We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service and room”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed over nigh for a business trip.Ample parking and hotel easy to find, smooth check in with everything explained, very polite staff, lift to all floors, my room was on the first floor and I would say it was nicer than a premier inn that I have stayed in. Free wi-wi - always nice to have, choice of pillows, ample lighting in different locations within the room - blackout curtains, very quiet over night and in the morning. free breakfast - I didn't try this as I am juicing at the moment- Ample tea and coffee in the room, with lovely clean kettle and i liked they the kettle fitted into the sink to allow easy filling. slept well.
very reasonable £89 per night inc breakfast.
checkout was quick, with efficient staff. will be staying again a few weeks time.

Room Tip: I was in room 222 first floor, nice and ear the lifts, very quiet being at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star trip advisor review, it’s great to hear you found the staff to be very polite and efficient and liked the hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    214
    76
    14
    9
See reviews for
131
111
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is run by an exceptional team of hotel staff. From the moment you arrive to the moment you depart they make you fell like a special guest. They all pay attention to detail, have positive happy dispositions use their initiative and quickly respond to all requests. The view of the race course gives a feeling of rural Enland. The hotel is 100 percent clean. A happy lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms look straight down the race course. If you wake up early you can see the horses being exer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. Your comments regarding the staff are so kind, I’m sure they will be thrilled to read them. Comments like this truly make our day and remind us why we love working in the hospitality industry. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over as part of a business trip, my room was very clean and spacious.

Some features such as the hair dryer and TV are a little dated compare to other Holiday Inn Expresses.

The wifi is free which is great. Breakfast is ok and location is nice. Would recommend having your own vehicle to get around the area.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank creativestartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review, it’s great to hear you found the room to be nice and the staff to be friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect location for the races but more importantly I was very impressed by how welcome I was made by the team at the Hotel, nothing seemed too much trouble on what must be thier busiest weekend of the year. Thank you for making it a great weekend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us, it really was a very busy weekend but also a very fun weekend. I have passed your lovely comments on to the team and we hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I originally booked the hotel I was concerned it would be, shall we say unsavoury race crowd, to much to drink afte a long day...... i couldnt have been more wrong. from the moment we checked in until leaving Sunday morning all the staff were helpful and cheerful, also raising money for charity.

Rooms were clean, food was good ( indian buffet for hungry gamblers!) I plan to go racing at epsom again next year and will definately book the hotel again.

Only downside and not one that bothered me as I was not there to watch TV, but the siginal is very bad, something they should sort out

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the stables, back of the hotel, also room 132, next to stairwell which no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We really love the Investec Derby weekend as a team and we try to make it a really fun time for both the guests and staff. This year we certainly had a fun time and we were thrilled to raise £450 for Macmillan our nominated charity. The TV issue unfortunately was related to some broadcasting equipment from the racing interfering with our signal and we have now rectified the problem. We hope it didn’t cause too much inconvenience for our guests. Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely location overlooking the race course and very close to the excellent Rubbing House restaurant. However, we were not expecting to see a travellers site with white vans galore. Rather took the shine off the potentially amazing views across the Epsom Downs. Another disappointment was the TV which pictulated so much that we had to turn it off. A pity as the room was clean, quiet, comfortable and we spent a very comfortable night. Breakfast was the usual excellent selection which we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Check in and check out was effortless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review, I’m sorry if you experienced problems with your TV, this is being investigated by our maintenance manager and our service provider. Our location certainly is lovely, we are very lucky. I’m not sure if you are aware but we are in the build up to the Investec Derby Festival, which is one of the biggest events in the Horses Racing calendar. The travelling community have always been a part of the Derby heritage. They have been around as long as the event itself. They visit every year and to date have never been an issue for any of our hotel guests, and very much keep themselves to themselves. I guess we could say they have every much a right to be here as they pay a fee to pitch and enjoy the event as much as the next person.

Kind Regards

Maria Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of a trip to Chessington World of Adventure. Check-in was painless. The room was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable with a choice of pillows and the bathroom was reasonable. Ideal for a short trip

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank darrenjinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I’m happy to hear that our hotel was ideal for your short trip and I hope you had a lovely time at Chessington World of Adventures. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalk Lane Hotel
Chalk Lane Hotel
#4 of 6 in Epsom
126 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,714 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing