable, However Breakfast on Saturday was below standard. Stale bread and limited variety within the cooked breakfast, which was also only lukewarm was disappointing. Sunday breakfast was much better with warmer cooked food and fresher bread yet there was still less variety than what is expected of these hotels. Overall, the stay was an pleasant one categorising it to an average price for what was received. However, the local taxi service charging £10 for a mile journey was extremely steep and a rip-off if truth be told!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your trip advisor review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a standard free breakfast for hotel guests, we have a limited selection of hot items which is the same standard across the band. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the place where the horse races take place and the views are lovely, but the bathroom is divided into two separate rooms (one for the toilet and the other one for the low quality shower), which, in my opinion, does not favour privacy at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. I’m sorry that you did not favour our bathroom layout. We have a double use door which can be used for the toilet individually or the whole bathroom. This is designed to utilise the space however the door can be closed on whole bathroom for privacy.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessington
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing