We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent staff. Couldn't fault the attention their attentiveness Clean and fresh reception and public spaces. Rooms simple and basic but CLEAN. Bed firm but fine. If I was to recommend an improvement it would be to add iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Epsom and for your trip advisor review. I will pass your kind words onto the team who will be very happy to receive them.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    212
    76
    14
    8
See reviews for
129
110
24
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a family room en route to Gatwick airport which is about half drive away. Nice quiet clean room, sofa bed was a bit lumpy and the double bed was a bit hard. Other than that it was all good.
Would stay here again when in the area on business.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekers-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review, it’s great to hear you found your room to be quiet and clean. In April we just had all our double beds replaced with Hypnos mattresses and we have received a lot of positive feedback. However we do appreciate that a mattress be it firm or soft is a personal choice and unfortunately we cannot accommodate everyone’s preference. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for business or with the family.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Nice setting ..overlooking the race course. Plenty of free parking.
Reception area large and airy .
There is a bar area where you can order food ... Small menu but food very good .
Bedroom quite basic but all you need ..clean modern .. FREE WIFI in room - big bonus !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KazzaC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. I’m glad you enjoyed the facilities, location and views. I would like to thank you for mentioning some of our great features including free parking and WIFI. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my first stay at this hotel and I have to say that it turned out to be better than what my heart and head suggested to me it would be like. Very friendly staff. Excellent check-in and check out service and the room, whilst being somewhat minimalist was functional, clean and had an excellent shower. The only thing I would criticise was the price of what was a very restricted menu - somewhat expensive - albeit the food quality was in no doubt and neither was the service. What was very note worthy was the trouble the hotel went to; to return some expensive leather boots I had inadvertently left in my room. They packaged them up in a box and sent them Royal Mail Special Delivery. Thank you to all the staff involved. Happily stay there again and hope that this time I don't leave them with the expense of repatriating me with my belongings!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It's lovely to be reading your review, thank you for confirming you have been reunited with your boots. I’m happy to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations. Being a Holiday Inn Express hotel we often find that guests expect a full service hotel and confuse the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express brand offering. Thank you again for your lovely review, we hope this will be a great help to future travellers.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very comfortable room, very clean. Great views out across the racecourse on a sunny evening.

Great choice of evening meals in the bar, good food and very reasonable price.

Breakfast is included and has everything you need as long as bacon is not an absolute essential.

On site free car parking space, free wifi, great value for money.

This hotel makes me want to come to Epsom more often.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC_883186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I’m happy to read your lovely comments, it’s really great that our hotel makes you want to come to Epsom more often. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good value hotel on the doorstep Epsom Racecourse. The staff are friendly and the hotel really clean. It has a welcoming bar and convenient restaurant.

The breakfast - included in the price - was ample though lacking bacon. Down side for me was the pillows but that is minor and very personal.

If you are looking for a reasonable hotel at Epsom / Surrey this is worth looking at.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank northants90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review, it’s great to hear you found the hotel to be good value and clean. Thank you also for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here prior to a nearby meeting. Very efficient and helpful late check in. Comfortable room with shower only bathroom. Great views across the racecourse.
Breakfast was all you can eat: quite basic but good value and it filled me up.
Lots of car parking space and very close to hotel entrance. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it’s lovely to receive such a nice review and 5 stars. I will pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalk Lane Hotel
Chalk Lane Hotel
#4 of 6 in Epsom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing